Laundry Day Take Two: Food Fight FridaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff6 years ago

Hola Food Fight Peeps!

Here I am writing another food fight Friday post and I don’t really have a formidable triple F recipe to share… what’s a girl todo? Well, I’m dialed in on the laundry sitch (short for situation 😉) from last week so this week all I needed to do was drop it off and head back over to our casita’s pool to write this weeks contender. Sounds easy enough, right?!?

First of all, Dandays takes me over to the laundry facility about 600 meters away from where we are staying. I saw the ever elusive “golf cart” parked out front indicating that Mrs. Lavanderia was indeed inside… wrong… the abierto/open sign on the door lied again but this time with a golf cart as an accomplice; the door was dead locked instead.

I jumped back in the car and asked Dandays to take me to The Pescaderia. We hadn’t been to this one before but it was right around the corner and I needed a triple f contender so off we went…

1244FA26-A407-4CEF-9637-F6FAB435E697.jpeg

They were doing construction right outside but the sign looked promising. I hopped out of the car excited to read their fish and seafood menu, and by menu I just mean what kind of stuff they have to offer for that day.

I was really only looking for one thing, Mahi Mahi, aka dorado, or dolphin fish, which has no relation to a dolphin whatsoever. Not only did they have dorado but they had a big hunking frozen dorado that had to be purchased in its entirety. It was just too much fish for what I needed it for, plus it was frozen… pass! We decided to take a ride down the road to the freshest seafood market we’ve discovered since getting here… El Camaron, aka El Jefe (just kidding, I made that up but it might as well be true when you are the freshest fish market on the block 🤷🏼‍♀️).

73E5F278-7C34-42C4-A6AA-F4DED28CE207.jpeg

This is the view you’re struck with upon getting out of your car to walk up to the joint. Not too shabby! Pivot a little bit to walk towards the fish market and it looks like this…

E6670016-369E-4395-8640-38200EA3D2CA.jpeg

So last time we were here, about a week ago, we got a kilo of camaron which came out to about 4 nights worth of shrimp. They were extremely fresh too, caught in the Nicoya peninsula which is about 1 hour from where we are. Not only did they have those for sale but they also had jumbo shrimp (oxymoron, I know) that I almost couldn’t resist but the better deal was on the shrimpy shrimp. I said “I’ll get those next time”.

Today, walking up I thought “I want me some Mahi Mahi and maybe if they have jumbo shrimp, I’ll sneak a few of those too”. They didn’t have jumbo shrimp today so my decision was a simple one; Mahi Mahi all the way.

F2E6AD6D-352D-4EAC-AC93-8E04AEB49D45.jpeg

Incase you missed the sign, not only can you buy the freshest seafood here but they also have a beach front restaurant attached, that will cook your fresh seafood for you too. Talk about customer service. I prefer to prepare our own food so no need to cop a table here today but having the option is nice. Dude, you can’t beat the view either…

E5F20513-8CD8-4028-83C3-DC96956A2E97.jpeg

I mean, you can’t get more sand in your toes than that. I bet the sunset from this spot is spectacular too. Would you believe the price isn’t outrageous either? Seriously, a kilo of shrimp is a lot of fresh shrimp and we bought it for a quarter what it would cost in the states. It’s probably a whole lot fresher too. Check out the pieces of Mahi Mahi they have goin on…

7CAD0EBA-53C4-4F7A-8148-D4BCE17C3DD1.jpeg

They were such a deal we got 4 large pieces and dude threw in an extra one for free. His name was Eric and he’s not unique in the way Costa Rican’s are cool like that. It’s part of why we moved down here. Everyone is Pura Vida and especially in Guanacaste, people are just chill 😎.

E39DDEB8-A3E8-4E9F-AD6F-179C1F7365C3.jpeg

This is the goods on the almighty scale but who needs a scale when you have an Eric hooking you up anyway…

7CE81773-76C6-4D5A-A4BE-2D522B007B7C.jpeg

Really, he wasn’t second guessing his generosity here- he was just passionately telling us about their daily sunset happy hour. @dandays was listening intently even though we don’t drink and I was secretly taking pictures of everything. It’s kind of embarrassing getting caught taking pictures like a common tourist. I’ve actually always been a little shy about taking pictures of my food. Maybe it’s because I worked as a bartender for so long that I’d watch people do the funniest things when their food came out and immediately think to myself “pura, don’t ever do that”. Haha… I also took note of how many damn people can’t put their phone down in a restaurant, while in the company of another, and some while actually eating their food. We have a strict no phones in restaurants policy at the Pura-days table. It just looks ridiculous and then they miss out on a total experience of eating, chatting, people watching, whatever. Anyway, I digress…

