FOOD FIGHT FRIDAY|SHRIMP BAKE WITH CORN POTATOES SAUSAGE

in #fff6 years ago

Shrimp.jpg

It's Friday and the food fight is on. Thanks @fff for the opportunity to compete in this community, I am having so much fun.

I love Crab Boil that is cooked in a huge pot with crab boil seasoning and old bay seasoning, lemons, salt, crabs, andouille sausage, corn on the cob, fresh garlic, red potatoes, shrimp. and occasionally some chicken. My mouth was set for this taste, but I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand. I didn't have any crab, fresh garlic, red potatoes, or crab boil, so I had to work with what I had.

I had a small bag of shrimp and 4 andouille sausages in the freezer. I had a bag of russet potatoes and I had just shucked about 6 ears of corn the other day. I also had a jar of minced garlic and plenty of ghee. So I deiced to make a Shrimp Bake with sausage, corn, and potatoes.

My Sous chef peeled and chopped about 3 potatoes and I broke the ears of corn in half. I tried to cut them with a knife, but it did not work.

Shrimp2.jpg

Next, I sliced the sausages, thawed and rinsed the shrimp.

Shrimp4.jpg

I par boiled the potatoes and corn, which was a mistake, because the potatoes overcooked. Or maybe I should have put the corn in first for about 5 or 6 minutes, then added the potatoes.

Shrimp6.jpg

While the potatoes and corn were cooking, I prepared the sauce for the shrimp bake. I combined 1/2 cup of ghee, 2 tbls. of old bay seasoning, 2 tsps. of minced garlic, you can add some fresh lemon juice to the sauce if you like.

Shrimp5.jpg

I lined my baking sheet with non-stick aluminum foil and sprinkled some olive oil over the foil. Dumped everything, except the shrimp, into the pan then sprinkled some season all over everything. I like my food well seasoned and spicy. Then it was time for the sauce. I spread the sauce over everything and saved a little for the shrimp.

Shrimp7.jpg

I baked it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes. Removed the pan from the oven, added the shrimp, then returned pan to oven to continue baking until shrimp turned pink and everything else was done.

Shrimp8.jpg

Shrimp9.jpg

It is now time to eat. Bon Appetite!!!

Shrimp10.jpg

Paleotwist Logo.jfif

fff winner belt.gif

Sort:  

Good luck in Round 30 of
Food Fight Friday
May your contender survive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
9BB35F38-ADDF-49AF-8A24-C231F5464B66.gif
Don’t forget to head over HERE and cast your vote for @foodfightfriday so we can devour 20k delegation
Thank you

@foodfightfriday, I just nominated fff for the 20k delegation. Hope we win.

Congratulations @paleotwist! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Dangggggg!!!

I can see this in my future 🤤😜

Me too, @weirdheadaches, I had to freeze some. Thank you.

I might not eat sausage but I’ll eat the ish out of some shrimp. That bake looks fantastic. I don’t know why I’ve never thought to do this. I’m definitely doing a shrimp bake soon. Now, I need to find old bay seasoning in Costa Rica. I’ll keep my eyes peeled from here on out. I just found some jerk seasoning which is delicious. I love my food good and seasoned and spicy too. Great post @paleotwist. Happy food fight!

Thank you @puravidaville, the bake is simple and very tasty. My poor hubby only ate the corn and rest was mine. But I had to freeze the leftovers, it was just too much.

Haha… it looked like a feast. Right now, I’d have to substitute some corn for another veggies that I can eat but the whole thing just looked mouthwatering. It’s hard to find spices here but Old Bay is now on my radar. I just found some garam Marsala in a small organic restaurant so nothings out of the question. Haha. Another great post @paleotwist.

@puravidaville, thanks again. Happy hunting.

Hey @paleotwist, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in your reply to their post. Call me out!!

This one sparks several memories, chef. You had me at “andouille.” Firstly, thank you for continuing to hang out with us on Fridays, it’s always a pleasure to see you and your meals are nothing short of top shelf. <— see what I did there? ..nothing short, top shelf, anyhow! 😉

(This is gonna be a long one)

I’m a retired Journeyman Wireman of 22 years, over those decades, I worked between the east and west coast making new friends across the country. Some of my best friends are from Louisiana and Mississippi. Well, before I started hanging out with those guys, I didn’t know what alligator, blood sausage, crawdads, “andouille,” none of it tasted like. Well, let’s just say ya’all know how to eat and there wasn’t one time I didn’t thoroughly enjoy the food on my plate.

I see you’re from Georgia, that reminds me of another dandays fun fact:
First, I grew up in Los Angeles, I’ve ventured in and out of the streets/alleys of Watts, Inglewood, all of South Central LA at all times of the night—no problem! One of the few times I can ever remember feeling intimidated (actually intimidated) to where I told Pura Vida “stay in the car!” Was at a gas station in Columbia, Georgia one night around midnight. <— true story. Nothing happened, I ended up cutting off the gas at about a half tank, I wasn’t comfortable staying there any longer to fill it up, I cut it off, put the pump away and got the heck outta there! I stopped at that station to get coffee and gas, I left that station with a 1/2 tank and no coffee! Nope! I wasn’t going inside the station @paleotwist—no way!

Great contender, chef!

@dandays, thanks for this informative write-up. Yes I live in Georgia, was born in Texas, lived in California for most of my life. I use to live in Los Angeles, bought my first house in Inglewood, CA and my son and his family live in the house now.

I love Cajun and Creole food, I travel to New Orleans as much as possible. I love the spiciness and flavors of their cuisine. OMG, the beignets are absolutely marvelous. Wish I could find a healthy way to make them.

Well, you can cook for me anytime because I love that food too! Mud bug gumbo, goat cheese cake, fried alligator. I miss New Orleans. 😉

yaaayy... I would eat all baked corns first then the shrimp and the final is sausages (if I still have a room in my stomach).. YUmmmy @paleotwist!

Thanks @cicisaja, I like to get a bite of each food in my mouth so I get all the goodness in every bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62507.39
ETH 2451.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64