Skin & Tattoos✎

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

If you are passionate about something strong enough to mark it on your skin permanently, consider yourself lucky.

Yesterday, on the 18th of March 2018, I was brave enough to make that step; to make a promise with myself.

29433194_2336725979674597_8207544483881943040_n.jpg

I put a small sign of quotation mark on my right wrist (as you can see in the picture.)

What it means for me is this:

Something to give me courage to seek for my voice, the stories inside of me, the things I wish to say... and write it all. To be brave enough to look at it every day and say, "I'm a writer. A goddamn writer!"

It's a reminder for me to never doubt myself again, deny my dreams or force myself to walk away from who I want to become because such dreams "ain't practical," and "have no use in real life."

Because who can define what's real life anyway?

Most of the time, fiction is more real to me than anything else. I believe in the power of words, in their beauty and ways of leaving their marks on this world, our skins, souls.

I reflected a lot on my future. I was mad at myself for being so caught up in something that will clearly make my life harder- Should it stay as a hobby while I study for a 'real job'?
Am I good enough to allow myself to take a risk and try something different?

So many doubts pushed me to chase dreams that were never even my first option, just because they considered safe, in my comfort zone, and this ugly word 'practical'.

Life is too short for us to fight against our hearts. What are we so afraid to lose?

Money, social class, popularity?

We are chasing what we grew up to believe is normal, always jumping from a system to system -school, university, job, family-, not stopping for a damn second to think, is it really what I want? Am I passionate about what I do? Does it make me excited and happy?

Find the things that make your heart skip a beat and keep them close. Maybe even so close it becomes a part of you.

“Wear your heart on your skin in this life.”
-Sylvia Plath

29425213_2336729966340865_7165719330657665024_n.jpg

Tell me what you think, and if you have any tattoos- feel free to share :)

Sort:  

Well written, honest post. Thank you for sharing

Thank you☺️

So glad you finally did it! ♥️

beautiful tattoo dani x

Thank you boysdontcry X

Loved your tattoo and it's meaning! I've always wanted to do a tattoo but never had something I won't later regret.
I'm glad you have this reminder to speak your mind and be yourself, looking forward to reading your fiction.

Thank you so much, I really appreciate this comment :) and i hope you find something you will not regret 😊

Wonderful tattoo ... yes my passion is to make art ... and I can do that here on Steemit.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47