“Tun mi Han MeK Fashan”steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff4 years ago

Ahhm excuse me...8DD301EA-50F3-4DAC-AD24-EE704EB6290A.jpeg
Well I certainly hope not because I come in the name of food fighting- hands up!
Do you remember my salted fish last week? DCBEBC2D-2E8E-41D9-A938-2120036D11BF.jpeg
Well it went so well that we couldn’t eat it all - well most of it. Hence the title of this week’s meal is “Tun Yuh Han Mek Fashan .” This is a Jamaican expression which is similar in meaning to “If life gives you lemons , make lemonade.”
I decided to use my over salted fish to Ackee and Saltfish which so happens to be the National Dish of Jamaica 🇯🇲
For those who don’t know the ackee fruit was taken to Jamaica from West Africa many moons ago by slave traders as part of their cargo. 01DC736D-9EE2-4434-ADEE-EF5BA94C3F97.jpeg
^ when the ackee is in the above state - do not attempt to open it as it can be poisonous ☠️. The fruit must be allowed to open naturally. C13C81E3-4354-4E1D-AB2E-6603AEF92D54.jpeg
Like above - then you can remove fruit from the pod , remove the seeds and the pink strips inside the fruit. You can then boil it and cook with your favorite spices. The fruit in itself is quite bland so almost all Jamaicans spice it. I saw a young lady from the USA the other in a video eating it raw and like most Jamaicans watching the video I was horrified and worried for her safety.

Unfortunately, ackee doesn’t grow in Japan where I reside not any of the nearby islands. Fortunately I can order a can from irie876.com or if I’m lucky get a can from a kind friend or family member. 400F112C-1D2B-4939-95DF-C5D051A256D9.jpeg
So with my can of ackee and friends I got down to business.

  1. I had to debone that over salted fish 2B921A5A-3D49-4750-97A3-8AEDE1495802.jpeg

  2. Then I cut up an onion , a few pegs of garlic ( if you like tomatoes 🍅 go ahead) 0760E1A8-8F8A-4956-AE7F-89D3EF464D02.jpeg
    I like colorful meals so I added green peppers and paprika.

  3. Cut open the can of ackee and strain excess liquid. 7C89D9A3-DE8F-4323-A40B-13F5ED80FAA6.jpeg
    91356523-2646-48BF-9AEB-A193156B805D.jpeg

  4. Now put on a frying pan - add a bit of oil, let it get get nice and hot then add Veges first or fish first depending on how crispy you want the fish to be. 723EAD4C-BA3D-4E48-B14A-B67C81D6D125.jpeg
    I went veges first this time around
    246D6DE3-9992-44FB-9656-BECC2638F267.jpeg
    Added the fish later (for my vegetarian version I skip the fish and use potatoes and carrots cut lengthwise) EE22BE0D-28FE-4AAA-9DA9-F6249BC31BAE.jpeg
    Next - add your ackee and gently stir. 66C568CC-11C1-4F59-A457-E374142A0215.jpeg
    After that add what you need to bring to your required taste. I used dried scotch bonnet pepper , thyme, black pepper, magic salt and some other Italian herbs because I like to dash it in like that. 45E0DEE5-95DC-4EA0-9F5E-124089792137.jpeg
    Finally, I packed my lunch for the day. F9BA358C-70E4-4C3C-8D72-56203991FC0A.jpeg
    In view of my barrel like figure I opted for string beans and broccoli. 69DD827A-5291-40E0-B105-F39347437EFA.jpeg
    B3AEB207-CB31-4C96-B496-A4E0AF10A9AC.jpeg
    My retractable lunch box was ready to go. D8000627-99A1-4894-B951-5E91B06EDE92.jpeg
    Later that day when the damage was done! I turned a not so desireable thing into a wonderful meal. In life we “Haffi tun we Han and mek fashion.” If you are going through something unpleasant as long as you have breath flowing through you , you can turn that bad thing into something good. Until next time - peace and love.
    Another #indeliblevibration
    Works cited
    ackeeonthetree

safetoprepare


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded
Sort:  

Congratulations @missaj! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 500 replies. Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

The ackee fruit looks so different than any other fruit found here in the states. Waste not want not, is a favorite expression of mine. Left overs are never a problem at our place, as most left over items never last more than a day.

It certainly doesn’t grow in the States but can be found in areas like Miami where there is a large Jamaican community. It can be found in cans - minor preparation and ready to eat.

@missaj. This is exactly what #fff is all about, I’m really glad you found @foodfightfriday, you’re a perfect addition to this mess—thank you for throwing down!

I really appreciate the history, and thank you for sharing this recipe. How long have you been in Japan? That’s so exciting. My wife and I are from California and are currently in Greece. What’s it like being Jamaican in Japan? Are the locals accepting, everyone cool? What took you there? Do you think I’m asking too many question? Ok then, one more—do you speak Japanese?

Great contender, chef! 👍🏿 Thanks for throwing down @missaj.

LoL I’ve been here over 10 years so I guess I like it here lol. My original plan was to stay only one year but alas I’m still plowing through the years. People have become more accepting or tolerant of foreigners as the case might be. I’ve had no real troubles. I can handle myself well enough in the language -if I didn’t have to use English everyday I’d be brilliant I imagine.

What an incredible adventure, isn’t it? This thing they call life. Good for you dude, I love it when I hear about people living—that’s what it’s all about.

When my wife or myself gets asked “what are you doing here? Where are you going next? Why?” I’m sure you’ve heard the question. Our response is “we’re just living.”

Pleasure to be met, @missaj.

I’ll borrow that “I’m just living.”

Hello, @missaj, wonderful looking meal. We try never to waste food, I use the leftovers for lunch the next day usually with a slight twist. So, great idea to use the left over fish in with all those colorful, healthy veggies.
You sound like a very interesting guy. Nice to have you on board #fff.
Peace to you as well.

Thank you @farm-mom. Waste of good food is not something I like to see at all.

Yes man, I glad that fish turn up again this week ina di ackee & saltfish. Yo ackee for lunch? you nuh easy lol. A di best life. I should really cook up something this weekend.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Yes man ! Lunch is my favorite time a di work day- food haffi tun up. Taste darn good too - who needs to buy saltfish if it can’t be found easily?

Mi need fi do better, a guh eat some nabe yah now at some perks yaaaad. Curry chicken haffi run tomorrow.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Quite so but a JLPT mi ago choke pon tomorrow. LoL

@missaj
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 71
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
08F6D3C4-2E31-4DE3-821B-8E24317A2F51.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

We play to survive 🕺🏿and grant food comas all over the world 😀🥳

Looks delicious @missaj! Happy food fight :)

Thank you - I’m expecting a lot of people to throw in their thanksgiving pics. Should be a beautiful fight.

Indeed it should. Haha

I once took ackee seeds from JA to Cambodia in an effort to introduce it to the country. Everything was going well, seeds were sprouting, and I had to leave town for a week on a business trip. I trusted a friend to watch the ackee seedlings for me while out of town, and came back to a bunch of dead sadness. Here in Suriname ackee can't be found either, and yet we are so close to JA.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Man that is sad- Cambodia and Suriname have the kind of weather that ackee would totally thrive in. Give it another try man.

Looks Amazing!

“Tun Yuh Han Mek Fashan .”

Thank you 🙏 sometimes I try.

That’s interesting about the Ackee being poisonous until is opens.

Delicious but dangerous.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81