You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grandpa Gotta Cook—Salad Buffet

in #fff6 years ago

Your son and his wife remind me of my son when he was very young and didn't like any vegetables, except corn. He would always be so proud of himself (I age my veggies mom) because he'd lick the salt and butter off of it and not touch the actual corn kernels, and call it 'eating his veggies' :)

Sort:  

Well, I'm hoping they're not going to end up passing this on to their daughter, or that she will somehow manage to acquire a taste for more than just bread and meat. It's not a good thing to fall into when you're older, let alone from an early age.

I know palates change over time. Mine has, but I ended up with all kinds of fruits and vegetables because my mother would include them in meals and we just didn't get to eat anything else if we didn't like it.

We'll see. They're both the youngest of their families raising a firstborn child. I think they do pretty well, actually. It's just a little tough sometimes to watch it all unfold. :)

It's just a little tough sometimes to watch it all unfold. :)

I'm sure it is!! The one thing I really appreciated from my mother-in-law was that she never said anything unless I asked for help. They lived very close to us, and I saw them almost daily. She'd raised six kids, so I knew that she knew better on so many things, and probably bit her tongue off at times, but she never said a peep.

That sounds like a great mother-in-law. I'm not sure my wife is living up to the holding her tongue part. She is a Mexican grandma after all, and they seem to be wired differently. I don't think my mother has said that much to my wife, either, but that could also be that we didn't see each other that often (we lived in Southern California to begin with while they were still up here in Oregon), and then when we did move up, we were far enough away that those opportunities to say things weren't readily available.

From what I've been able to observe, there is more than one way to go about things, and whether or not most of those are measurably different in results, who knows. There's obviously right and wrong ways, but setting and establishing a routine for children that is regular and consistent seems to be most important, whether I agree with or like the methods or not.

Mexican grandmothers are not wired for that, unless of course their jaws are literally wired haha

but setting and establishing a routine for children that is regular and consistent seems to be most important, whether I agree with or like the methods or not.

I think that's it in a nutshell, and probably works the same for adults too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62468.23
ETH 2442.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61