View Through the Slot in the Door of a Madman's Kitchen- Today's Recipe: Screaming Red Pepper Hummus

in #fff6 years ago

What I intend to do with this screaming red cayenne pepper, I will reveal in a moment. First, here's a picture of that cayenne pepper, small but potent:

IMG_4525.jpg

cayenne pepper

What inspired me to pick that pepper was that I have some curly parsley growing in the garden along with the cayenne peppers, and the reason that I grew this parsley in the first place was because it is one of the ingredients in a dish that I like to make, a Screaming Red Pepper Hummus.

Screaming Red Pepper Hummus

For the brave, I'll submit the recipe here, and for everyone else, this will be like peering in through the slot in the door of a madman's kitchen, a room that is fully equipped with knives, spinning blades, fresh vegetables and chopping boards. Today, those fresh vegetables include a brightly colored hot cayenne pepper, and be warned that I'm not afraid to use it.

Sit Down! This will be ready in just a few minutes!

As I was saying, I have some parsley growing outside, and some green onions. I grabbed a handful of the parsley, and a couple of the larger green onions. For those just looking in out of curiosity, here's photographic evidence of such parsley and green onions.

IMG_4480.jpg

For those who are actually following the recipe, that's one handful parsley, and two medium-sized green onions:

With three of four large cloves of garlic, I threw them into the food processor...

IMG_4482.jpg

... with the press of a button, I minced the onions, garlic and parsley.

IMG_4483.jpg

A can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed, goes in on top of the minced green stuff:


IMG_4488.jpg

The Contents of an Entire Lemon

I took a screen colander to catch the seeds, so that I could squeeze the entire contents of a fresh organic lemon into the mix.

That's right, I squeezed the whole thing in there, except for the seeds, with childish abandon.

IMG_4491.jpg

That's 6 to 8 TBSP fresh lemon juice, or the juice of one lemon

The Screaming Red Cayenne Pepper!

I didn't forget the pepper! After taking out the seeds, I threw 'er in there:

IMG_4496.jpg

Then I added a good heaping teaspoon of sea salt:
IMG_4497 (1).jpg

Followed by:

  • Three TBSP tahini (sesame butter)

  • A few dashes of cumin powder

All of the ingredients now in the vessel, I put on the lid, and pressed the button again, this time blending until smooth.

IMG_4499.jpg

IMG_4500.jpg

blended to look like this

Applying the Hummus to Other Foods

Somehow the wildlife in the garden had overlooked a round red tomato, so I sliced it up, pink Himalayan salted them, and put hummus on a few of the slices, and some goat cheese on the others.

IMG_4512.jpg

One slice got a little of both, but the two flavors fought with each other the whole time on that slice, with the hummus and the goat cheese competing for victory in every bite, trying to out-flavor one another.

That's how I did it, how I made a screaming hot cayenne pepper hummus, with graphic details and photos, and I hope I didn't leave anything out. I'll probably use two peppers next time, this batch didn't scream with heat and red pepper juice quite enough for me.

Thanks for looking in!


all images above are mine, 2018

Screen Shot 2018-07-27 at 12.33.06 PM.png

Click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

I see you are new to the Food Fight Arena. I welcome you with a friendly Fish-Slap
280C04E2-626D-4AEC-9F20-0BECB97198C5.gif
Thanks for using the fff tag and joining the rest of these Food Flingin’ - Bowl lickin’ - egg beatin’ - double dippin’ Food Fight Friday Folks.

It's nice to be here, and thanks for the fish!

I see this culinary battle is hotting up a bit this week... awesome!

Welcome to #fff @therealpaul it's great you could join us.

It did get hot! Thanks for having me in the #fff.

Love it! Looks delicious. Never knew how to make hummus: /. Could i use any butter or would that change it too much?

Edit: ps great title lol

I've never tried making it without the tahini, so I don't know what it would be like with another butter. I imagine it would still be good using a nut butter or something like that.

I really appreciate that. Ty

Yay, welcome to the food fight fray! Nice dish of hummus you've whipped up here. Love that cayenne. Bon appetit!

It was a food fight, so I thought I should bring something dangerous; cayenne pepper, a homegrown chemical weapon!

Or...a weapon labeled as a food lol! Welcome!

Oh, this is superb. I need to make me some of this.

(Not just me being spicy) (I'm just gonna leave now)

You'll be back!

I shall return! And when I do, the world will tremble at the sound of my name. Or shiver, that works too. Whatever, I don't really care so long as the world - and its peanut butter - become mine.

I mean, students are already afraid enough when they hear it. hyperbole... sounds complicated. Oh boy, what do we have to do this time.

This is great @thereslpaul! Welcome to #fff. We’re both big humus fans.

At the moment we’re probably traveling more minimal than anyone you know but at some point we plan on parking and a food processor is a priority.

I do use this food processor a lot, don't know how I got by without it before!

I just noticed I welcomed you and didn’t even spell your name right, “thanks a lot autocorrect!” @therealpaul, welcome! (That’s what I meant)

Hey, @therealpaul. Welcome to Food Fight Friday! And that hummus, screaming hot or not, looks really good. I made hummus once, but it didn't go over that well. Not sure why, because it tasted really good to me. Maybe I needed the pepper?

I don't think you can go wrong with lemon juice. It seems to liven up a lot of things.

But which won? The hummus or the goat cheese?

The goat cheese won, no doubt, but I still liked my hummus ok!

I am really digging this screaming hot cayenne pepper hummus- did I already say hummus is a fan favorite?! Great entry @therealpaul (I apologize I didn’t see this sooner). The fact you omitted the seeds though may have made you a tincy wincy bit scared of some real heat. Haha

Hey, and welcome to the Food Fight Family.

I suspected there might be some hummus entries already, but it's one of the things I actually know how to make from memory. Oh the seeds, I took them out because they don't chop up well in the processor, but yeah those would have lit things up!

Good for you @therealpaul ! I don’t think I’ve seen a hummus entry yet but I haven’t been around from the very beginning. Regardless you snuck right in and got my vote this week. 👏. My husband always asks me to take out the seeds (aka take out the heat) or he can’t handle it. I look forward to what you Blend up next week!

Who screams? The pepper or the one who eats the dish?

There are screams all around!

So it was not that spicy in the end?

I think I expected it to bite back a little more, but it still turned out well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65