Dying Young

in #fiction6 years ago

hospital.png

The morning sun shone through thick glass into the hospital room. The old man looked at the young man laying on the gurney. He held the boy's hand, smooth skin against wrinkles.

“How I wish I could talk to you now. I wish I could tell you all the things I never did. I wish you would wake up from this coma,” the old man thought as he took out a handkerchief and dabbed his cheek.

Outside the window, a bird landed on the ledge and began its song. The old man looked at the bird then back at his son. It was such a trivial thing, falling off the bike, yet it triggered something. The disease was working its way through his body but the boy looked healthy, his face blank and peaceful.

“I wish I could tell you about the time I met your mother, I never did that. Or why we split. You are too young to understand how things get so complicated...”

A nurse came in to take vitals. She placed a hand on the old man's shoulder, he looked up at her. No words were spoken.

“I wish I could tell you about cars, about girls, about life. About real pain and joy. Pain you will never feel again, maybe it’s for the best...”

The bird sang its song. The old man watched it as it flew away.


This was my entry for an anonymous writing contest where the theme was 'dying young' with a 250 word limit.

Sort:  

Amazing writing @cizzo. Very pure and realistic story. Keep writing, I follow and recommend your letters.

Really touching story, as always a great story

You have my complete approval, and I think you know why :) keep up the good work.

Thank you sir :) @lanmower


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cizzo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @cizzo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76