We politely chit chatted with Eric for a minute, grabbed our fish on ice, and headed back to the car knowing that we still haven’t been able to drop off the laundry 🤦🏼‍♀️ . Parked perfectly next to our vehicle was this bute (pronounced: bew-ttt, which is short for beauty) that repped our sentiments exactly…

A3B5F75E-EFC4-4B33-948F-39A2924BE9B5.jpeg

Do y’all see that:

water, water, water, water, water everywhere?
Water, water, water, water,
Water everywhere…
rockin everywhere, rockin everywhere
I found you, Mr. blue
Get it together and wave it back soon,
Let me party with you,
For about a month or two… haha

Yep, I can’t get enough of the ocean here. Now that we bought our fish we need to hustle back to the laundry center to see if we can drop our clothes off.… I’m jonesing for this fish tonight now :)

Success!!! She’s here and since I know how this goes it’s going down much smoother than before. Wait a minute… I don’t have exact change and she only takes cash. Dang it, we have to make a run to the cajero automatico. There’s only two in town, lucky for us one of them happens to be on our street.

I tried to make this quick but decided we should probably stop in the market too so I could pick up a veggie to go with the mahi and break my bill. I’m guessing Mrs. Lavanderia won’t have change for me.…

The first store I ran into didn’t have good produce. There’s only 3 little markets in town so we headed to the next one. Miss again- they didn’t even have broccoli here. Dang it! Third times a charm 🥶? I walked into the final market on our route back to the laundry place. They had a whole other room in the back of the store… it was looking promising… and bingo! A fridge full of green broccoli, avocado, and other goods. I grabbed my things and headed to the cashier so we could get this road on the show.

While standing in line a woman and her two daughters under 10 couldn’t stop staring at me. The older daughter kept poking my broccoli and smiling up at me to which I responded with “hola and a big 👋”. The guy behind me seemed like he was in a hurry and the store was hot so we were all sweating. My turn, I put my stuff on the counter and said “hola, buenas tardes”. The cashier said something fast back but I assume it was polite. He gave me the total and I gave him my large bill to break. Dang it, he gave me change in larger bills. At this point I don’t know how to ask for singles and I’m feeling the dude behind me getting anxious so I just scampered out of there semi defeated. Haha

Dandays waited for me in the car when we got back to the laundry joint. I knew my girl wouldn’t have change so I wasn’t surprised when she asked if she could bring me my change in the morning. No problema, I have a pool to get to and a @foodfightfriday to write.

When I got back in the car I had to fess up to Dandays that I didn’t get change even though that was the point of our stop and that she’d give us change tomorrow. He’s got to think I’m a meat head 🤦🏼‍♀️

When we got back to the pad I ran out to pool as fast as possible, got comfy in my lounge chair and began writing. I realized half way through I’d like to add a picture of the fish all dressed up and ready to go out for the night so I put my phone down and got in the pool. A tan o clock later it was time for me to start dinner.

68642FD7-1370-4E21-9B17-E0AA38E97BAA.jpeg

Pan seared Mahi Mahi in a lime garlic basil butter glaze, topped with a cold cucumber relish and accompanied by a broccoli medley bake. Uh yummmm 😋.

956E58A6-A9FB-4258-8664-15495CA14BAA.jpeg

Is licking the plate considered bad form? Ahhh, flick it- plate licked.

Thanks for playing with me today friends. Friday has got to be the best Food Fight of the week. Thanks @jlsplatts, @weirdheadaches, and @dandays for putting in so much work for all of us to have a cool place to chill before the weekend. You guys are the true warriors here.

Hope everyone enjoys their weekend and as always…

Pura Vida ✌️

20A2D479-AEAA-4C7D-A7AD-A6C91F9BCCF4.jpeg

This message is brought to you by a multiple triple F title holder. Look for yourself, I have a belt to prove it. Yo, belt Gods… when do I get a belt that marks all of my triple F triumphs?

FA6AC688-3BB2-4D5B-9F6D-9B298BFFD899.gif

Sort:  

They got some weird fish down there??
5C1F703D-7376-4D4E-B70C-B665802FE5FF.png
I can’t believe you let your husband eat that???
I just competed this and your post popped up, so it was perfect timing. I need to read...I will be back

Hahaha… you’re hilarious Splatts! Such a fish head. Looks funny but tastes delicious. See ya when you get back 😉

There isn’t much better than fresh seafood plus the fact that they will cook it right then and there..perfect.
You made On heck of a dish out of that!! Delicious!!!!
Your adventures always crack me up!!
Happy FFF!!!

