Intro: Tech, Trailers, and Troopers...

in #fiction7 years ago

Hi! So here it is, my intro post. Yep, typing typing ... about me. Let's see.

I'm a longtime geek; I've been in the IT field for ~17 years or so. I love travel, gaming, and tech, however my passion is literature and I wish I could get paid to read! I've been writing off and on throughout the years; I've had articles published (long ago) in an erotica magazine, as well as reviews in a (now archaic) tech magazine, and have been working up the courage to share more here.

I'm interested in how technology has the potential to improve the lives of those who are stuck in the stagnating cycle of poverty. It changed my life. The only person in my family to graduate college, to leave my trailer-bound existence, pregnant teenage friends, meth-addled relatives, I consider myself extremely lucky to have found a way out, in large part due to tech.

I think Steemit could have a role to play in this to help more people (I'm trying to get my little sister involved and contribute). Anyway, I'm very excited to see what potential this platform this offers!

The photo is one I took this summer in Chiang Mai, Thailand, next to a used book shop

Sort:  

let me know when your sis joins. I'll send some welcome love. im glad you found a way out.
let me know if you spot any quality posts...im always on the look out.

Congratulations @askmarie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56098.81
ETH 2411.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36