A Tunnel Leading Straight to Hell

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)


Image taken from Pixabay

You would think that, after millions of years, another human would have noticed a hole in the ground leading straight to hell, especially one that stood beside a road that was built decades ago. How many people have walked past this bush without noticing? These were my thoughts as I climbed down a cave that, from the outside, looked suspiciously lit up.

I did go home before to pick a lantern and feed my dog, and now I was right back exploring these lava pits in the middle of a valley between a major city and a major town.

I had never read of something like this. Hell supposedly had stairs, right? Maybe they were somewhere else, another entrance, perhaps, in another plane. And right there, after those thoughts, the tunnel opened wide as I walked deeper inside and I saw what seemed to be a round cave room. There was lava in a couple spots near the wall and lanterns lit up a cross in the middle of the room. And on the cross, the source of my terror, of my heartbeat going miles per hour, was a man that was nailed by his hands and feet, lowered head, like the images of Jesus Christ, blood dripping on his chest.

The cracking sound of the torches and a whooshing echo from farther down the cave accompanied the melody of doom that haunted my shallow breaths. I turned back and ran, looking behind every few steps. I went up the hole and everything was normal again. Perhaps I could call people here who were braver than I to explore these depths.

I always seem to be in writing mode, but my writings are a little shorter these days. They like to travel all the roads and I haven't been able to focus to make a bigger post. Seeing this, I decided to write a little story. :) I hope that you liked it.

If you did like it, leave me a comment! Also leave me a vote if you can afford it. :3

Chat me up on Discord any time you want, I'm on the CryptoEmpire community's server:

https://discord.gg/VQyYDnm

Other posts that might interest you
The beginning and end of humanity — Are there incomplete humans?
Laws and Chains: Consciously heeding the absurd)
I just had a dream about Steem: Explicit Communities and Project Funding
Sort:  

i would certainly NOT be exploring there! haha

Buh the plot!! It needs to be explored :3 Otherwise it would be forgotten and everything would be the same as usual, just with a door to hell through which no one goes in or out. It would be a sad ending.

send someone else! ill take the boring plot, otherise ill be the girl in the plot who ends up dyning first;p

Let's kill the girl, the plot asks for a blood sacrifice O.O lol

Sounds like a Satanist's cave owned by the local crazy that everyone steers clear of.

I always imagined hell to look like a puffy white cloud where everyone talks in soothing voices and gives the impression that everything is a perfect utopian. Then I realized I was describing a psychiatric ward.

Puffy white cloud, isn't that heaven?

I sometimes want to write about psychiatric wards. It seems so despairing for me to be trapped in a place because people believe that I "am different" in a certain sense, or that "I am crazy", craziness being whatever the evaluating group decides is not normal.

Oh yeah I made a jump. I used to think that from the descriptions of hell and heaven, hell sounded more exciting. Some hubris I was showing though, thinking I could do whatever I wanted there.

I actually used to think that too :P

In fact, there is a game called Dofus that I used to play in my teenage years that had two teams, Bonta and Brakmar. Bonta was filled with angelic stuff, but the city was so grey and blue. I honestly preferred Brakmar a lot, since it was red, filled with lava and there were bats and cool creatures. There was also a cemetery to the right filled with skeletons with all kinds of abilities. Instead, Bonta had a forest with trolls that took an hour to kill...

Then I played WoW and it was the same. The Alliance was all grey and morally oppressive and the Horde was filled with very interesting creatures and a lot more freedom of thought.

But as you say, we wouldn't be demons in Hell, just tortured souls.

Woow, really great prose and story @cryptosharon! Yep, definetely I'm following you!

No upvote because too much of Steemit for the day, though :(

It's ok. :P I use busy.org when I have to ration my votes.

Since I participate a lot, I vote like 30 times a day, so I need to do some votes at 30% to be able to do that (you only have like 10 full votes a day)

And thank you for the compliment :) I'm glad you like my writing style. I'm still working on it.

Great! I didn't know of busy.org until know...and yeah, I prefer it now than Steemit. Thanks @cryptosharon :)

Lol, I'm using it right now. It looks much much better. I've been recommending it and I've noticed that my friends have also started using Busy for their everyday Steeming. I'm glad you find it to your liking and hope that it will bring you some comfort.

Yep...and it notifies me just about everything, even when Steemians mention me on a post hehe

Hmm 🤔, it is quite suspicious that in a million years no other human beings have discovered a hole next to a road. Unless they were under the impression that flames pumping out of the hole and intense heat accompanied with lava is an indication that this was a rabbit hole.

A flaming wabbit o.o Coming to kill us all.

“I was an adventurer like you then I took a flaming wabbit in the knee”

nice short story... I want to do do this too... write short posts... use fewer words but get better in quality :)

Sadly, not as many read these as my opinion blogs, so I need to write more of those to keep my readers 😂 But I enjoy these more.

Well, I'll check them and let you know what I think...

Alright-o! :D

Hmmm. I wonder what those depths look like. Will have to wait for volunteers!

I'll send a probe to check the surface! I'll report back on how it looks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15