You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Entry for Neoxian's Prodigious and Desolate Post-Apocalyptic Writing contest! | The Lost

in #fiction6 years ago

Hmm I was a bit distracted musing to myself about whether or not planes would actually fall out of the sky due to EMP haha. Ah well, not important.

I'm not even sure that something like the rapture would have the effects you are describing. It sounds like in this situation the disappearance is the only thing that happened. Life should have just carried on as normal. Well at least in my mind anyway. Funny enough I read part of the very first book of the Left Behind series which is exactly about the rapture. At the time I didn't even know about what that was but I couldn't finish the book. It just felt silly, and then it made sense once I found out what it was about. But that one had the other elements of the Apocalypse coming in some form though with some interesting liberties in interpreting how the Apocalypse would be carried out.

And while I'm randomly musing about the rapture thing, you might get a kick out of a movie I saw recently called "A Day without a Mexican" which muses about what happens when the illegal immigrants suddenly disappear from town in rapture style.

Thanks for the interesting story, it was fun to think about.

Sort:  

Thanks for the recommendation Eon I would check that "A Day without a Mexican" I think I saw a snippet of it shared on Facebook over some of the anti Trump people that I know especially after the building of the wall was said and having Mexico pay for it.
I didn't know there was a Left Befind book and this was a musing I had of a Rapture style post apocalyptic instead of your usual fare of nuclear fall out and zombie hordes.


This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

"A Day Without a Mexican"? I'm going to have to look that one up. I'm sure life as we know it would change radically. The illegals I have known are among the bravest, most resourceful, hardest-working people in the community (and living where I do, I am surrounded by them.) They have exactly the sort of character we need and should encourage in this country. I have a profound respect for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33