Status Zer0 Page 3

in #fiction7 years ago

The park was near some railway tracks but there were no trains passing by at that moment. I was bored so I started to exercise. I didn’t quite know what I was doing. To any passer-by, it would have surely looked like I was dancing and drunk. I mean I was a bit drunk but a few beer cans wouldn’t do me. Not knowing what to do I started running in circles around the small perimeter of the park. I was tired of it a few minutes in but at least I felt warm. The beer probably helped too.

On my way back I bought some more beer cans and a packet of cigarettes at the 24-hour convenience store. I held the beer cans in a shopping bag and opened the packet with my thumb. Then I picked one cigarette out with my lips but my lighter didn’t work so I walked with an unlighted cigarette in between my lips and, I imagine, a frown on my face until I noticed a light inside the closed gates of the cemetery. I ignored it and briskly walked away. It was probably some weirdo or some youths selling drugs in the cemetery. Nothing I wanted to be a part of.

Back at the flat, I switched on the TV and then spent the next fifteen minutes flipping through the channels until my finger hurt and I ended up on the BBC news channel. There was something about American politics that I couldn’t care less about and could not hear more about. My gaze shifted to the white rolling text on the red ribbon at the bottom of the screen. It read ‘A Bridge in XXXshire has collapsed killing three people and injuring four blah blah blah.’ Oh, wait. That was here. Well, it’s not like I knew anyone who lived in these parts. I gave my mother a call.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60898.61
ETH 2626.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61