FOOD FIGHT FRIDAY [] PALEO PECAN PIE SCONES WITH MAPLE PECAN GLAZE

in #fff5 years ago

Hey Ya'll, Friday has rolled around again and it is time for #foodfightfriday. It is so nice being able to share recipes from around the world. Today I tried my hand at making scones. I don't know why it took me so long to make them since I love scones. I first tried scones when I was in London in 1996 and fell in love with them. They reminded me of a cross between a biscuit and a cookie. In London, at this little restaurant, they were served with lemon curd and tea with milk. That was the only time that I've had milk in my tea.

Here is a little history of scones I found on the internet.

The History of the Scone
March 2, 2016 [email protected]

SCONES:
A scone is a single-serving cake or quick bread. They are usually made of wheat, barley or oatmeal, with baking powder as a leavening agent, and are baked on sheet pans or scone pans of various types and materials. They are often lightly sweetened and are occasionally glazed with egg wash. The scone is a basic component of the cream tea or Devonshire tea. It differs from a teacake and other sweet buns, which are made with yeast. Scones are biscuit-like pastries that are often rolled into round shapes and cut into quarters, then baked. Scones can be savory or sweet and are usually eaten for breakfast, but are also served with tea and in coffeehouses.

Scones became popular and an essential part of the fashionable ritual of taking tea in England when Anna, the Duchess of Bedford (1788 – 1861), one late afternoon, ordered the servants to bring tea and some sweet breads, which included scones. She was so delighted by this, that she ordered it every afternoon and what now has become an English tradition is the “Afternoon Tea Time” (precisely at 4:00 p.m.). They are still served daily with the traditional clotted cream topping in Britain. https://www.thequeenofscones.com/the-history-of-the-scone/

Cover-1.jpg

I found a recipe for a paleo version for scones made with almond flour. The recipe for the "Paleo Pecan Pie Scones" is from Bloglovin, https://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/jays-baking-me-crazy-13762215/paleo-pecan-pie-scones-6692731067

Paleo Pecan Pie Scones

Ingredients:
2 cups almond flour
2 tablespoons coconut flour
1/4 cup coconut sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 large egg
1/4 cup melted ghee
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 tablespoon blackstrap molasses
1/2 cup chopped raw pecans

Instructions:
Preheat the oven to 325° and line a sheet tray with parchment paper. Set aside.

Ingridients Scones-1.jpg

In a large bowl, combine almond flour, coconut flour, coconut sugar, baking soda, and salt. Stir and mix well.
Making scones-1.jpg

Add in the egg, ghee, maple syrup and molasses and mix until well combined. Stir in the pecans and mix until evenly distributed.
Making scones-2.jpg

Shape the dough into a ball and then press it into a 8 inch circle (you can do this on the sheet tray). Mine was pressed into an 9 inch circle before I knew it.
Making scones-3.jpg

Making scones-4.jpg

Try to get an even thickness throughout. Cut in half and then in half in thirds making 6 even triangles. As you can see my scones did not turn out even, but they were so good.
Making scones-5.jpg

Separate them and bake 18-20 minutes. They were too soft to separate, so I baked them as is.
Scones out of oven-1.jpg

For the glaze I found a "Maple Pecan Glaze" with ground up pecans right in the glaze. The recipe is from, Detoxinista, at
https://detoxinista.com/maple-pecan-glaze-dairy-free/

Maple Pecan Glaze (Dairy-free)
makes about 1 cup

Ingredients:

3/4 cup pecans
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
2 Tablespoons coconut oil
1/4 cup water
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Pinch of sea salt

Directions:

Combine all of the ingredients in a high-speed blender, and blend until smooth and creamy. I used my Nutri-Bullet to make the glaze.

Ingridients for glaze-1.jpg

glaze 2nd step-1.jpg

glaze finish-1.jpg

I decorated the scones with the glaze using a cake decorating kit.

Scones with glaze-1.jpg

As I was staging the scones to be photographed, I had to bite one just to see how they taste. They were amazing, with a little crunch like a cookie, slightly sweet, and full of pecan nuttiness.
Bite of-1.jpg

The "Red Hatter's" tea cup set and board with knife were gifts from my Red Hat sisters.
Cover4-1.jpg

Until next week, Bon Appetite!!!

Paleotwist Logo.jfif

fff winner belt.gif

Sort:  

@paleotwist
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 46
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
B5E5B35B-2DB2-40C2-BC1A-8750ECD4870D.gif
Good Luck

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Yes!!!!! I’m all about these scones. And detoxinista has awesome recipes! Dandays and I are about to be in London so I’m definitely partaking in the scone and tea tradition. Love that these are so healthy. You’re killing it @paleotwist. I’m sure your red hat sisters enjoyed it :)

Thank you @puravidaville. My Red Hat sisters are great. I even have some of them cooking paleo.

Beautiful dish.

Wow, it takes a lot of different ingredients to make this absolutely delicious looking quick bread. This entry is above my present cooking ability, so if you can please send me a large piece. UPS does make deliveries in my neck of the woods😁.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95