Proof that I actually Make Stuff.

in #fiberartists6 years ago (edited)

I have to share the news I received while writing this post: THIS Nana is having a granddaughter! She's due in August so bright colors and PINK it is! YAY!

I was challenged the other day to show "proof" of my passion...LOL. I've been so bad for taking photos of my work in progress and the finished items. Most are gifts and meant to be a surprise. I wanted no "spoilers" But I'm working on ending this habit. SO...to prove to myself, as much as to you, that yes......I do make things, I've put together my favorite tools and some other items of interest. AND....after spending way too much time sifting through my pics found some photographic proof.

This little box is invaluable for keeping track of stitch holders and other tiny tools. When I first saw this little gizmo, $9.99 CAN at my LYS, I shuddered. I was certain I could find something just as good at the dollar store. I'm here to tell you, after many hours in many dollar stores, I did not find anything even close to this box. I bought it and I'm glad I did.

This is an older photo of the case I made for my circular knitting needle set. Those are my Knit Picks. If you'd like to know what I think about them you can read about it here. Let's just say they are not my Chiagoo needles. I've been slowly collecting the set of Chiagoos. I love them! My next post will be a review of my Chiagoo lace set.

This is an old perfume gift box that I keep my lace making tools in. Notice that orange thread? I found it at a local Mennonite Thrift Shop yesterday. I love that color...I can just see a nice table runner or doily. Time will tell.

These are my tatting tools. The metal one was my Grandmother's shuttle and the red plastic shuttle is the tool I use most. Sorry Grandma but this one works better. The two balls of thread were hers as well. One day I'll make something with them for now they comfort me with memories. The funny square-type thing is a picot gauage. If you are going to tat it's a cheap but must have tool. I just threw a few beads onto some hardanger cotton and wear it around my neck when I'm working.

Here's a swatch of tatting I made, some time ago, to test out a pattern. The little tiny crochet hook with the fimo handle I made from a broken hook. This tool is excellent for pulling out your work to fix mistakes. The plastic bubble has a little brick of bee's wax that I use to run fraying materials across. It's works really well! Thanks for the tip Grandma. The plastic tube in behind is how I keep my tiny little lace crochet hooks in one place.

This is my kit of needles for punch rug hooking. I'm not very skilled at it yet but I'm getting there. I bought these for $1.00 at a yard sale.

Of course I have to show you my multi-generational collection of buttons. I'm always sifting through here for buttons to use on my kids' and grandkids' projects. Seeing them wearing those bits of family history makes me feel nostalgic. And...don't you love the owl bottle they are in? My daughter gave it to me. Oh yes...I collect owls. The black case with an owl is a lens cozy I made long ago.

And Finally Projects I've Made

A cellphone cozy for a friend. This pattern is my own design. First I knit the outer surface, then created the cuff and knit the lining all in one piece. The one I made for my husband, of course it's black, has an invisible pocket at the front for holding his ear buds.

This is a GPS case for the same friend. It's in process in this picture but I made it using the same "pattern" for the cell cozy.

The Murse! Short for man purse. My husband needed something to carry his tech gear so I created this "murse" for him. I recycled a pair of his old jeans and some broadcloth for the lining. It was fun working the pockets into the design. Of course I had to embroider a "talk nerdy to me" patch.

This blanket in progress was completed and given to another friend to keep her warm at the beach. It's just a simple granny stripe made with balls of chunky wool I've had around for years in my stash.

This was appliqué I was sewing onto a simple coupon wallet made from the same pair of jeans as the "Murse".

I was asked to design a small hippie purse for a friend. This is the front panel.

Here it is almost finished. I just had to add the interfacing and the lining.

And finally, this is a table runner I'm creating from little balls of left over cotton yarn. It's meant for me but who knows where it will end up.

I'm still fighting with the Oblique sweater but I think I'm winning. I'll share with you when it's done.

If you are still with me... I issue a challenge to my fellow fiber artists: Show us your tools, your favorite way to organize and store them, and then, tell us about them. Share! GRIN

Until next time friends.

Coffee Hour

Sort:  

😍😍

Thank you for running me through your collection.

I like those buttons, I save them too - when clothes is too shabby to pass down as a hand me down, I take the buttons off and reuse them ... I stopped for a little bit, because the button collection was adding up. What was I going to do with them? Put them in a huge jar of course!!!

Time to go buy some pickles at Costco 😂😂

What a neat idea. :) I think maybe I'll take the challenge!

Thanks! I look forward to reading it!

Interesting post, you have a nice selection of crafty stuff. I like that knitted cell phone case you made! The pattern is very cute.
I'll try to take up your challenge next Monday when I'm home, I have a closet O'stuff where I keep all my crafty bits and pieces.

Thanks! Looking forward to your "bits and pieces".

Love your button collection! The first little box thing? I have a similar, I found it in the fishing department!! You have so many lovely projects! You've inspired me. I'm shutting down the computer and picking up the needles :)

YAY!!! Are you knitting outside? The fishing department? DUH... good idea! Thanks.

Thanks for sharing @fiberartists! I like how you narrate your story. Yes, I agree, it is so nice to have something passed or passing down to many generations. I only have but several of my grandma's kimonos. Just keeping them...maybe I would turn them into a poncho or other things...but now am more happy of keeping them after I read your post. I like your storages and projects. Best is that murse with the patch on😂. Want to make one but my hubby only uses backpacks so maybe for my kids I will make it. Thanks for the inspiration!!😊

Thanks for your kind word. Maybe you'll share pictures of your grandma's kimonos.? I bet you could make backpacks. You're a very talented lady.

@fiberartist, that is a good suggestion, thanks. I don't wear them, so it's in the box top of my closet, need ladder to fetch it...so...mybe more than 5 years since I last time I opened it. It's time to open it and see if everything is ok, hehe ;)

I haven't managed to finish editing my photos yet to do a first intro post, let alone to think about taking more...

In your own time @bex-dk. I bet it will be worth waiting for.

Oh this is certainly a very creative post and all the the thngs you do! reminds me of homeroom classes.

Yeay! A proof!! :) These things look amazing. Thank you for sharing them with us honey
image.png

Organize?? They have to be organized??

Maybe this'll get me to get my sewing machine set up again and re-organize my tools. I had them somewhat organized, then I gave up the room I was using to us as Evie's bedroom, and they're all over the place again and I haven't been able to craft since.

It was great to see all those projects. I especially like the bit of tatting, it's something I would like to learn. Gotta get my gear together for your challenge - it's a fun idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67079.94
ETH 3266.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64