Onion Ring Quicky: Food Fight Friday

in #fff6 years ago

Happy Friday triple F freaks!

I know I keep saying it but the weeks just continue to fly by. I mean, who would’ve thought that you could keep yourself so busy.… 🤷🏼‍♀️

Today, @dandays and I are packing up our air B and B and moving all the way up to the North Pacific coast of Costa Rica. We’ve been in this area before, in fact it’s where we fell in love with CR.

I just sent D to the gym by himself so I could get an early start on packing up the joint. I also woke up feeling a little fatigued so juiced up a bunch of celery and am letting all of that do it’s magic. Right before @dandays left he quickly reminded me to write a @foodfightfriday. Today, will be a quick one only because my “todo” list is getting longer than my ambition to do it. (That makes sense right?)

Item #1 on the agenda has been changed to “write your food fight post”.
Item #2: “do all of the laundry”
Item #3: “pack up all of your new kitchen tools in original boxes”. (Yes, I keep the original boxes. I’m a freak, I know)
Item #4: “wash the car”
Item #5: “pack up our clean clothes and suitcases”
Item #6: “cut Dandays hair”.
That can take awhile, I’m still new to it
Item #7,8,9: “make breakfast, lunch and dinner”.
Item #10: “load up the clean car”
Item #11: “clean everything up and give the place a good ol once over”.

Man, just writing that list made me tired. I’d better get to it but let’s have a quick break to get a smoothie in me that’ll fuel this post.

34A6017D-D0C5-4DE0-BC03-0CAEAE80B52F.jpeg

Some avocado, spinach, moringa, sunflower seeds, chia, and a half scoop of raw organic protein powder 😋. That should do it. Now check out what I have for you today…

63EB6A17-FB73-4CB2-82FB-C690A157C8EA.jpeg

Yep, you guessed right- onion rings! I’m usually not a big onion ring kind of gal. Much more of the crispy French fries kind of person but for some reason, homemade onion rings sounded so good this particular evening.

C130B4CE-CD10-447C-A262-B3F5DED42088.jpeg

Super easy to make too!

Ingredients

2-3 onions (cut into rings)
Paprika
Garlic powder
Chili powder
Black pepper
Pink salt
1.5-2 Cups Almond flour
1-2 eggs

Measure all of the spices to your taste

02ED9F53-72D6-4161-BE92-B64536C40AFC.jpeg

Preheat your oven to 400F and cut your onions into rings…

790386E2-824A-4FBE-8F0C-C0D11CC1130F.jpeg

Get out all of your spices and your almond flour…

EB406EC1-83F7-4A75-AC5A-8C5C693970D5.jpeg

Mix the coating thoroughly… grab a second bowl for your 2 eggs…

2484E2A3-E480-4869-A472-866B52D9588E.jpeg

Dip the onions in the egg and then roll them around in your breading mix until fully covered. Place the breaded rings on a greased cookie sheet. I also added the chickpeas I prepared from two days earlier that didn’t quite make it into my falafel. Have you ever had crispy, seasoned chickpeas? Sooooo goooooood!

488CBF69-E3BE-4E85-A010-563F38188A64.jpeg

Pop everything in the oven for 15 minutes and turn the rings, then back in the oven for another 10 minutes.

092FB6CC-0954-4CFE-A9B8-7F3613E06349.jpeg

While those are baking I started on a zucchini, green bean bake. Because we are staying in air B and B’s, I have to quickly acclimate to the pots and pans that are afforded to us. This particular air B and B only had a smaller frying pan to work with. I didn’t let that stop my creative leftover game though. Haha

I had made a pasta sauce a night or two prior to this and thought “I should make a zucchini kind of lasagna type casserole with all of this gravy”. Well, not only am I missing a casserole dish but we don’t eat cheese either, and I don’t eat noodles. So, I did what any good chef would do and improvised.

First, a layer of sauce, layer of zucchini, layer of sauce, layer of green beans, layer of sauce, zucchini, sauce, green beans… or something like that. The pan is all metal so is oven safe to bake right up with those onions rings.

C9F38588-EC64-44ED-9B72-BE37DEB40CF6.jpeg

My rings were crisping up nicely so I took them out of the oven while the casserole cassa-not finished baking.

In the mean time I whipped up some of my famous tahini white sauce dip for the rings 😋.

96B8D765-36FF-489B-A5DD-014E26B0F579.jpeg

Here I am unable to wait until the bake was done before gobbling all of those rings. Dandays and I just called it our amuse-bouche (what did she just say)?

Second course was our cass-a- role nova bake.

1724DD4B-1707-4E43-844F-44D94B536445.jpeg

Gotta go now… this list isn’t going to do itself…

1516F018-2E1B-4870-965E-64212B865C1C.jpeg

Thanks for stopping by friends! I’ll be sure to check everyone out by tomorrow :)

Pura Vida ✌️

4431F300-21CB-4E6E-BD97-A544638D653D.gif

Sort:  

What an amazing food post, you are one super woman!

Hey, thanks @lizelle. I appreciate the compliment. You’re not too shabby yourself :)

Tight todo list !

I love the idea of onion rings and I will keep this recipe in mind for sure. I already feel like trying it out. Nothing better that 'healhy junk food snack' alternatives.

Totally. They are pretty guilt free. Don’t make the mistake I did and not make enough. Make sure you give yourself a hefty dose of onion ring goodness 😉

Ok, @puravidaville, I like the onion rings, I've never make any. It is great when someone gives you a simple and good recipe. My husband is going to be thrilled when I make these. Traveling grace and mercy on your trip.

