Jewel In The Dark -- An epic love story

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

close-on-aquamarine-jewel-dark-260nw-11953882.jpg

Image Source

Life in Offo village was becoming a nightmare for men like Uko,men who fought the white man's God and his religion in favour of the god they could touch and feel. The clouds had not watered the earth for three weeks now into the planting season - which wasn't normal - and they had the white man to blame.
"What did you expect when you welcomed him and gave him a land to build his shrine?" Uko asked no one in particular,or maybe the darkness that enveloped him as he sat on a stone outside his hut,thinking.

For men like him,things had gotten from worse to worst as their women now despised them,tagging them pagans. "Were gods that saw them through wars and hardships and given them vast lands not worthy of worship?" he often asked them. Mild footsteps interrupted his thoughts as he picked his matchet,wondering who had the guts to walk the paths that late.Quick enough to kill his suspense, a scary figure that took shaky steps appears,causing him to retreat.
steemflourish.png
Uko's heart pounds loud,words fail him,his eyes blinded by fear...but he has his name to defend and holds on.
"Oh, abasi mme ette mmi,se na Uko adikpa kubok ekpo."
Just when he almost chews fear in his mouth,the figure in the dark becomes clearer with each step towards him. He makes of it the shape of a lady and looses some of his guard.
"Isn't it late to move around alone?" he summons enough courage to utter.
The figure remains still - which gives birth to a new fear in Uko - then says calmly,
"I'm coming from my grandmother's village faraway,heading to my village Udi now."

Uko unwinds a little,the feminity of the once-scary-figure hits him as he watches her walk past him. Her voice was musical,and he just learnt she has a waist to die for too.
"Sleep in my chamber,"he stammers.
"Why?"
"It's late,I won't touch you I swear,Nkuku bears me witness."
"You're a pagan! I don't trust pagans."
"Come with me woman," he says and makes for his hut. She hesistates,then follows slowly.

He leads her into his dark hut - and chamber - then guides her to his wooden bed.
"I'd be outside.Asiere!" he whispers.
She forces a hug of gratitude,then says,"Men like you are rare."
Uko walks out unsteadily,eating her words;those soft grapes on her chest had woken his 'third leg' but he ignored,and dozed in his wooden chair.

steemflourish.png

A soft hand touches his face,
"It's morning now,I'll be leaving."
"Urmmm..you..I.."
Words fail him as the beauty of this once-scary-figure hits him. Ebony-skinned,tall,had pineapples glued to her chest and watermelons on her back.
"You're beautiful,"he manages to say.
"Oh,thanks!"she says with asmile.
"Your name?"
"Mkpouto."
"No wonder my spirit guided me to stay out late."
"How?"
"You're my jewel in the dark!"
She laughs out loud this time,then chips in,"You're my hero.I don't know your name."
"Oh,Uko."
"No wonder you stayed out late,uko iden mmi."
Uko laughs out loud too.

That was the beginning of a union that fought religion to succeed

Sort:  

You are a good writer..... Keep it up!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79