Lentil Quinoa Lettuce Taco Wraps - food fight Friday

in #fff6 years ago

Hey, so I’m back for another round of triple F and wait until you see what I’ve cooked up this week… with summer ablazing in full swing it’s been less than ideal to turn on our oven but when you are in a full blown food fight, turning the oven on is a must.

E3D5564F-00BC-47ED-BE3F-4776CDA292A6.jpeg

Who knows about yummy lentil quinoa lettuce wraps? I don’t think anyone would miss the meat in these delicious tacos. Oh you like tortillas better? Here are a couple dressed up on some corn tortillas, traditional style.

EC2D027B-E808-4D81-8FBE-1B5D36B6E8D5.jpeg

I have always been known as the Taco Queen, then we went plant based and I haven’t been able to quite master my tacos, until now.

Because we have minimal everything I only had one rice pot to cook both the quinoa and the lentils in. Naturally I cooked the quinoa first since it only takes 15 minutes. Then I cooked up some lentils, taking about 35 minutes- you don’t want to get them too tender since you’ll be cooking them a little more in a moment.

Here is a counter full of goodies I add to the mix (not everything is pictured for I never follow an exact recipe and add things as I see fit).

A548B212-F3B8-4891-BA6F-A6AD5FF217D6.jpeg

After sautéing the onion, garlic and bell peppers, I add the quinoa to try and get a crispy coat of goodness to them.

58F1BD66-A090-4FE0-AC74-4F210184EF10.jpeg

Wait a minute… are my pics posting sideways again? Man, all that stuff @dandays smokes really gets me upside down (cough, cough, cough, weed, cough).

046B2F76-694E-4CCC-9B44-6AFBEF65CD80.jpeg

Now, I add the lentils and I know what you’re thinking “how does that pan stay on the oven when the oven is sideways?” (@dandays, can you take a break so I can get through this post please, cough, cough, weed, cough).

591C5A90-E19F-455A-884B-B4CC21F0FF42.jpeg

This is when I add the tomato paste mixed with cumin, chili powder, sea salt, black pepper and whatever else I put in there.

86D162E8-8BE2-4D88-AFB9-D3FCF1CFC127.jpeg

Throw some water in the pan too, to let all of the ingredients coat each other.

FD00DC28-A74F-430F-9BC8-DA3DBCF45B8C.jpeg

So this is my secret weapon, toppings! I chop anything and everything I have in my fridge. Limes are not to be underestimated; they can really make the dish. Here, I have a variety of things like cabbage, tomato, bell peppers, cilantro, green onion, and did I already say lime?

2648ABE8-8191-41A0-8DD8-F206CD81E86C.jpeg

These turned out so yummy and surprisingly filling! Thanks to this recipe I have been able to pin down my incredible taco nights, just like before. This was a huge win in my book.

0931624C-2EAA-4A86-B143-F74B662CBC6F.jpeg

I suppose @dandays liked them too! Stay tuned for my rendition of Brazilian Black Bean Stew 😋. Can’t every day be flood fleat freenays, I mean fruit frit fly maze, that’s not it either, food fight Fridays, there it is. Thanks for reading and good lick, I mean good luck to all the participants.

Pura Vida ✌️

Sort:  

Just in case someone actually mimicks any of these recipes, you might want to consider mimicking his one. They turned out pretty delicious. And that’s not just because I had the munchies either!

Great job, chef. Break time is finally um... over then uh... hu, weight, watt was Eye staying?

Delicious
I’m gonna make me some tomorrow

Let me know how they turn out. I’m telling ya taco night is the best night.

You are a very good cook! My husband and I will try to repeat your delicious recipe!

Thank you so much! I would love to see a picture of your tacos when you’re done. I really appreciate the support, have a great weekend my friend.

I like to eat fish. I caught it myself.
Riba zharennaja.JPG

Are those snapper? Fish caught yourself is the best kind of fish. Thanks for stopping by @eduards ✌️

Love the touch of humour. Where have I been that I've never seen a fff? Thanks to a resteem I can now follow more of your delicious cooking @puravivaville. Have you ever entered the #fruitsandveggiesmonday held by @lenasveganliving ?

Thank you so much for the compliments @buckaroo! You should definitely participate in food fight Friday. It’s very relaxed yet a lot of fun. I look forward to checking out more of your recipes as well (I already gawked at your chocolate ganache birthday cake 😋). Hopefully we’ll see you next week in the triple F throwdown!

Absolutely delicious tacos @puravivaville and I hope you will join us for fruitsandveggiesmonday. Thank you for tagging me @buckaroo 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Thought you'd like the tacos Lena

No promises but you'll see me at some point! Glad you liked the ganache. It's delicious and so easy if you want to throw together a treat

And I’ve never even seen fruitsandveggiesmonday until now. I’ll be sure to check it out! Thank you for the tip.

I couldn't agree more; a little lime or lemon really just brightens everything up. That looked very healthy and tasty!

Thank you @lizzyib, checking out your triple F now.

Very good, once again, @puravidaville. If I were ever to substitute meat in tacos, this looks like the way to go.

I guess someone really liked all of the food, too, since there's a plate to show all that was devoured. :)

Now, if I could only figure out what @dandays was smoking that would cause the stove to go sideways... :)

Thanks @glenalbrethsen, lentil quinoa tacos really are the way to go. Eating left over guys on corn tortillas isn’t so bad either.

I’ll let @dandays fill you in on how to get the oven sideways. Haha, great to see you this week and thank you for stopping by.

Is that mango on the left side of the photo with all veggies? :)

I have never had taco in my life so I have no idea what I've missed out but I do love using lentils to make the 'meaty' recipes like bolognese.

Your recipe looks very tasty and perfect for hot summer days!

Thank you for sharing!

Yes, that is definitely a mango which I did not end up using but love to add a sweet salsa to a spicy dish.

You’ve never had a taco?!?! I’ve never wished I could send someone a virtual meal so much in my life. Yep, lentils really do make for a meaty filling in anything. Bolognese with lentils sounds delicious, now I have to make it. Haha.

Thank you so much stopping by and dropping a line. I really appreciate your support @delishtreats!

I thought so! I looked through your recipe and didn't see it used so I asked :)

Well, it's not that popular in Europe though :) And I don't even remember seeing it on a menu in a Mexican restaurant. But yes, PLEASE send me some! :)

My pleasure! I love vegan recipes! :)

Mangos may be more of a South and Central American fruit, or more tropical maybe, but I promise you the mixture of sweet with the hint of jalapeño is to die for. I also just made a Brazilian Black Bean Stew with sweet potatoes and mangos… one of my personal favorites. Love me some vegan recipes!

Wow, well done @puravidaville. Fake meat... that's great!

I now crown you 'Queen of fake meat lookalike stuff!'

Congrats!

Oh, and @dandays - open a window dude... look what you're doing to your oven! Hehe.

Hahaha… I’ll take it (we can work on the name later). Thank you @sivehead I really appreciate the support.

This is so tantalizing to see and I am sure it is delicious to eat!

Thank you, they were a winner in my house! I really appreciate you stopping @icybc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87