Ride The Lightning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Part 63: Torture


....................................................................................................................................................................................

Damn...I felt like I’d been run over by a truck. My belly was on fire and my eyes didn’t seem to work too well. When I finally got them to open I wished I hadn’t.

“Ah...Mr. Allen. Finally you awake.”A man was looking at me, like a cat looking at a particularly plump mouse.

“Hey” I heard Gretchen grumble “ watch with the cat analogies...OK? I’m on your side.”

Puzzled, I didn't’ say anything...to either of them. Gretchen had been right. Dreaming had been much more pleasant.

“You realize that you are being childish? Eventually we will find what we search for and then we will have no need of you. You might as well tell us what we want to know now and save yourself some pain.” He said.

I felt no need to reply. Yeah right. If I told whatever it was that they wanted to know they’d have no reason to keep me alive, not that this was exactly living. I slowly become aware of my surroundings. I was , by gawd, in a dungeon. A for-real dungeon. Hanging by my arms from overhead chains. My back was against the wall.



I was an old, war scarred, paraplegic, again. A double amputee to be more exact. Missing both legs above the knee...and they had me chained to the wall? My wrists were manacled. A chain was attached to each manacle. They weren’t small chains either. I took some small degree of pleasure from that. They must be afraid of me.

They should be.

“I shall leave you to the tender mercy of Boris. You would do well to contemplate your situation and take my advice, Mr. Allen.” The unseen voice said. “you really don’t have much time. I suggest that you be reasonable.”

The figure backed away. More of the dungeon become visible. Yup, Torquemada would have been proud.

“Boris“ the voice said “you may proceed. Try not to kill him...yet”

The figure left.

A big hulking brute of a guy wearing a hood, literally rolled up his sleeves and got to work. I have to admit that he was a professional. He didn’t bother with long tirades or threats. He just punched.

Professionals just punch. He punched me. A lot.

Eventually I grew bored and returned to virtual reality to play with the kittens.



To Be Continued
The Next Episode is
Part 64: Execution
The Previous episode was
Part 62: Gretchen Reveals Her True Self
the first episode was
Part 1 : Winter Storm

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

Eventually I grew bored and returned to virtual reality to play with the kittens.

Now that would be fun to do, just smile like a crazy man close your eyes, and completely tune out the guy using you as a punching bag. that would be a handy trick.

It is no trick, and one needs no VR to attain to it.

It requires self control, and some degree of humility.

For examples of folks that have done this, there are plenty.

I won't link the pic, but you can find it here. It is distressing, so only look if you have the stomach.

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=vietnam+monk+immolation

Awesome Post, Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65