Oh, they turned out pretty good too. Let me know what you think… it’s all about the dip you make for them as well. Thank you for the well wishes. We arrived in our new place safely and happily. :)

Good luck in Round 31 of
Food Fight Friday
May your contender survive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
9BB35F38-ADDF-49AF-8A24-C231F5464B66.gif
Come on over to our Discord for some off the Blockchain Fun

What??? I thought he was working on some dreadlocks? Wait... is he rockin a mullet now/ Joe Dirt style. Those mullets take a time and expertise to cut in just right. I did my own once with the vents in the sides even. If keeping the original boxes is weird then...yep your weird. Actually I think it is a great idea given your situation.
I love when the Walla Walla Sweet onions are in season. They make the biggest and best onion rings...Goood LAWD they are tasty. That Zucchini Bean Bake looks killer.
Thanks for always keepin it real on Food Fight Fridays...
joedirt peanut.gif

Haha… I got to see your dope ass mullet. You aren’t kidding, it was top notch. WE MADE IT!!! Yay… that list sucked. Haha… what didn’t suck was the onion rings. Thanks for dropping a line and a gif. You rock Mr. Splatts!

Phew, your list made me so tired I didn't even have a chance to comment yesterday. Perhaps it was a good thing, though, because I know "replying to PtoP" would have added yet one more thing to your list. 🤣

Those onion rings look totally crunch-tastic! @dksart is definitely an onion-lover, so I might have to stock up on those bad boys next market visit. They can be a bit of a pain to batter up, but totally worth it for that delicious bite.

Hope the trek to the new spot went smoothly! Can't wait to see shots of the latest locale!

Oh, and you can totally make them with almond milk instead of egg… the batter does tend to get everywhere but the outcome is delicious. If you aren’t on a gluten free diet you can also add some bread crumbs to get them extra crunchy 😋. It’s all about the dip though :)

67B1F000-E2D8-48FA-9A2F-950D41322F44.jpeg

This was just taken from our new spot tonight. I frikken love this place. I almost forgot how much I loved it because we’ve been in the mountains this whole time. If you ever come Costa Rica, Playa Potrero is where it’s at, just sayin…

Nothing beats a sunset on the beach! I do love the mountains, but man does a little sand between my toes sound fantastic right about now. Glad you're not having too tough of a time settling in. 😉

I think my first round of beet kvass was a no-go. It might either have been too cold in the house or I also left the bottle unwrapped and the UV killed the ferment. Not quite sure, but not a huge loss. Back to square one to try again! The chickpea fries are still on the docket, as well...

Darn it! I guess we gotta have our fails in order to get our epic wins. I hate when a recipe doesn’t go my way. God forbid a couple in a row fail on me… I even say aloud “God, I need a win”. Haha… I’m looking forward to those chickpea fries missy. I know you’ll do them justice.

Yeah, we are adjusting 🤷🏼‍♀️ Just don’t ask me to go buy you a food processor and we are all good. Haha

Haha, hopefully the food processor you finally managed to snag lasts you a LOOOOONG time. Though that makes me think, when is the next installment of the Puradays Costa Rican chronicles coming out? 😉

I’m not sure… maybe in a week or two. Right now I’m just enjoying our new place :).

Yaaaaayyy... did you do everything by yourself including clean the car?
Whooooaaa you are a true super woman😍😍😍😍 and still, you made that crunchy onion rings and cassa wot? Cassaroni... that's cool👍👍👍.

I think you need that pacific beach sun soon.. you're not looking a costarican yet.. still too pale😂

NOooooooo… not yet atleast. I’m about to cut Dandays hair now and then continue on with packing up. I think the car will get washed later this afternoon. Laundry is almost done 😉

Hey, from now on out I’m going to call them Cassaroni’s. That’s the coolest name on this page right now. Haha

Don’t fret about my tan, it’s coming. This time next month you’ll be singing a different tune. Thanks for hanging out today @cicisaja I always like reading your comments. :)

Now you made me wonder.. what that's great guy doing while you did all in the list😂😂😂 having his wonderful time as king😉

Always a King :)

Only 11, huh? 😉 foodfightfriday at #1 though, it’s all about priorities.

See what I mean, #steemit? This article is her idea of something she just quickly threw together—why are you trying to run her off? I dig the #hasthtags. 👍🏿

iheartu all the time beautifullest.

It’s all about the hashtags 😝. Dude… I feel like we have so much to do and am probably a little anxious about going to our next spot. Let’s get your hair cut :)

Im a little exhausted reading the list lol.

Great #FFF post @puravidaville. Id love to try that smoothie and the onion rings look dope.

Sending some good mojo your way 💪🙌✌

I need all of the mojo I can get today, thanks bud. The onion rings were bomb and super easy to make. The smoothies are good to me, Dandays doesn’t care for them that green. He also has to omit the avocado so it would never taste the same anyway. Thanks for dropping a line my friend :)

Okay, so I'm all over those onion rings...like for dinner tonight! They look and sound really amazing! So on to your new house huh? Will this one have a view which is even more unbelievable than you have shown us thus far? Your list has forced me to take a nap....way too much in one day girl. No wonder you're a bit stressed? Are you still enjoying the juicer? I have a new juice I've tried just for you! I'll promise to share soon! Happy moving, excellent #fff post!!

Oh let me know how you like em… the best part is they are pretty guilt free. I stilllove my juicer, just made a fresh celery juice this morning. I don’t think the new pad will have a view but it’ll be pretty close to the ocean so we’ll get plenty of sunset pics :). I just wish these damn mosquitos would go bite someone else. They frikken love me here. It’s the pits 🤦🏼‍♀️

The list is complete! We finished it all and now all we have to do is clean up dinner and get in a few games of cribbage. I’ll definitely keep you posted as to how things go in our new place. Thank you for dropping a line my gorgeous friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82