Challenge #01773-D312: Rocks Fall!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

canstockphoto13213860.jpg

Human: “Ok, how bad is it? Just lay it on me, I can take it…”
Numid: [extent of injury]
H: “Oh, that’s it? I thought it was something serious.”
N: “WHAT DO YOU MEAN ‘THAT’S IT!?!’ -- TheDragonsFlame

Carrie came around to nervous Numidid chirping. Huh. People really did panic in their home tongue. With consciousness came an intense amount of pain. She moaned.

"[There is one alive!]" The Numidids hooted. In broken English, "You with anyone?"

Carrie concentrated on the proper musical notes, which took her mind off the pain, "[Just me,] tweedle-dee." Ow. It was really getting excruciating. "[How much hurting?]"

They were good at applying leverage to get the rocks off of her. Which was good, because the average Numidid weighed maybe ten pounds, soaking wet. "Please stay still," said a spokesbird. "We did scans that said you have broken many bones. Remember the survival breathing, yes?"

Okay. That gelled with the pain she had. "[Where are they broken?]" she chirped.

"You have broken wing. Broken leg. Broken foot. Please remember breathing."

"Huh. [Is that all?]" She'd have thought her ribs would have also been nailed. "Guess I was lucky."

Two of the helping birds had to stop and do their own breathing. There were still some Numidids who did not believe human resilience until they experienced it first hand.

"[Is that all? Is that all?]" they hooted. "[These humans are crazy!]"

Carrie cradled her broken arm as she sat up. "[I'll be fine in the long term,]" she sang. Ouch, this was a son of a bitch. "[I am going to need help with the splints. And I'll need a crutch. No offense, but if I tried to lean on any of y'all, I'd squish you.]"

It took a while, because Numidids were wont to panic at all kinds of things. Including the concept of resetting a bone. And then turning their cart around to head for the closest medical centre.

The one most concerned with Carrie's sanity was the one who nestled on her lap to keep her warm and give her something soft to pet. It was a companionable silence as they wove to avoid pot-holes.

T'rr't'ka finally broke it. "How long were you under the rocks?"

"Uuh... [I had set off during the twilight, and the sun's still barely up, so... Um. Couple of hours? I guess?]"

"We would be dead in your place."

"[Lucky for you it was me, then.]" The sentiment didn't translate well, and Carrie had to explain it in small words. By that time, they had reached the medical facility and things were well out of their hands.

The next project on Wiwazheer's agenda was going to have to be geological stabilisation of the roadside cliffs.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / jrphoto]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Send me a prompt [13 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59077.53
ETH 2518.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48