Challenge #01474-D013: Stranded on a Hostile Planet

in #fiction7 years ago

canstockphoto19036754e527a.jpg

2157 A.D.
Captain’s Log: Alpha-Foxtrot-Lima - 1129.
It’s been 63 days and they have yet to realise that I am not one of them. -- Here-is-the-Story

This only shows that my disguise is effective, and my camouflage as well. These Deathworlders have no idea that I am not one of their species. This is well and good. As a pre-spaceflight civilisation, I have seen what they do to each other for the most trivial reasons. They are not ready to accept me as I am.

I have noted a significant amount of paranoia concerning 'lizard people' in the natives' conspiracy-centric media. Therefore, as part of my disguise, I am masquerading as just another working stiff in a cubicle hell. I do just enough work to avoid anyone's notice.

Progress is advancing with my molecular reassembler. I can now purchase native foodstuffs and then process them into consumables for myself. Sadly, the aesthetic aspect of my repair work is slow and awkward. At best, I can make the consumable resemble the native yoghurt with fruit, which I carry to work with me for luncheon, along with a bottle of purified water.

Fortunately, my girth in comparison to theirs is enough to give them an excuse for my apparent diet. Compared to the native Deathworlders, I am bordering on obese. Therefore, my apparent food choices are acceptable. In time, I may yet make my consumables appear to be a grilled chicken salad for further native approval. Every Deathworlder I meet has recommended it to me.

The beacon has yet to function properly. Repairs continue. Native supplies are crude and bulky, but they are plentiful and within the budget from my employment. I do not, after all, spend much on the amenities that the natives do.

These Deathworlder's pastimes confound me. They enjoy simulated violence, and many abhor real world violence. Many of their physical activities involve exposing themselves to toxins of one form or another. They periodically immerse themselves in the world's oceans, yet they also dump their toxins in the same water.

However, despite all this, on a personal level... I have grown to... like the Deathworlders in my immediate sphere of experience. They are nowhere near as savage as the Wikipedia Galactica would have us believe. That said, they have a long way to go before they are ready for Galactic Society.

I have discovered the advantages of anonymous accounts and have been working on giving them some hints and tips. Nothing overt. Nothing truly beyond what they are capable of, now. And mostly in the form of stories. These Deathworlders adore stories.

If I am not rescued, I may yet rehabilitate a significant portion of these hairless apes... If I am... I must convince the Galactic Alliance that this rocky dwarf is worth observing more closely.

Tomorrow... I will attempt fabricating a Spline Actuator. Perhaps with a new unit, the beacon will work.

End Log Entry.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / solarseven]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Post me a prompt in the #flash-fiction tag until my forum is back online :)

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16