Something NewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff4 years ago

80662BE2-42D2-4461-A830-0D45CBE7792C.jpeg

Well Hello 👋 there foodies!
Have you seen my brown table ? If it could talk, it would tell tales of mostly wonders but also of the odd disaster.
Somehow it has become the routine that I cook for special occasions such as birthdays and Christmas at my house. It could yet be an elaborate plan by the lady of the house to get me to spend rather than my culinary skills 😀But umm back on track.
So another birthday rolled around and I dug into my head for recipes and into my wallet for money. It wasn’t too hard this time to find the recipe as I had gotten a request for jerk chicken ( if you don’t know - it is Jamaican spicy chicken done on a bbq grill). My pocket was weak so I couldn’t order some busha jerk or walkerswood sauce from @irie876.com this time . so I had to make do with the little left over sauce from my last purchase in the fridge combined with powdered seasons and dry herbs. Thankfully I didn’t buy anymore because , Let Me Tell You : It Was Spicy 🌶 as (fill simile here)! I had to add some sugar and a little whiskey to the sauce. Sugar would suffice but rum, beer or whiskey 🥃 enhances the taste. DA5D1830-B76B-4DC4-8B85-DDD1CA8F0C69.jpeg
the new challenge for me was to recreate a Japanese dish I saw on IG called “ShioGama Yaki” in other words salty grilled/baked fish
E8953DB7-C7BA-4C60-A840-3A5870FC426F.jpeg

Chef 👨🏾‍🍳 J (alto ego on steroids) went to the fish market but couldn’t find a big sea bream so he chose a couple smaller fish. After all two halves make a whole right ? (We shall see).
Before The Storm
044F837F-233E-49F6-94C8-FC2FBB485728.jpeg
Light winds: 6220D9B6-11DC-41A4-B59C-01251123EEAA.jpeg

So the **recipe**** goes like this :
One big sea bream
Egg white / flour and 1 kg salt
Method
Stuff fish with your favorite veggies and herbs ) break two eggs and drop the white in a bowl (beat to perfection)
Add a couple table spoons of flour
Add beaten egg white to flour and one kilogram of salt. Yes! Don’t make me repeat myself - they said 1 kilogram -(don’t do likewise)

Cover the stuffed fish with your mixture and add fancy fish design if you are so inclined and bake for 40-50 minutes. Voila and Bobs your uncle. I made a sauce I found online comprising orange (squeezed, ) a tea spoon of olive oil , a tups of vinegar and any of your preferred herbs and spices. A218B2BE-21F1-42D6-B576-466F2744E74B.jpeg

The fish was good but it was tooooo salty. Did I fail ? Absolutely not ! I learned it’s better to do this dish with a much bigger fish and probably not cover the whole fish in salt. Anyway - I had no salted fish to make my next ackee and saltfish so I discovered how to make my own which I will be using with my ackee very soon. All in all it was a good gathering completed with drinks, games and laughter! EE7B960B-3BAA-4805-84B3-8B628C66ABC8.jpeg
The majority of what was placed on the table. I didn’t want to reinforce the idea of my love for food so I worked from something small and had a couple servings of rice and peas. B10402B9-88F1-49B6-BD98-BFFDB4DD3DAA.jpeg
Time to start thinking 🤔 about that Christmas dinner- wonder what I’ll come up with? Stay tuned until another #indeliblevibration 788FBACC-3555-4344-80F0-FB0EB519FF29.jpeg

Works cited
pinterest

pixstock


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded
Sort:  

Your too much.
Great post. Yum. 😋
What time is dinner.
s-irie

Dinner is at anytime the food is ready good sir.

Hello, baked fish, yummy.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Good food right! Thanks for dropping in.

Lol, you really go dash the 1 kg of salt ? Lol yuh sure a nuh 2 gram ? 🤣🤣 well the saltfish recipe has been discovered

Posted using Partiko iOS

Serious! Check the recipe - same suh but it can work inna di ackee next time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

mmm, after reading this post, I know what I'm gonna make tomorrow, fish!


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Can’t go wrong CAt!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice post, food looks good.

Thank you 🙏


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Now that is a feast fit for Royalty!! I don't mind a little spice here and there but when it is so hot that I can't the food... I'm out!! Sound like you lucked out and had just the right amount. I love it when that happens. "I think I have enough..."
A big Thanks for bringing these few recipes to the Food Fight Friday Arena, they look so delicious.
Cheers

Thanks for dropping in- stay for the food ; it wasn’t all spicy.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Dooood! What a great way to make an #fff entry—welcome to the kitchen! I logically thought that was bread stuffed fish.

iheart fish and chips—“guilty!” And now I know I never even had them properly. Really creative to do that calm before the storm stuff, too. Great contender, chef! Good luck in round 70.

Thank you for vote of confidence- I love food and I love sharing it with others.

You’re very welcome. Please don’t forget visit the contender post and cast your vote for your favorite entry.

Wow @missaj, this is something I've always wanted to make but never got around to! What a grand entrance into the #fff arena, good luck!

You should really try it- it’s easy but remember those tips I left and you’ll be a ok. Thanks for the welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76