Challenge #02213-F023: Prepared CountermeasuressteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

canstockphoto6598531.jpg

A villain always mind-controls the same person to do their bidding because everyone knows that person is a goofy sweetheart who nobody wants to hurt, especially the hero. -- Anon Guest

"Oh shit," said Wraithvine.

Lady Anthe looked. Swore. Damnit. Marvin was possessed. Again. "Damnit, Marvin," she sighed.

Rumtum volunteered, "I could stab him until he's unconscious," and didn't even notice that the other two were glaring at him.

"No need," said Wraithvine. "This has happened before. We're prepared." Then they said, loudly and clearly, "Sherry custard profiterole."

A small magical token worn around Marvin's neck shone brightly and emitted the spell Hold Person on Marvin, rendering him ineffective in the battle.

Wraithvine smirked at the mage opposite who'd just burned a spell slot on Dominate Person. "That wasn't a turn," they said, and cast Crown of Madness on the mage's trusted minion. Turn about was, after all, fair play.

Now it was just a matter of seeing how truly evil the Evil Lord Nettlamus truly was.

[AN: I don't know how or when, but Marvin the Human Fighter suddenly transformed into Melvin for reasons I cannot fathom. Just take it as retroactive canon that he was always Marvin and I was a dummins]

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / Veneratio]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [71 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68147.96
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66