But I do have one question... Who is in the Boat?
05BDD23E-F325-4EBD-AFA3-87D011ACB8BA.jpeg

Haha… dont mind that creep. He follows us everywhere we go. The seafood here is unbelievably fresh. I usually don’t use anything but a little salt, pepper and lime but I wanted to make a sauce tonight. Thanks for reading. I’m glad our adventures are somewhat comical. P

Hey, I thought you do the ingredients, technical stuff and I do the run my thumbs part? 🤔 You sure did run your thumbs nicely miss Pura Vida, “got a lighter?” Dude.. your rap! That was frikkin great. I had no idea what you were doing until I watched that bubba sparx video—you killed it!

I sure am glad you think we’re doing a good job. These posts are still my favorite ones of the week—look at @jlsplatts response, where else you gonna see that?! Thank you for always competing and feeding me, chef wife! I’ll chauffeur you any time. Well, except for when I have a timer set for you. And not when I’m doing your dishes, either. Otherwise... I got this!

iheartu all the time beautifullest.

Haha… I’ll be your chef for forever! I can run my thumbs too. It’s actually easier for me right now being in eating such a specific diet. It takes a lot of pressure off me for creating and documenting recipes. I’m enjoying just quietly creating recipes without having to stop every few steps to take the perfect picture. Plus by the time I’m done I need to make sure it tastes right and I never know if it’s going to be okay until I’m finished. Thanks for alwasy eating my recipes babe. You are my most favorite customer. Muah

You never mentioned your location. But all your puravida’ing leads me to say Costa Rica. If so you are a mere long bus ride from lake Atitlan Guatemala. You and @dandays need to come say HI to the Butt!

“Pura Vida!” According to maps, Costa Rica to you is about a 16 hour bus ride—man, that would be exciting! I’m in @puravidaville, I just added it to the grocery list. 😉

       Mangoes 
       Rum
       Ceviche 
       Sun tan cream
       Pool noodles 
       2 gringos on long bus ride

Posted using Partiko iOS

You call it “sun tan cream”? Where exactly are you from? Haha

If our first bus excursion goes well we’ll meet you in Guatemala. Or what would half way be?

Half way would be Honduras I guess. I have heard good things about Ometepe, though never made it. Not sure it is half way either.

In my home of Sudan we call it sun tan.
I was singer in a band and my complexion was grand.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha… I’m working on my complexion now. It’s a nice life to suntan all day and do whatever you want all night. We are venturing into panama this month but maybe one of these days we’ll venture somewhere closer to you. Sure would be cool to meet another Steemit wonderer :)

Yeah... I’m a wanderer who is still in the same spot. 9 years here at lake atitlan. For sure look me up when you are ready to head this way!51F6E0A7-0FE4-45F4-B1E1-FD248E2A52C5.jpeg

I really like Mahi Mahi, but haven't had it that much. Not into fish a whole lot, so that's probably the reason. This looks good, as always, though, @puravidaville.

The great lengths to which you had to go to get it, though—even with the view, would probably just have me saying, "Feed me! I'll pay!"

I've had king prawns before. They're worth every peso (or whatever it is there), especially the fresh stuff.

Mahi is so mild and the texture is my favorite. I also really love salmon but it’s not as fresh down here. I prefer to eat fish that has been caught pretty close to where I’m eating it. I never used to like seafood so much but since I started incorporating it into my diet, it’s like my body craves it. I don’t eat land animals at all but am seriously thinking I’ve developed an addiction to prawns. Haha

We went to grab the fish after breakfast/lunch so not much of a problem there. I was actually only getting worried when it was taking us so long to get back to refrigerate because it’s so hot. The fish was on ice but I like to keep it extra fresh… 😉

King prawns, jumbo shrimp, extra large shrimp, it’s all good. There’s a restaurant down the street where I order the jumbo shrimp dinner with vegetables and a little salad for 6000 colones. That basically comes out to 10 bucks usd. Not bad in my opinion. I don’t think I could get a burger back home for 10 usd… okay, im exaggerating but you catch my drift. Thanks for stopping by @glenalbrethsen! Hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend :)

Well, it's only a minor exaggeration anymore, and seafood is generally so much more expensive in comparison. So, you're getting a very good deal on it, and for the most part, it's healthier than ground beef.

