Despair

in #fiction7 years ago

des.jpg
source

As I folded the trousers and put it under my pillow, thinking about tomorrow brought smiles to my face.
“There is hope”….I said to myself made to lie on the tiny space available.
“Won’t you eat your food?” Fina said interrupting my thoughts…
“Oh, I thought you slept already. I forgot I hadn’t eaten. Tomorrow’s interview has been on my mind”
“And you need food for strength”, she said and brought the food to me.
I devoured the food like a hungry lion starved of flesh for a very long time.
Fina was right! I needed all the strength I could possibly get.
Tomorrow was going to be a big day. It would be my first interview with a Multi-National company and I was undoubtedly prepared. I had attended series of interviews in time past but never got the job. I think I’m cursed or something. “No! Don’t think that” the usual, familiar voice said to me.
But isn’t it true? I countered

I can’t even afford a decent meal for my siblings and I. Fina is out of Secondary School already. No money to further her education and she has such passion to study Law.
Didi and Nyin are out of school already because I couldn’t pay the fees for 2 terms.
Mom and Dad are no more and this will be my 106th job interview, yet, no ray of hope.
“Will things ever get better?”
“If you want them to”
“Darn, I really want them to. I mean, who wouldn’t?” Why am I even talking? I need to sleep. Tomorrow is another day. And with that, I lay my head to sleep.
Hey! How are you?
smiling I’m fine
I see you’ve devoured everything here. You’re such an avid reader. I know that you’ll scale through. Don’t be scared dear.
Awwwn….thanks for these kind words sis. It just gives me hope.
You’re welcome dear. Hurry up and come downstairs. Breakfast is ready.
You’re just so sweet. You made breakfast for me. Ouch, I’m hungry. I’ll be with you in a minute.

I quickly ran to take my bath and get dressed for the interview. Everyone had looked towards the day of the interview. Dad had used his influence to ensure that I got to the interview stage despite the myriad of applications that flooded the company’s website when a vacancy was declared. I was not going to take this lightly. I had stayed up late reading past interview questions and preparing myself for today.
Alright guys! I’m ready to leave now. Wish me luck.
You’ll do well my child. Mom said and gave me a kiss… and I turned to leave.
Carthy!!! Vivian, my sister called…
Yes dear, I responded…
Don’t forget to smile
I’m smiling…
Yes, but don’t let it wear out okay?
Okay ma! I said and we all laughed as I stepped out of the house.
Good Morning Ladies and Gentlemen!
Good Morning, we echoed back. I believe we all know what we’re here for. So without taking much of our time, I’ll spell out the instructions…..

How was the interview? A female voice said, once again, interrupting my thoughts
The sight that I met with left me lost for words
Her smile was enchanting, like that of my mother’s
Her skin was as fresh as one who hadn’t had a taste of poverty
Her eyes were endearing
Her teeth so white that she could successfully carry out a close up advert.
Her voice melted my voice and all of a sudden, I became dumb.
I said how was the interview? She retorted
Oh, fine. It was fine. How was yours? I asked…feeling awkward
Great, the questions weren’t as tough as I expected, she stated, with a beam of smile on her face.
“I’m Carthy!” She said, stretching her hands to me.
I’m Drille. Nice to meet you.

Same here, she said and we continued chatting about other things until we were interrupted by…….
Alright, ladies and gentlemen! Thanks for your time and patience. If you scale through this interview stage, you’ll be on probation for 3 months before eventually commencing as a fulltime staff on the job. I wish you all success. You will hear from us shortly. And should in case you do not hear from us after a month, please know that you have come to the end of your journey with us and you can reapply when another opportunity comes up. Thank you very much. Have a nice day!
We departed, but before we did, I ensured I took Carthy’s number, I reassured myself it was just because I needed someone I could call to find out if the pre-selection stage has begun. She was good, spoke well and was well informed and educated. I have no doubt she’ll make it.

2 weeks later!
Hi carthy!
Hey Drille!
Wait, how did you know it’s me? I didn’t give you my number the other day.
The voice. I could tell by your voice. How’ve you been? You promised to call that same day but you didn’t.
If she knew I even had to borrow this credit, she wouldn’t be asking this question**
I’m sorry, I feigned, I just got carried away by other things. How far the job? Any show yet?
Nothing yet Drille! I thought you got it, and that’s why you forgot me.
Smiles….I haven’t heard from them either and hey, I didn’t forget you. Never did, never would. I just wanted to know my fate on the job and that’s why I called you. Sorry, I didn’t called earlier. I have to go now.
I can call you later right?
Sure you can. Bye for now.
Bye……..

Congratulations! You have been…..You are to resume by 8 am on Monday the 21st of March 2015.
Wow! I shouted.
What is it?
I got it
I got it
I got the job….
I said throwing Didi up.
Wow! Finally!!
Fina said as we all cried….tears of joy
I tried to reach Carthy to break the good news but her line wasn’t connecting. I turned off the phone and made to sleep. I’ll be resuming work tomorrow. I said,smiling. I hope she got selected too.
Who? Fina asked
Oh, I didn’t know I spoke out.
It’s a lady I met at the interview. I hope she gets selected. She’s good.
I see, you like her?
Like her? What the heck? She’s good…brilliant, witty and beautiful. There’s nothing special.
Uhmmmn…..she sighed and made to leave.
Do I like her? I thought to myself….
I don’t.
I mean, I can’t.
The story continues……………………..

Sort:  

Great to read your fiction story. Awesome and amazing story.
Thanks for the share

thank yhu

Interesting, so u're good at writing fiction story too.

Boss you sabi write story too. Multitalented!. Keep it up.
Resteemed!

dantelizing

Dante is here. No Fear

With a gun in the hand

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62753.87
ETH 2445.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67