The oleander tree

in #fiction7 years ago

Image source

Lydia lay in the darkness with her eyes closed. Jeff was still sleeping and she didn't want to wake him up. She didn't want the apologies...the excuses....she was too afraid to move. Her body ached all over and she could hardly move. 

She'd have to call in sick again. The second time this month. One of these days she's going to lose her job and then she would have nothing left? She has to get away from this horrible situation, but it was not so easy.  He had such a hold on her, and she herself couldn't understand why. She tried to leave a few times, but he always managed to find her and he always managed to convince her it to come back. 

She tried to turn around, but her arm was too sore. Maybe it's broken?  Oh no... this is just going to cause more trouble...she would just bandage it up real good, and keep it still for a few days.  She could tell everyone that she fell down the stairs...oh no wait... that is what she said last time...perhaps she could tell everyone that she tripped and fell in the dark on her way to the bathroom? That sounds like a good idea and they might even believe her this time.

Jeff had always been good to her. They had this beautiful house and she had everything that she needed and wanted...except kids.  Jeff hated kids. He had a vasectomy when he was in his twenties and it was only later after they were married that he told her. 

Jeff was the owner of a big company, and she didn't really have to work. He wanted her to stay at home, but she had to find a place where she could act sane. She begged him for months and eventually he gave in after one of his famous apologies.  She told him that she was leaving him and he literally bribed her to stay and told her that she could go to work. She made some good friends at work but nobody knew about her situation at home. Everyone that knew Jeff thought that he was the most wonderful human being ever created...if they only knew. BUT last night, was the last time, and she knew that he would never hurt her again.  

She lay on the bed staring out the window at the beautiful Oleander tree, and found some inner peace when she knew what to do. Over the last few months Jeff came home exactly at seven o clock. He wanted to spend time with her...but she knew that he only came home so that he could torment her with all his accusations and jealousy.  

The alarm clock went off and Jeff stirred and turned around to look at her.  

"I'm sorry love...oh please forgive me...I didn't mean to hurt you...I must have had a few too many drinks and my head just lost me..please baby forgive me."

He pulled her closer and she moaned because her arm hurt so much. 

"Oh baby...did I do that?"  She nodded and turned away from him. Jeff looked sorry, but she knew it was only a show. 

"I'll call Stanley and tell him that you are not coming to work today. I'll tell him that you hurt your arm."

She nodded and he left to take a shower.  

After he showered she was still in bed and could hardly move her arm. 

"It doesn't look like you plan to make me breakfast this morning?" Jeff said. 

"I'm sorry, I'll make you dinner..." she said with a faint smile.

" Don't bother I'm late as it is...I will see you tonight for dinner. I'm in the mood for  lasagna."  Jeff said and left without saying goodbye.

I took a lot of effort for her to get out of bed.  She went outside and with effort she picked the leaves from the oleander tree.  She crushed the leaves in the mortar and pestle and mixed in his favorite herbs.  She added plenty of garlic and she knew that he loved chilies and added a few to the mixture.  

She made the lasagna and then took a shower.  She had to bandage up her arm and then phoned Peter her fitness instructor.  She told him that she could not make their session today and then sat and waited for Jeff to come home.  

She set the table for dinner and at exactly seven o clock he walked in the door.  

"This smell great. I'm so hungry I can eat a horse.  Pour me a glass of Jack's."  

She knew exactly how he drank his Whiskey, and she knew that he would not touch it if it wasn't perfect.  She served the lasagna in individual bowls just like he preferred it. She took a few bites while she watched him eat.  

"Is there more?" he asked and she left to fetch him some more lasagna. "A little bit too much garlic but it tastes wonderful! " Jeff said as he took his last bite. 

"I will not put in so much garlic next time" she said and then took the dishes to the kitchen to be washed.  Jeff didn't like dirty dishes and she knew that he would scold her if she didn't wash the dishes.  

When she went back to the sitting room, Jeff was stretched out on the couch.  He seemed to have fallen asleep, but she knew better. She walked closer and then smiled as she saw that his eyes were still open.  She took the glass from his hand and put it on the table next to the telephone.  She reached for the phone and dialed 911.  

"My husband....he is not breathing...I think he had a heart-attack, please send an ambulance."  

When the ambulance arrived, they declared him dead on the scene. They checked his vital signs and told her that he had a heart attack. After they removed his body she literally couldn't stand up straight anymore. She slowly walked upstairs and fell down on the bed. She turned her body to face the window...and she stared at her favorite Oleander tree...the tree that saved her life.  

Tonight was a perfect night.  She was free. 

Sort:  

Ohhh Jeff.

Love your footer @giantbear. Did you make it yourself?
tip!

Thanks. I did but honestly can't remember which site I used... :( I made a few so I often change the footer.

Great story! Good on ya Lydia :):)

Thank you I appreciate your comment!

Wow, I would hate to be in that type of relationship. At least she found a way out!

Good plan right? You are doing so well with your posts now! 😁

You are too clever!!! Just wanted to thank-you so much for giving me the chance to write for Steemiteducation and at the same time giving me the freedom to pick subjects that I feel passionately for. Right now I am try to educate the parents so that they can see how a child can suffer is they don't have the right medical intervention. So @giantbear, I will forever be grateful for the opportunity you gave me. I don't always expect to do this good but I was actually shocked by what happened! Wishing you continued success in your writing. I actually look forward to you writing. You are indeed very clever!!!!!:D

I really enjoyed this story. Clever woman to think of such an escape remedy. Reminds me of the book White Oleander which is my favorite book. Oleander is such a deadly flower but so beautiful at the same time.

When I was two years old I ate one of the flowers. I was in a coma for three days...

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.24 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 03 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

What a sad story why do some men always take their aggresion out on the one person, they are suppose to love. Very good story and well done with the Oleander tree. It is a beautiful tree. I did not know that it was poison.

I can't say I never had thoughts like that in my time. I can relate so much, its like people like that just want to own every inch of you. It takes a lot of courage to 'escape'.

I am glad you escaped!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79