You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Missing Time (A Short Story In Five Parts ~ Part Five)

in #fiction4 years ago

Wow! Really awesome. Thanks for posting this here. I wasn't sure where you were heading with it, but that definitely wasn't one of the outcomes I was expecting!

Sort:  

I'm glad you enjoyed it @bozz and thank you! I could've gone so many different directions with the ending but I wanted Tim to have a 'do over' and leave a bit to the reader's imagination. I was considering having Tim leave what was left of his fortune to Deb, the waitress, or some charity but then the act would've been construed more as a suicide than stepping from one dimension to another. This was probably the most challenging story I've ever done and was a lot of fun to write. These characters feel like real people to me after I write them, I hope Tim goes on to use his "do over" to his advantage and fulfill his life's purpose. : ) I appreciate you following to the end!

For sure, it was a really great read. Is this something you just wrote recently or have you had it in your portfolio for a while now? Your explanation her draws me to some parallels in "The OA" on Netflix. Only vaguely though. I don't want to me misinterpreted as implying anything.

No, this is my newest short story. I’ll have to check out The OA, I’ve never heard of it. How is it similar?

Just the different dimmesnions thing. It is mind bendingly amazing in my opinion. The sad part is they cancelled it after two seasons so don't fall too in love with it. 😛

It’s difficult to make it in that genre, even if it’s good. The film industry is unbelievably competitive. I have to watch at least one EP.

I just read the series synopsis in Wikipedia. It sounds interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70