Framed

in #fiction6 years ago

images.jpg
Hi. My name is Craig. I’m a young guy in my mind 20s.

When I was young, my dad lost our family's business, out of neglect on the part of the lawyer defending us in our liquidation case. I then decided to become a lawyer. Not just any lawyer, but one that could help the less-privileged.

So, when Gary and Lincoln Inc., invited me for an interview to become a junior partner, I felt like I have accomplished my life's purpose.

I'm Craig, a young lawyer in New York City, that works for legal aid.

I’m sure you think my life is perfect. Or so I thought, until I met Mrs Ana Lincoln. My boss's wife.

I met her on the day of the interview. She took a liking to me and must have put in a good word for me, because I was the only one out of my friends that got the job.

Mrs Lincoln has been making passes at me at work, saying inappropriate things and calling me at home.

I finally decided to end this, so that this doesn't jeopardise my dream of being a great lawyer. So, I called her and she is crying. She begs me to come over to her house and help her to the hospital. Mr Lincoln had beaten the crap out of her.

I get there. Mrs Lincoln let’s me in. I step in and was about asking what happened. A vase shatters on my head.

I don’t know how long I was unconscious but, I wake. On a bed. A knife in my hand, with blood stains. Mr Lincoln is on the floor. In a pool of blood. I scream. But not as much as the cops that yell that I should put down my weapon.

Mrs Lincoln is crying and screaming that I’m a monster. I’m dazed. But most importantly, I notice there's no sign of Mr Lincoln's attack on her.

Sort:  

I guess there is more to this story

It is a short story. Hopefully, I would do better in subsequent times.

Congratulations @harobed! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49