Carbonara-An Inexpensive Luxury

in #fff6 years ago (edited)


I figured it's time to put my love of food into a quick blog post for #foodfightfriday! We're going to look at some food pictures of Spaghetti Carbonara, a new family favorite.

Why Carbonara?


We went to Rome a few months back, so when we came back it was obvious we had to learn how to make our favorite dishes. Carbonara is easy to make, requires fairly ordinary ingredients, and is really tasty.


I started out by cutting up strips of bacon. The Italians use pancetta, and if you have that, more power to you, but bacon works great and we have a lot of it (it was on mega sale and we bought a ton).


While the bacon fried up, I got some minced garlic ready, boiled the water and made spaghetti, and also grabbed eggs and Parmesan.


Add the garlic to the bacon once it has rendered and cooked (but before it is crispy) and cook for a minute, then add a splash of red wine. Dry is better, but it's OK to experiment with what you like.



Meanwhile, whisk the eggs and add in the Parmesan cheese. Set this aside.

When your spaghetti is done, reserve a cup of the pasta water, drain the noodles, and quickly put them back in the pot. Add the egg and cheese mixture, and stir quickly. This shouldn't be done over heat, or else the eggs will scramble, but the noodles should be hot enough that they'll cook the raw eggs enough to ensure you are eating safe.

If you have any doubt about eating raw eggs, don't do it! We've had this three or four times with no problems and we use store bought eggs.

Put a little of the bacon mixture on top of your pile of noodles, and maybe some parsley if you like. Enjoy!


NB: this recipe was mostly borrowed from the Food Network. They recommend mixing the bacon in with the noodles at the end, but I prefer putting them on top.

Thanks to @foodfightfriday for making a fun tag like this and fellow foodlover @glenalbrethsen for using it and getting my attention.

-Jeff

Interested in optimizing your Steem experience? Do you want to learn more about how Steem can turn your blog posts into Bitcoin? Click the button below to read more of my extensive research on Steem:




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://steemmaker.com/carbonara-inexpensive-luxury/

Sort:  

Okay, so you just classed up the place with that meal, @protegeaa. I'm not sure if the rest of us are going to know what to do with it. :)

Looks great, I'm sure it tastes great, and it gives me another idea to try on the unsuspecting guinea pigs I live with I call family.

Welcome to Food Fight Friday! (Yeah, I know it's Saturday. Still trying to get through my feed.)

Of course you know what to do with it-you eat it!

I'm eager to see what idea this gave you and look forward to reading the after report. 😋

I'm going to try with with some gluten free pasta, sounds delish. Thanks Jeff. 👌

Great! Post a photo here when you do!

I will, going shopping this week for pasta. 👍

Your meal looks delish! I imagine the pasta in Italy is unparalleled but your rendition sure could give them a run for their money. Well played @protegeaa! Thank you for stopping by my page and I look forward to competing with you again next week.

Italian pasta is pretty tasty! But it's not terribly difficult to approximate it in your kitchen with a little practice. 🤫

Secret is safe with me. Ha

You had me @ bacon, The you mentioned you have a lot of it. Just for that I’m following you. BACON!!!
This dish looks so classy and elegant yet so easy to make.
C42B842B-4424-4CF8-8215-EB3B0A64BEDE.gif
SECONDS AND THIRDS PLEASE
Normally I’m pretty on top of things but @jsplatts has been vacationing on me and slacking on the replies. I guess he thinks he has to take his family on some sort of summer vacation or something. 😉
Thanks for using the #fff tag and look forward to seeing your future meals.
Again... Bravo and well done!!

Inexpensive and super simple! Thanks for posting this.

Inexpensive Luxury, right up my alley :)! Looks delicious :)

Glad to hear it! And yes, it is delicious.

Damn!... I can't believe I missed this one when I searched #fff tag on friday. And from another new contender too - welcome @protegeaa, nice to see you here, your dish looks amazing! Spaghetti is one of my favourite foods but I can't say I've tried Carbonara Yet.

Thanks! I originally used a non food thumbnail but then changed it when I realized it was stupid of me. 😅

Nice! I am a pasta fan and I definitely have made (and botched) a few batches of carbonara. There was in memorable incident where I ended up with scrambled eggs and noodles. Nice job!

Thanks-it's a real concern, but one I haven't had to deal with yet.

I did botch it a bit one time by trying to double the recipe. It's really hard to stir two pounds of noodles and four eggs. It tasted OK but wasn't what I have come to expect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67859.32
ETH 3799.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67