You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sorcery - 01

in #fiction7 years ago

Ooh nice hook at the end there - sounds scary - or at least interesting!

I am starting to get a picture of how magic is working in this fantasy world - didn't you say this was based on another book or something?

Also this seems to be sometime later than the experience from the last writing, am I right?

Keep up the motivation, keep writing friend!

Sort:  

Ooh nice hook at the end there - sounds scary - or at least interesting!

Someone, I think @suesa made a comment about post lengths, so I examined the content I was preparing to post, and conveniently enough, right around the 1000 word mark was that little hook.

Speaking of which, how is the length? I've reread it so many times that it's hard for me to judge if I should have revealed more. Next post is in a few days, so there is still time to adjust the length.

I am starting to get a picture of how magic is working in this fantasy world - didn't you say this was based on another book or something?

No, well, sort of? It's from a novel that was never written, as I haven't finished organizing all the pieces and writing to the points I wanted to hit... Originally it was from a game that I wanted to create, but I was having more fun with the story and decided to turn it into something of a(n as of yet incomplete) novel.

Also this seems to be sometime later than the experience from the last writing, am I right?

This will become clearer in future posts, but yeah, it's after the events from the Teaser post.

Keep up the motivation, keep writing friend!

Thanks for the encouragement! I feel quite motivated, it's actually a matter of having the time to sit down and put pen to paper... or fingers to keyboard as it were.

a matter of having the time to sit down

I can relate to this! We have years of content built up - then I come to steemit and half of what I write are new poems and contest entries!

In terms of length - I would still say it is long. Not too long to read, but I scanned it, got excited, left my upvote and came back to this post at the end of the day. Though I am no expert on how long things should be, I like books!

Oh! Yes I remember you mentioning the game but not that it was your game - very cool! I am a big fan of world building - and world builders! You have at least one fan eager to read a page per week :)

In terms of length - I would still say it is long.

I think what I shall do is post a few of them at around this length (assuming they have a decent point to be split this way) and then re-evaluate. With any luck I'll push one out, edit the next few, and build up a back log of posts so I can have steadier content.

I scanned it, got excited, left my upvote and came back to this post at the end of the day

Hah, that's what I've been doing lately. I give something a quick scan for quality, upvote it, and then I can fish it out of my upvote history to come back and read it.

Nice to see people follow my advice :)

It would be hard to ignore, you're kind of one of my heroes on this platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55450.66
ETH 2943.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.07