Challenge #02104-E281: Miscommunication MalfunctionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

canstockphoto28285920.jpg

Human: "Now you're thinking like a human!"
Alien: Internally screaming -- Anon Guest

"No. I didn't-- I'm not-- I don't-- That was sarcasm, Human Jae..."

Human Jae looked briefly alarmed, "And that was a joke, Joyse. I was kidding."

Joyse breathed again. "Good. The last thing I want is to discover that Human Insanity is contagious. Please keep your joking to a minimum in this endeavour, thank you."

"Sorry, I can't help myself, sometimes. You're like one of Nature's Straight Men."

"My sexual practices are--" Joyse stopped hirself. "You mean some other kind of 'straight'."

"Yes. The Straight Man is a comedy-duo essential. They're the ones who deliver all the feed lines with a straight face. They don't laugh at the joke before it happens."

"Jokes." Joyse pondered this string of illogic. "You deal with stresses by using humour. Are you stressed, Human Jae? Do you have doubts for the outcome of this misadventure?"

Human Jae, rummaging through seemingly random containers, smiled as they emerged with an omnitool. "Not anymore," they grinned.

A Human with an omnitool was nigh unstoppable. Joyse felt more relaxed because this Human with an omnitool was on hir side. "Carry on," ze said.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / prill]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [24 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59077.53
ETH 2518.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48