I get the craving. I'd eat a lot more of it if it were fresher, readily available, and not so spendy. :) Guess that means I'm moving to some place with a warmer ocean and a knack for preparing sea critters. :)

I've never been a big fan of refrigeration by ice. I mean, it works, it's just it seems like people aren't as careful about it as they probably should be, so I can't blame you for wanting to get it home stat. Some items it will make a difference.

Oh boy, we just finished eating the mahi again and tonight it was cooked perfectly. I admittedly over cooked it last night but the cucumber relish made up for. Tonight it was flakey and perfect, relish or not. Dandays and I are both lounging in our air conditioned room, digesting our food, writing on Steemit, and waiting to go catch the sunset. My point is, life is better when you eat fresh seafood. Haha…

Oh jeez I'm super late to commenting. Well, between more birthdays this weekend, tax prep, and absolutely perfect running weather today I guess I have a few ok excuses. 😋

I don't think I would get tired of that beach view either. Thank you to the #fff crew for giving you a reason to drag yourself away from that beautiful scenery to check in with us. Love hearing the continuing saga!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha… I’m glad you made it. We just finished our taxes over FaceTime. Yep, FaceTime taxes is apparently a thing. This year happened to be the best year for us this far… “thank you God”. Also, it’s the first year we’ve been done with them before April, 🤷🏼‍♀️ Anyway, I totally get the “taxes” excuse. Haha. You just keep on running with your bad self. Those races aren’t going to win themselves :)

Well pretty much anything you can do remotely anymore, so why not taxes? I finally feel like a "big girl" since I am actually getting the help of an accountant this year. Figured I might as well have some assistance to make sure the old IRS isn't keeping too much of my hard-earned change. ;) Glad you knocked yours out early so you can soak up the sunshine without Uncle Sam peaking over your shoulder!

Uncle Sam is an uncle nightmare. We are very happy to be done with him this year. Good luck on yours, I know I felt like a big girl when I had to start talking to Sams little minions a few times a year for a bit there. Being big is no fun sometimes. The sunshine can heal that too though. 😎

Love the dish. I tried Mahi Mahi for the first time while on vacation and really enjoyed.
Your adventure is truly fascinating. To have the guts to get up and leave is admirable, as we all tend to get stuck in our ways.

Mahi Mahi is one of my faves. That and salmon are like candy to me. We are lucky to have so much fresh mahi here right now. I’m also quickly becoming addicted to shrimp. Haha. Thanks for the interest. It takes no guts at all when your home is with your husband. We can go anywhere and I’ll be great :)

@puravidaville You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Thank you @verifyme! I appreciate the recognition :)

Have you seen that? Omg the sun! The trees! The Sand! The grass! It looks so waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrmmmmm! I wanna be there too :(

And man oh man! Have you seen that food! It is 10:31pm here and you got me drooling. Thanks Lady! pff....just.... pffffff

Well ... tsk to you for teasing me like that. Here! I throw a snowball at you! Did you feel it? No...? Darn!

My sun melted your measly snow blob and I counter you with a bouquet of sun shine. Haha… it’s been difficult for me to post recipes as I’m kind of doing something different these days so a shmorgess of food is what I have to give now. The fish here really is incredible, the veggies too. Although we don’t have access to many many things that you do, I still miss a lot, we have access to high quality foods. Thanks for stopping by @foxyspirit! I’ll welcome you with light and warmth even if you do come with cold snow balls 😉

I'll take it! I don't shy away in defeat when it comes in kindness :p

It is getting warmer here as spring is approaching but the snow still keeps coming. Please tell it to stop.

I am not too much a fan of fish but I do say that it looks quite yummy. A strong taste is what I can't deal with like salmon. I can eat perch or sole. But I think if there were fish done with proper seasoning and sauces and all that fun stuff, I could probably enjoy it better. Fish is a mystery to me for cooking. It falls apart and smells lol.

Oh, then you’d like this fresh Mahi Mahi. It’s the least fishy fish in my opinion and it’s so fresh that all you need is a little salt/pepper and citrus. I actually loved only salmon when I would eat nothing else from the sea. I used to bake it with a honey like glaze with garlic and butter… it was to die for. Now I just use simple spices and a little lemon or lime. Dandays just got me to love scallops too. I still can’t eat muscles, clams, oysters, or any of their cousins but I think I like most everything else. Except tuna, still hate tuna. Doesn’t matter how it’s prepared I can’t stand it 🤷🏼‍♀️ I’m not a raw sushi head yet either. I don’t know if my palate will ever be that refined…

I was just telling another friend of mine that at least in the snow you can cuddle up to some warm freshly made chili and corn bread then wash down with a cup of extra creamy hot coco… that also sounds nice to me right now. Although I don’t think I could live in that weather, it sure does sound cozy for a vacation :). What color is that grass over there? More purple? Haha

HAHAHAH! If it was purple, then my weed is good!
And I don't even smoke

I could probably eat the fish if you made it by the sounds of it. Tuna I can do, but not by itself it has to have other elements in there to help it out.

