Beggars get to ride

in #fiction7 years ago

It was one of those days when I was bored. The electric company had in their infinite wisdom done a power cut. Again.
Then I remembered the old English proverb which goes like this;

If wishes were horses, beggars would ride.

Which suggests if wishing could make things happen, then even the poorest person would have everything they wanted.

It is a crazy idea. You and I know these are fantasies but what if you had that power to make your wishes come true?


Source


My first thought was on how I would use the power to make sure that my electricity never goes off. That will ensure I have electricity around the clock even when the Power Company is shut down. That will be a true definition of having magical electric power!

Then, again I remembered that the best thing that happened to me, of course after the discovery of sliced bread, is cryptocurrency trading. I may be fortunate to invest in a coin that does a one thousand percent growth. The Lamborgini people would first hear from me. The remainder of the monster profit would be enough to buy diesel to power up my generator for a lifetime.

Memories of Maxwell vividly popped into my head. This year marked his seventh-year anniversary of his disappearance. He is a friend who most mistakes for a brother, as he spends more time in our house than his.

Maxwell disappearance is shrouded in mystery. When it happened, there were so many conflicting reports that if you ask three persons what happened to Max, you will get three different answers!
So, I would go with the most popular version of what happened.
Max one evening told his grandmother who he was staying with that he is going off to play football. I also happened to be on the football field that day and for the first time, we played against each other.

We won the match but he was accused, by his team members, of deliberately not playing well enough to win because of me.
He is a wonderful football player and speaks endlessly of how he will play in Chelsea Football Club.
I still speak of him in the present tense because I could not bring myself to do that in any other way as I believe he is still alive.

After the game that day, Max, who just got a new bicycle, pedaled off in the direction of his home. That was the last time I ever saw him again.

The whole community organized countless searches, but he was never found neither was the bike ever recovered. It was like he cycled off to eternity. The stories continued long after his disappearance, an old lady coming back from the market claimed to have seen him discussing with a long white bearded man. Another said he saw him with his bike behind a pickup truck. Some said they saw him, some days after his disappearance, riding his bicycle towards his home.

The unending sightings of him continued to this day. So, if I had the power to do one thing, it is very certain I would use it to bring home my friend Max from wherever he is.


Thanks for reading my blog. Please leave a comment below.

Sort:  

Your stories, while usually simple and straight to the point, have a certain realness to them and are exceedingly relatable. One only has to be alive to effortlessly empathise with the characters you portray because they embody the struggles, trials, tribulations, triumphs and yeah, wishes of all mortals. I would say, "May your wishes come through", but there is no knowing if this is true story or a fiction and that's what made it a great one. You had me at your first post. I'm following and I look forward to other great stuff. All the best.

Thanks for the kind compliments :)

Maybe wishes are not fantasies, if wishes become real ‘be careful what you wish for’ for that Djinn doddle sums up the pact made with every wish made. One day they’ll come to collect. The answer = stop wishing.

Yeah, I'll try to rein in my wish horse :)

Congratulations @greenrun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

"dis ur post make sense die, I dey tell u". You've got a unique writing skills. keep it up

Thank you very much. This is very kind of you. I just try to keep some of my ideas on steemit. Still trying to see how the masters of the craft do it.

Interesting tale of Sam... Dunno wether to call it fiction or not. But its a good tale, and if its a wish, and you wish it hard enough, then it becomes a prayer, and if you pray it hard enough with faith, then it gets answered... And you are happy!
Keep up your writing. I followed you instantly i read your post. I look forward to more real stuff from you.


Do you want to start trading cryptocurrencies?
Learn the basics first: start here

Somewhere, someplace and sometime, we all have that Max that we are searching for. We can only hope they get home one day. Thanks for stopping by my blog :)

Wow, that's such a strange story about your friend Max. I hope he returns again in good health.

Everyday I wish that would happen. Thank you for commenting :)

Congratulations @greenrun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @greenrun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @greenrun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It would be magical if wishes could be achieved , then nobody would suffer in life because all they wish for would just be there in a snap of a finger or maybe it will create even more misery.
I'm sorry to hear about ur bro's disappearance , and I pray that no matter what he is in good health and one day he will appear on that same bike riding towards u guys.
I hate how when something occurs people add their own version of the story creating fabricating the truth .

They all cared to see Max home, I guess their imagination could've gotten the better of them. You know how it is when you wish for something so hard that thing keep popping up and you keep seeing it. But you know somewhere, deep down in the recess of your mind, that it's just your mind playing tricks on you. I guess that could've been the case here as none did it with malice. Thanks for dropping by and commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24