Challenge #02177-E348: The Biggest Speech WinssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

canstockphoto6397204.jpg

Monologuing Villain encounter Drama Queen Hero. To the detriment of both minions and party members. -- Anon Guest

Alcratho was midway through Opus 67: You Don't Understand My Struggles (It's a Harsh World and We Can Remake it). His nearby minions made themselves comfortable.

Meanwhile, working on counterpoint Zanthinar was midway through his epic performance of Oh My Trials! and his cohort were busy busting out the cushions to sit on and using Create Popcorn.

To the uninitiated, it seemed like they were having a conversation, but those familiar to the show knew the truth. Neither one was listening to a damn thing that the other had to say. It was all about the pose, the poise. The drama and the clarity and emotion of their speech. How effective they were on the audience that only existed inside their own heads.

One of Alcratho's minions gingerly crept over to Zanthinar's cohorts' camp. "May we..." they risked. "May we have some popcorn please?"

The cohort looked at each other. Shrugs were exchanged. The Cleric who was still summoning popcorn manifested another set of bowls for the minions.

"Why not?" they said. "Those two are going to be a while."

Both hero and villain seagued into their own renditions of We're Not So Different (You and I) and it was only slightly alarming that it came off like a lovers' duet.

The bard had to wonder. "Are... they going to... kiss?"

A minion said, "I honestly can't tell."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / aqualine]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [41 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

Now that’s something that needs to be animated 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

I would love to see it happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72