Buddha Bowl for Food Fight Friday {I Made Chayote Too @puravidaville! 😉}

in #fff5 years ago

Happy Friday friends! Big surprise, it was a busy one! I wasn't intending on seeing my niece today, but when my sister told me she was asking if I was coming all morning I couldn't disappoint her. All my other plans go out the door to spend time with her. I'm sure it will be all too soon when I'll blink and she'll be old enough to have other priorities than spending Friday afternoon with her auntie, so I'm taking advantage of every moment that I have now. Many good memories made today as always!

As it is already 7pm here, I didn't intend on squeaking out a post today. However, when I saw @puravidaville's #fff post had some chayote tacos at the end, I knew I had to crank out my own chayote experience this week! Especially since I used some of my Buddha bowl leftovers for tacos, too. When fate intervenes, you go with it. (I promise I'll join #marketfriday soon @dswigle!)

IMG_20190414_181558099.jpg

Though I usually try to buy the bulk of my food from the local farmers market, every now and then as a treat I'll grab something a little bit different from the store that I don't find locally. One of the restaurants I went to around my birthday has a delicious chayote squash slaw that I have been wanting to try to make at home. When I happened upon some chayote at the store I just had to grab a few!

IMG_20190411_195205142.jpg

Kind of funny-looking, isn't it? My Brazilian gal pal had told me her mom makes a killer slaw, so I turned to her for some advice on how to work with it since I had never used chayote myself. I love having friends from all different cultures for so many reasons, but sharing food traditions is definitely a big perk! Her basic recipe was just to slice the squash and lightly boil it to soften it up a bit, then add it to onion, vinegar and some seasonings. I used slice sweet onion, apple cider vinegar, a pinch of white pepper, and some dill. Wow is that so frickin' good! So simple, but packed a major punch. Especially to brighten up the rest of my bowl. I made it the day before the rest of my meal to make sure it had plenty of time for the vinegar to incorporate in and to break down the onion a little bit to tame down the raw flavor.

IMG_20190414_162846340.jpg

The main part of the bowl was a bunch of roasted veggies like sweet potato, broccoli, onion and Brussels sprouts from the farmers market. I just sprinkled them with some seasoning and roasted them until soft. A batch of cooked canary beans bulked it out, and the bed of the bowl was Siberian kale from one of the organic farmers at the market. To top it all off I made guacummus! Yep, it's just what it sounds like. Essentially hummus but with avocado and lime blended in for a best-of-both-worlds mixture of the two greatest dips known to man.

IMG_20190414_180953419.jpg

I didn't have any fresh cilantro, so I used parsley in it for that herb flavor and also used ground coriander, smoked paprika and a pinch of cayenne. No shame in licking the food processor after that batch. Don't worry, I did remove the blades first. 😜

IMG_20190414_181753346.jpg

It was perfectly delicious and satisfying in a bowl, but made a pretty darn good taco filling, too! There's always ways to jazz up leftovers if you get tired of eating them the same way multiple days in a row.

IMG_20190418_132738711.jpg

Glad I could jump back in the @foodfightfriday ring again! It's only 7:28 now, so I managed to knock this one out in a hurry so I can check out some of the other contenders before shutting down for the evening. Have a fantastic weekend everyone!

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

Hey, @plantstoplanks.

I was going to say, two chayote recipes in a row, and I didn't even know people knew what chayote was! I think I may have eaten it for some reason once or twice.

It all looks very tasty, especially the guacummus, where the two hemispheres meet to dip. :) Or something like that. Need to work on the marketing.

I'm glad you were able to get this foodfightfriday entry in and I'm thoroughly impressed at your speediness, too. I can't crank out mine that fast. :)

Hey there! Kind of funny when it works out that way, right? There have been a few times where I'm making something and get ready to post only to realize that one of my buddies has made something similar! Great minds think alike, as they say. ;)

Whatever the marketing, that mixture of guac and hummus is pure gold! So creamy and delicious. Good fuel to help me crank out my post. I don't normally get them done that quickly, but sometimes I do better with a fire under my butt to help me stay on task.

This looks amazingly delicious indeed

@plantstoplanks,
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 39
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
2CEE9C63-C646-4F11-854B-AEED926F621B.gif
Good Luck

Haha, thanks team!

Duuuude… did you really just one up me? Guacahummus and chayote bowls? Way to kick my ass @platstoplanks- I love it. Show em who’s boss!!!

This Buddha bowl looks Buddha-donk-y-donk… id probably intravenously kill that entire batch of guacahummus before I could force my autocorrect to let me spell guacahummus. Haha.

You’re a pimp Plants. Obviously your niece already knows that… enjoy your weekend my friend!

Haha, well you lit a fire under my butt, so I had to give you some kudos. I probably wouldn't have dragged the laptop into the living room to whip out a post if you hadn't snuck in those tacos. ;) The good thing is in this smackdown we all win! Kind of the like the FAVM crew, everyone benefits from banging entries!

I’m glad I could be of assistance because the world needs to see all of the yummy chayote tacos happening in our homes. And you’re right, we all do totally win!

🎁 Hi @plantstoplanks! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday And The Cherry Blossom Parade Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Ohhhh my, a new recipe!!! I'll have to grab one of those chayote squash this weekend, tacos it will be! My avocados are ripe and ready to be used. Killer dish for a friday night. I'm so glad you got to spend time with your niece, you're right, soon she'll be too busy for auntie :) You're the best auntie ever, I'm sure Katie!! Have a wonderful Easter!

Aww, glad you think this looks as good as I thought it tasted! Between that slaw and the guacummus, each bite was a party in my mouth, haha. 😉

I am so blessed to be able to spend just about every Friday afternoon with her! A lot of times I feel guilty if I don't get my to-do list done every day, but on Fridays I have no qualms about letting that list go to make those precious memories. She tried some of the strawberries I brought over (which is a good feat since she is in that picky eating phase still) and gave me the sweetest berry kiss! Melts my heart every time!

It all looks so good, I've never tried (that I know of) chayote,
I've eaten quite a bit of Latino Foods (7 yrs in Toostoned Az)
Upvoted my friend, you gotta let me know some time so I
Can come munch with you @plantstoplanks hah...love it.

Thanks @jerrytsuseer! I first tried it at El Super Pan. So good!

I love cook with chayote, all looks so good🤤

Thanks! I definitely want to use it more. It's delicious!

if it is very delicious

Resteeming this awesome post! Wow wow wow so much good food to feast my eyes on!! I discovered chayote in Costa Rica - it’s awesome 💚 Great voistvss slways z❤️🌈🦋🍀

Aww, thank you! I only recently had it, as well, but am so glad to have found it to enjoy on occasions when I can get it!

Oh, you really did outdo yourself with this! As a bonus, to use the leftovers is always genius to me! I will admit to not being familiar with chayote before, but, you are right! The different cultures that are known to us have certainly stretched my taste buds.

No worries on the the #MarketFriday and you are so sweet and thank you for the mention! :) We all lead such busy lives, we are lucky to get any post in some days!

I hope you have a most wonderful Easter tomorrow and your tacos rock, woman! Yummy!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Aww, thank you my sweet pal! I hope you have a fantastic Easter weekend yourself!

Thank you so much! I think that it is going to be a spectacular day. I have already colored my Easter eggs! LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69300.96
ETH 3785.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68