Muscles are a big no and things like prawns and shrimp and lobster... you know, those things... they are bugs! You guys are eating bugs. Water bugs. Bugs of the seas and oceans. Don't believe me? Just look at it!

...pixabay image...

So look at that. It even has antennas. Little dozen bug feet and bug like tails. They are even exoskeletal like cockroaches. And you are eeeeating it!

And that thing there... It's a damn water scorpion. It's big so it's not deadly, and you people butter it up and drool all over it! Cook it alive just to hear it scream. THE HORROR! OH THE HORROOOOORRRRR!

Ahem

Ya this place sounds like it's nice for a getaway to be nice and cozy by the fire. A day spent skidooing and sliding, skiing. Then having hot coco or red wine by the fire... dipping some strands of WATER SCORPION in melted garlic butter.

But hey, even the crabs eat the crabs right? This one eats its babies...

Haha… so I take it you eat big doughy eyed cows and maybe some cute smart pigs that are called bacon when it hits your dinner plate so whatevs. Did you just totally go off on me for liking good food? Your crazy for not enjoying the nutrients of the sea, Lady!

Yea, I think a nice vacay to the snow mobile and around the fire would be perfect. Everything is always perfect when it’s a vacation destination and not somewhere you have to live, work and permanently function in huh?!?

Yes, yes I do! And dare I say it, I am not proud of it. I'm actually not liking the taste of beef anymore. I've been eating less and less meat throughout the years. Hubby is the one that thinks meat makes a complete meal. I was just messing with ya. Cause...you know... bugs :P
I used to like shrimp before and then just one day, my body refused to take it. I had one... it was alright, I had 2...I didnt feel right... 3... I had to spit it out because the more I tried swallowing it the more I was about to puke. It was weird because I was enjoying it before.
I had lobster once and it was so well cooked it was delicious! But I tried it at other places and no it was gross lol.

I think you are right with the vacation part. Today seems like one of those days to stay in. It's snowing sideways lol.

I used to order filet mignon well done with a side of A-1 and horseradish to make a dip to soak each piece in. Everyone I’ve ever order steak with has made fun of me. I think I came to the realization when I met Dandays that I did that because I didn’t really like the taste of steak. Once I stopped eating it and tried taking a bite of it months later, my digestive system got all messed up- from only one bite. That was it, I was off the steak train. Honestly though, I have sever dietary restrictions right now and I find myself craving the most obscure things for me. Of course I crave all sugar and sweets too, so I don’t know what the… I just try and stick as closely to my diet as possible. If I didn’t eat fish I’d be in a boat load of trouble (sea what I did there?). Haha. Taste aversions are real, I have one for ranch Doritos oddly enough 🤷🏼‍♀️

what an amazing day to spend back and fro like that @puravidaville.. hahahahaha, you need to do something with the change for Mrs. Lavendaria though.

I'm panting .. reading your day story just to see the end of the story..LOL, lick the plate.. why not?

The change pays for our road tolls should we have to go into the capital. It also works as good additional tips for anyone that has served you… :)

Consider my plate licked. It’s just too darn good. Thanks for keeping up and reading @cicisaja. I swear I’m not trying to tire you out :)

I know you're not.. but I'm just too excited as if I'm in your bag 😂😂

You’re welcome in my bag anytime @cicisaja. If Dandays and I ever get to Indonesia, which will be one of these days, we surely stopping by for a special visit to meet you.

Girl, girl, this is totally not fair...not only do you have incredible sand, water, sun...but fish too? (And my lady... a lavandaria nina to do your ropa?) Wow, it truly is paradise. That cucumber salsa looks dangerously amazing! You nailed it my friend! :)

The fish here is incredible Mrs. Bird. Of course I always order the freshly caught fish from right in that region but it’s pure candy. I actually wish I could relieve the laundry Nina from our doing our clothes but there’s no option of that in town. It’s not so bad I suppose :). The cucumbers balanced out the fish perfectly I think. The only thing I was missing was cilantro. I’ll have another go at it for tonight’s meal though… thanks for dropping a line @birdsinparadise. I bet your mango salsa would be killer on a piece of this fish… 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75