Challenge #01771-D310: Necessary Feature CreepsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

canstockphoto15422142.jpg

The single most useful command on a computer: ctrl/cmnd+Z -- TheDragonsFlame

Everything is the result of laziness. People invented crank calculators because they didn't want to go through the mathematics themselves. People invented computers because the living ones took a little too long to bust the Enigma code. And programming code was invented because people were sick and tired of having to translate everything into ones and zeroes.

Code editors were invented to keep things straight and highlight mistakes.

Other functions came with the mother of most inventions. Necessity. Grace stared at her miles and miles of code and swore. "Mother fuck," even though she invented this code, she'd still messed it up.

"Something wrong?" said Carol.

"I made a typo in my code. It's five K long. I'm going to have to search through this line by god-damned line..."

"I could make a patch for your editing software real quick," she said. "It'll be brute force and clunky, but if it's useful, we can refine it."

And they did. Working together, they added features to the programming editor. A search function. A replace function. And, most importantly, an un-do function. Because humans were flawed animals and even the inventor of COBOL could mess things up and make mistakes. And with the addition of cut, copy and paste, coding became so much easier that it was almost a breeze.

Almost.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / svedoliver]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Send me a prompt [14 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

showing your process is very cool and somewhat inspiring
Thanks for sharing the video with us.
I've resteemed your post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63700.12
ETH 3136.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83