Challenge #02265-F075: Realised Set-upsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

canstockphoto11080438.jpg

A character rips up some paper -- writingprompts365

[AN: My hub site is down and therefore so is my prompts queue. In the meantime, I'm making do with the tag #writing-prompts on Tumblr. Normal services will resume as soon as we establish what 'normal' is]

In retrospect, maybe they shouldn't have taken the job from Lee R. "Slick" DeSchonko. In retrospect, letting Marvin do the negotiations was a bad idea. The Human fighter and trainee wizard was the most open and trusting of the group. In retrospect, more than merely some of their instructions were highly suspect.

"He said this was a map," said Lady Anthe, brandishing the offending paper. "It is a placemat for a gulp-'n'-blow type food emporium chain called Hork-it-down Harga's. It shows every location of every Harga's in the realm... and it's five years out of date..."

Marvin looked suitably chastised. He looked worse than chastised. He looked downtrodden and ashamed and... one good cry away from the state he was in when they ungently removed him from that vagabond gang he'd fallen in with. "...'m sorry I was dumb an' didn't get it right," he mumbled. Then he cringed in anticipation of a blow to the head.

I am not the worst heel in existence, Lady Anthe reminded herself, I am cleaning up the debris left behind by the worst heels in existence. She took a centering breath. "Just because you were fooled does not mean you are dumb, Marvin. It just means that you were fooled. I'm going to be angry and DeSchonko, and extract a full revenge later on. Deep breaths, Marv. We've got this."

"It's the only map we've got and we'll never find the Platinum Hoard with this..."

Lady Anthe gently took the paper map and tore it to shreds. "We don't need this. Kobolds can sense treasure within five hundred yards. The largest amount of Platinum I can sense is that way," she pointed. "Better yet... I can dig us there." She flashed her claws.

He was still cowed. "You're... gonna remember to... make the tunnels Human-sized, right?"

She sighed and patted the side of his leg. "Of course, dear. The sooner this is over with, the sooner we can get back to the rest of the team. And the sooner we can all function properly."

"Also," said Marvin, brightening up, "the sooner we can kick DeSchonko's butt."

"That's the way. Look on the bright side."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / eMPehun]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [?? remaining prompts!] [TEMPORARILY OUT OF ORDER, TRY LATER]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82