Food Fight FridaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff4 years ago

Chili and a sandwich.

I needed something heartier today. I went back to an old recipe and add a hearty chili, Vegan style.

At the Mexican bar I worked at they have a sandwich called the Pambazo with fries and chorizo. This is a twist on their idea, vegan style.

Cumin Coulis

This sandwich is topped with a sort of cumin coulis.

  • 1/2 Carrot
  • Tomato
  • 1/4 onion
  • sweet peppers

I roasted veggies covered in a little oil at 350 for 20 minutes. Then pureed with seasoning. Put over heat to reduce to half and meld flavor.

Spring Succotash

As the sauce thickened I used coconut oil and got my baby red potates started quartered.

After the potatoes got lightly browned I added black beans. Then Chopped pablano pepper and corn for the filler and flavor.
preheat oven to 350. Ciabatta buns and home made guac on the top bun. Add succotash and bake for 10 minutes.

Chili unnoticeable Vegan

I have attempted vegan chili several times and had mixed results. The best way i find is to go at it exactly like ground blah blah chili. I used a beefless ground here and cooked through with garlic.

I then used broccoli and two types of peppers, bell green and pablano.

Add your diced tomatoes. I prefer stewed from garden of course. I season with cumin, sea salt, tumeric and black pepper.

Then add 2 cups vegetable broth, 1 cup water and 2 tlbs oil.

Steep Down for an hour. Then let sit over night. It is usually best a day or two after brought up to temp slowly for meals.

Good Enough To Fool Carnivores.

This chili I have made this way several times now. Every time I get questioned that "but you don't eat meat, why did you cook this?" This hearty chili kept me going through a slightly chilly day here, whilst I move across town. The sandwich was a bit bready, but lightish so the soup gave it the right protein/ hearty contradiction. This along with my black bean soup have become must haves for the frig. Easy to make and last in frig for solid week plus.

Sort:  

I approve of this plant-based posts.
Upvote 👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great entry, chef. Welcome to the kitchen @toddfoster. Way to make an entry man—congratulations on the reward.

And that’s gotta be the cleanest stove top I’ve ever seen. Pleasure to make your acquaintance, sir, I hope we see a lot more of you. Good luck in round #70.

Chili Sandwich… I will take 4 please... Good...ness that looks amazing. This looks like another fff post that will have to be looked at in the future when we are in a dinner rut at the Splatts house.
Thanks for joining the Food Flingin' Festivities
We are glad to have you and look forward to meeting you in the Food Fight Friday Arena for weeks to come.
Cheers

So glad to have found this group. More inspiration for my own kitchen

Boy that chili looks good, I love to make chili on snowy days.
We like to have it over rice with a dollop of sour cream.
We eat vegan occasionally, so it's nice to see new recipes.
Thanks, enjoy the weekend.

Nice man! I've actually made chili with that same exact meatless ground beef that you used. It turned out pretty well and you are correct, the people who tried it had no idea it wasn't real ground beef.
A bready sandwich and a hearty chili go together so well, not much better on a cold breezy day.
Happy Friday!

Seemed temp appropriate. And I never try to trick ppl but love it when they like my vegan dishes. Thanks

I would chill with some of that chili - good going. Great looking food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66739.81
ETH 3087.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73