A Prehistoric Walk In The Park

in #fiction7 years ago

"Fear is an emotion indispensable for survival."
- Hannah Arendt -

This is my entry for @jayna's "Fifty-word story prompt and contest."

Thanks, @jayna, for the entertaining challenge!

Table of Contents

"The raptor’s gaining ground fast."
Image courtesy of Ľubomír Čelár and http://pixabay.com


"A Prehistoric Walk In The Park"

~by Duncan Cary Palmer~

The raptor’s gaining ground fast.

No way out.

Considering all options—none good—I charge the cliff ahead.

Scrabbling up the sheer rock face scarcely in time to escape those bloody, razor sharp teeth, I bark a knee. My uniquely human, prehensile digital extremities have saved my ass once again.


~FIN~



Table of Contents

"I charge the cliff ahead."
Image courtesy of Christopher Burns and http://unsplash.com


For more entertaining tales, tall and otherwise, CLICK our Library Stories Shelf.


Table of Contents



Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

I'm sure I told you to stay off the rocks :P

Umm, survival? :D

Yea but you barked a knee :D

Beats being a 'raptor snack... ;)

I enjoyed the imagery of this, had me thinking a bit of Jurassic Park even.

Well done @creatr

Bravo! Brevity is the soul of wit.

Wonderful! Wonderful! I am glad that you have been braved and was able to escape. Good luck on the contest :)

Thanks. :D

excellent presentation dear friend @creatr, good luck in the contest
I wish you a great day

You're a walking dictionary! Prehensile... had to look that one up. lol 😃

Hahahahahaha! I wish! :D

Glad to have made you laugh and learn, @geke! ;)

Oh my gosh, that is pretty much my worst nightmare! Nicely done.

Thanks! :D

I had to write a happy ending...

I am chuckling because you have to use very descriptive, imagery to paint the story in such few words. You did well my friend. Thanks for the chuckle and visual. It is a wanted break from posting on scams s I am doing daily. Blessings in Christ - Troy

Glad I could generate a chuckle for you, Troy. ;)

Not that I am rooting for the raptor mind you, but might he not get you on the cliff?

See if I was telling it, I would say about using my cunning mind and immense physical strength to fashion a spear and how yummy the raptor steaks were that night. After all, it is your story to tell, may as well may milk it for a bit LOL

In my imagination, I was just glad not to be a raptor snack...

And no, his claws are not at all suited for climbing rocks - only trees. ;)

Dear friend, @creatr, you're very lucky in the contest. I mention that here in my house to be a tropical country I have a small jurassic park with iguanas and small reptiles so you have given me a good idea to post it in a post. At the moment I offer you visit my Blog where you can enjoy a beautiful sunset. A strong hug

The iguanas and reptiles sound like they will make a great article. I look forward to it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43