You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Star Trek Is Pretty Much North Korea In Space

in #fiction7 years ago

Finally someone who understands me...lol!

I've been a big Star Trek fan all my life, but the older I get, the more I find I cannot stomach the socioeconomic setup it presents as desirable. I find it easy to forgive a tv show or a movie when it simplifies things (it isn't easy to depict a society in all its subtlety and sofistication), but I can't stand it when they ignore human nature or abolish it by some tv decree!

There's a bigger chance of selfish cowboys in space as depicted in Firefly than of a clean cut, uniformed civilization of leftists intervening benevolently (and efficiently?!) throughout the universe.

Thx for a great post!

P.S. When it comes to economics and socio-psychological insights and realism, Battlestar Galactica kicks Star Treks butt! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60915.40
ETH 2627.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58