MAD MEN AT THE BRIDGE...

in #fiction6 years ago

Her wild giggles filled the class room as I picked the keys and headed for the car, the thunderstruck and lighting held me captive as Gabriel screamed at Bob, hurry up else the rain meet us. Dark cloud gathered as our today lecture ended. Patience did you carry your book and pen? Temitope screamed as though it was a burden to be a writer.

She ignored and whispered to me, start the car we have to get out of here before it starts raining since everyone is seated already, alright I replied hope Gabby and the Esther’s are seated, Oga move dey go, they chorused.

We had just veered off the school premises when a mighty storm broke loose on us. The intensity of the rain coupled with thick dark cloud reduced our car headlight to candlelight, as we approach the bridge that serve as a link between the school and our destination then suddenly appeared a slim tall rough looking man with barely no shirt and his trouser/s wore upside down, he flag us down but I wasn’t interested, I tried to maneuver my way pass him but the mad fellow wouldn’t let us go as he keeps getting in our way and screaming stop continually

Don’t stop! Rasaq one of the passengers onboard screamed, as everyone panicked. The thought of all the robbery stories I have heard in my life time run through my mind like a flash, could this be another planned robbery on a rainy day, a very frightened Patience asked as Gabby and others couldn’t help but utter silent prayers to God, who knows this may just be our last prayer Tami and Sonia muttered. It was later I got to know that they had already wet their pants in fear.

Fear had paralyzed me but I found courage to stop and as that seem to be the only option for us. Death is inevitable and if I would die now why postpone it, I said to Patience in a shaky voice as I release my hands from her sweaty palms and alighted from the car.

I got soaked in the rain slowly walking towards him, oga the bridge is out, the bridge had collapse at the other end and a bus filled of passenger just ran into it and got drowned, I was standing here to save you guys he said. Hot tears filled my eyes as I embraced him and we walked back towards the car to beckon on the others. The bridge has collapse I said he isn’t MAD but stood here MAD (Making A Difference). He saved our lives, I must join him and go MAD, I must join him and save other souls just like he saved ours. Join us if you want to.

...........................................................................................................................
...........................................................................................................................

Fiction or whatever you may call it but it is my desire that after you read this article, you would run to the broken bridge of leadership, relationship, religion, family life, purpose, academics, politics, Societal value, e.t.c and flag certain person down before they run in and get drowned by the challenges of life

It is my prayer that when you finished reading this piece you will pick up your pen and write because if you can write, you can still inspire one more person to decency and sanity.

It is my earnest desire that as soon as you read the last words of this write up, you will go MAD at the bridges of life.

#steemitpowerupph

Sort:  

Give upvote for this post!

Nice post dear, Hope you will visit me. Thank you @ehpothik

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52