The Journey

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

I had just gotten admission into the university, I was thrilled to be an undergraduate finally after spending a whole year with my grandma in the village. In a way I am going to miss my granny because we have come to form this inexplicable bond between us. The session was to begin in late April of the year so I left Offa by early February to get my self prepared for my new life. I had my luggage parked already excited to be going back to Ilorin at the same time I was having this profound sadness that I will be leaving 'Iya Sifawu' behind. She had become a little bit withdrawn because of my impending journey.

image

Image Source

I have this recurring thought of all the good times we've had together and in some way I see her as a perfect example of whom I would love to be when I become a nonagenarian, perhaps I will never reach such age a thought flashes across my mind. All the same I cherish her meek nature and ability to listen and give someone insightful coupled with uplifting advice. I am going to miss her too but leaving for the University is an opporrunity I can not pass up. I had a discussion with my dad as regards someone who will be on hand to take care of Iya Sifawu. Dad promised to get someone to live with her as soon as possible, luckily my sister dropped by enroute to the northern part of the country to sell palm oil. I feel relieved because she would be in good hands for the time being.

I left my home town the following morning around 6:30am, I was suprised to see such crowd and activities at such hour of the day at the motor park. Each commuter bus heading in different destination, traders hawking bread, some frying local bean cake called 'Akara', which goes superbly with the bread. The hustling and bustling was electric and a joy to behold, the only downside is some street urchins who went about willfully taking their cut from drivers. I wished the local authority would do something about the nefarious activities of these hooligans. I boarded the coaster bus and got myself a seat beside the window, I always love to view the scenery of every town, village or any physical object of any significance. I could imagine a younger me being fascinated with the way the trees moved in a certain direction while my father's Peogeot 504 moved in another way, mundane things that made childhood memorable. I could also remember how I felt when I crossed a bridge over a large river for the very first time, the image of that particular river is stuck in my memory forever. I am at a loss as to which river it was but I always have this mysterious feeling whenever I am travelling. I am of the opinion it should be the great river Niger but my mum does not recall taking me across the river at any point in my childhood. This made the feeling more intense and I have resolve within me to solve this mystery someday.

The journey from my hometown to Ilorin is about forty-five minutes drive and is usually uneventful except for some occasional traders that board to sell their wares. On this particular journey was this man who was selling soap, he advertised it as the best soap ever made, probably the best thing since Buzz Aldrin and his crew landed on the moon. He claims the soap would cure Eczema, Ring worm, Acne and would make your skin smooth beyond your wildest dream. This man should be in his late forties or early fifties, he has a somewhat fragile frame, his eyeballs have a yellowish tint to it. He seems to have a wide face with his cheeks sunken inwards, the teeth is brownish from years of eating kolanut. His skin is anything but smooth and I was wondering if he has ever used the soap he was hawking to bath. Could it be his old age that has made the skin so rough or years of arduos toil, may be its the local gin he takes that is responsible because I could smell alcohol all over him.

image

Image source

I peered at him continuosly while he advertised his wares albeit the fact that I have made up my mind not to buy the soap. It seems other passengers have made up their minds not to buy also. I could see anxiety creeping in all over his face gradually as he had not made any sale. He seems not to understand why none of the passengers has no interest in buying his soap though I pretty much think the reason was obvious for any sane mind. I was thinking of bailing him out of his misery but I was not sure of how to do this without coming out as being lacking respect for elders. So I decided to keep my mouth shut but I could see a sweat or two breaking down his forehead. He seems more confused than ever then a middle aged woman with Ibolo accent spoke from behind.

"Baba a mo e kin fi ose yin we" (Old man you've never taken your bath with your soap)

"Iya mo fin we daa da" ( Woman I do bath with it) the man responded now trying to hide the scowl on his face while showing sudden enthusiasm.

"E ri ni" (Have a look) He is now showing off the rough skin on his left arm.

Majority of the passengers were staring at him now, some shaking their head in disbelief.

"Mo ri daa da" (I see it clearly) replied the woman.

A young woman in her early twenties snapped on the opposite aisle seat.

"Awo yin ko dan baba" (Your skin is not smooth)

"Eyin e koko lofi we na ki e to wa ta fun wa" (Go bath with the soap first before hawking)

Some of the passengers burst into laughter, some were trying to hide theirs by covering their mouth with hands.

His strength and charisma seems all but gone, he looks as if someone has just poured a litre of water on his body. He was trying to mutter something but nothing came out of his pipes, he seems to focus on the young lady now not sure of what to say.

"Kilode baba e gboju" (Whats wrong old man, take a walk) , the young woman snapped again.

"Awon baba e ni ile ni ko gbe oju"( your ancestors should be the one to take a walk) the old man fires back)

"Mi gbe baba mi wa wo bus oo" (Do not make reference to my lineage)

"Se emi mo ko bayin ni" (Is it my fault that yoy have not made any sale). The young lady continued.

The man lost his cool, dropped his wares and made his way towards the young lady probably hoping to land a slap or two. A young man who wants to be the hero of the day came to the lady defence and almost came to blows with the old man. The driver sensing pandemonium was having none of it anymore and ordered the man to alight from the bus at the next bus stop. The old man got a resounding boos from quite a large percentage of the passengers as he hopped off at Idofian. The rest of the journey continued peacefully to Ilorin but I could not restrain myself from smiling at the thought of the man with a rough skin selling the best soap ever made to give you a smooth skin.

"Classic simpleton" ; I muttered.

Sort:  

Lol!! Spot on man! He had it coming. Some of these guys advertising stuff don't take a dive in it first. Really, it would be a lot easier if they don't promise heaven and earth in something they haven't even used before probably because they're just traders or they cannot afford it in a way, which is the same thing anyways. They're just traders. Rather state its use and give medical proofs to show it works.

Personally, when something sounds too good to be true i observe it for a while or totally steer clear. And no, i don't buy stuff in buses, not even pen!

Good one here bud'

@blessedman939. Which university

Its fiction bro but if I have to choose it will be University of Ilorin. Thanks for dropping by.

Lol. Thank you for dropping by.

You really make an incredible fiction story, I still remember when I entered the university around 2015 and how am missing my family. Lolz

#bigwaves

I'm glad you like it. Thanks bro

You have been featured on @wafrica

Courtesy of @nmalove

Nice interlude..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43