Status Zer0 Page 2

in #fiction7 years ago

When I woke up it was already dark. Mother had gone to work on her night shift at the caring home early I suppose. My neck hurt from having slept in a strange position. My bedroom was a mess but not a complete mess as I had only been here for less than a week. There was a cold meal waiting for me downstairs. I reheated it in the microwave and ate it.

Since it was dark and warm outside I felt like going out and having a smoke. Reluctantly I changed myself into baggy sports clothes and running shoes and brushed my teeth to soothe a toothache. There was no one outside on the streets and only a few cars passed by my side. As I walked towards the small park nearby I passed by the cemetery not that that signifies anything, it signifies nothing. By the way on the opposite side of the road of the cemetery, there was a hospital. I wondered if it comes in handy. I doubt it. Anyway, on my way I also got myself some cheap tasteless beer, no not in bottles, in cans; Are they made of tin anymore? There were no lights in the park but the yellow light from the street lamps which worked was enough to see the park. There was a see-saw, two swings, a slide and some other stuff for kids to play with a small pond at the centre which could not be seen because of the dark. I sat on the only bench nearby. A lot of pointless sentimental self-reflection can be tiring, especially if you haven’t got work, that was what I was experiencing on that bench. The beer probably didn’t help. A wise man once said that alcohol is humanity’s friend. Can I abandon a friend? Well, it depends on what kind of friend it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57