THE COLOUR OF MONEY

in #fiat7 years ago

I remember I think in economics class we learned about this one culture where they used these huge sandstone discs for money, with holes in the middle of them but I think still impossible to carry Kind of like the one that Obelix carries in the cartoon books Asterix and Obelix, you know? 

Why did they do that? I don’t know, I think maybe so it would be harder to steal money. So I guess different money systems have their advantages and disadvantages. Some are better at solving certain challenges associated with money, whether it be liquidity, making it harder to steal, making it easier to carry, etc.    

Well, for me cryptocurrency is cool, because it retains the positive elements of the gold standard (only a limited amount available, countries can’t just increase the amount of cryptocurrency to try and artificially stimulate the economy). 

Sort:  

It did make sense for expensive denominations in wealth to be less portable than smaller ones.

I personally suspect that these kinds of trades were only conducted between peoples rather than persons. Like a semi-portable monument to a trade agreement. This would be handy for keeping track on which trade agreements have been made and which ones are completed.

As for crypto-currencies - I somewhat understand the logic behind it but in my view there is room for currency expansion and contraction within particular circumstances.

Thus its not the value of the currency that necessarily goes up or down - but the supply. I'd have to think about it some more as last time I gave it serious thought was almost 20 years ago.

Could be yes, good point! Or maybe like if you have one of those, you get bread at a discount or something?

That is another possibility. :c)

It would be funny though. Maybe thats why Obelix is always carry that thing around with him. He gets discounts on wild boar or something. :cP

Yeah makes sense.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.15 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65557.61
ETH 3581.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47