Food Fight Friday - Speedy Food Flight FeastssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff4 years ago (edited)

Dizzy Lizzy is my other name as I still have not learnt to manage my time efficiently as my head's often in the clouds when I do the things I really enjoy doing, and before I know it, supper time's looming AND hubby who is a type 1 diabetic needs to eat; regular meal times being vitally important for someone who is on insulin!
But, I've learnt to throw together a meal in no time and by that I don't mean opening a couple of cans, no!
It really is possible to prepare delicious meals from scratch with just a couple of pantry staples and fresh ingredients at the speed of lightning!

So I think you've noticed by now that I post many many food photographs and that is all because of Steemit!
Hubby never tucks into anything before asking if I've taken my photos yet!
So on this occasion dinner had to be served in just over an hour; I was going to make a delicious herb stuffing for a slow roast chicken but of course had to resort to drastic measures as time once again ran away with me!
I quickly spatchcocked the chicken, lathered it in lemon juice and herbs with a rustic garlic seasoning, tucked lemon pieces under the wings and drumsticks and popped it into a very hot fan oven.
It was a tad charred on the outside, which we enjoy by the way, but still juicy inside.
spatchcock chicken.png
Next on the scene were the potatoes - washed & sliced, covered in a mixture of melted butter and white onion soup powder and popped into the oven alongside the chicken.
Served with steamed garden veggies this was a more than satisfying meal!


Mom Lily at the age of 88 still is the Sergeant Major around our home, in charge of filling the cookie jars even though she hardly touches the cookies!
Healthy crunchy Peanut Butter & Oat Cookies are her favourites although I have to do the mixing nowadays as Mom's balance really is deteriorating - she's living with a large benign brain tumour called an Acoustic Neuroma which affects her balance and hearing.
This photo was taken last year when she could still do the mixing and making.
She now supervises, so still feels like she's baking!
IMG_20180216_094135-1560x2080.jpg
My batch of crunchy Peanut Butter Oat cookies made under the steely eyes of Mom Lily!
20191119_130809.jpg


I know Acoustic anything sounds like I'm talking about music, and what hit us about two weeks ago here at Lily's Cottage?
None other than one of our country's most explosive drummers and his new dirt rock cover band Speed Wagon.
We offered them a small sponsorship in the form of accommodation when they came to do a gig here in Durban.
Needless to say I was a tad worried that they'd make some noise here in our tranquil little haven, but it was an absolute pleasure hosting them; they were utter gentlemen!
Speed wagon.png

Our tranquil and amazingly green valley basking in the hot sun today.
20191129_073201.jpg

The monkeys were out to play and teased us today again as they got stuck into the Papayas which we don't mind as there's plenty for all of us, but they've discovered the Peas and Cherry Tomatoes as well, so we really have to get that monkey-proofing done soon!
20191126_152732.jpg


Thinking about it, Speed Wagon is quite an apt name to be included in this post as it's all about speedy meals this Friday.

Chicken pie.png
Something you can all throw together with the leftover turkey or chicken is a delicious Turkey or Chicken Pie, even just a Veggie Pie for that matter!
Simply add shallots and whatever veggies you have to your leftovers - I usually add Mushrooms or Asparagus, add a runny pie topping, absolutely yum!


So that's my offering tonight for this week's Food Fight Friday overseen by our judges Mr RockballInSpaceInConciousness @idig, Mr Splatz Linetrash @jlsplatts and dear Mr @dandays, who also is a hot-shot Champion Fighter if you didn't know that already; hope you've all enjoyed the speedy meals!

A massive thank you goes out to @appreciator who has ignited our weekly #fff with a generous sponsorship, much appreciated by all our contenders I'm sure!

Happy thanksgiving.png

Happy Thanksgiving to all my American friends today
I hope you've all having a Friendly Food Fight Family Friday Night,
No boxing gloves tonight hey, just a friendly banter?
Enjoy the celebrations my friends!



STEEMSA logo.png

Connecting the people of #STEEM across South Africa. #steemsa

JOIN US HERE

Qurator lizelle.png

Original Content by @lizelle

Thank you for stopping by

Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved

SteemEngine.gif
I refuse to say goodbye forever to @thesteemengine,
hope to see you at The Whistle Stop again one of these fine days.

Sort:  

@lizelle
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 71
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
08F6D3C4-2E31-4DE3-821B-8E24317A2F51.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

This post was curated by @steemsouthafrica
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN US ON DISCORD (South Africans Only)
JOIN US ON TWITTER
JOIN US ON FACEBOOK

STEEMSA logo.png

Proudly associated with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN THE POWER HOUSE CREATIVES HERE

Thank you @steemsouthafrica, really appreciate your support!

Do you have any enemies? I mean, be real with me, is there anyone who doesn’t like you? You’re
Definitely the sweetest Lily I’ve never met!

Mom-Lily—only thing that would’ve been cooler about that name is if I would’ve thought of it myself.

When we were in Central America, we spotted a tour bus on the side of the road so we stopped to see what was going on. There was 3 white face monkeys in the tree next to the road. I have a picture actually, one had crawled on Puras shoulder and, as I snapped the picture, it simultaneously jumped off her shoulder, put both of its palms on my head to use me as leverage and launched itself back onto the tree—I have the monkey airborn, her glasses are nearly knocked off and she’s making a horrible face so I was sworn to never show anyone!! Danget! So, this is the edited version:
3F404A9E-3313-45D1-9367-0F44B1D74EF5.jpeg

Your husbands lucky to have you, @lizelle, I’m pretty sure Birds’ husband is Jim, not yours, but if he is Jim, just change that sentence to “Jim is lucky to have you, @lizelle.”

Thanks for continuing to stop by #fff, it wouldn’t be the same without you. Enjoy the rest of your weekend, Lily! Good luck in round 71.

Ahhh you're way too sweet mr Dandays!
Gosh that was quite an experience, thanks for sharing the edited pic, that monkey looks huge, you must both have gotten such a fright!
Mom is the Lily, I'm really @lizelle; apparently my paternal grandpa was totally disgusted that I wasn't given a family name like Augusta; imagine if they called me that, sounds so harsh! (My gran was from German descent.)
There's a little story attached to Lily's Pantry, will share it one of the fine Fridays I think.
AND....Mr Dandays... you've been too generous, I saw some Steem added to my wallet by none other than yourself, thank you so very much!
Pura is a very lucky lady!

A yummylicious entry, good luck for the contest.

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

Thank you so very much @appreciator, you're awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi not so Dizzy Lizzy, guess what, I have bookmarked this post for those potatoes.
Combined with the chicken it looks like a feast.
Blessings!

Thanks my friend, those potatoes are really delicious. If you're not in a hurry you can also keep the potato whole, make slits but not all the way through and drizzle the butter soup mix over, just has to bake longer.20191013_130656.jpg

Ah! I refer the sliced option Lady Lizelle and you are right, as they certainly are delicious!
Blessings!

Now I'm Dizzy, Lizzie! Hehehe!

LOL, sorry my friend, gota head over to your page and check out your Friday mess;);)

Well I'm not one bit surprised at your speedy genius masterpieces @lizelle :) No way dizzy Lizzy, not true. Those cookies and baked dinner pie look amazing. Watch out for those crazy monkeys, your garden will be gone in no time, yikes! Great food fight at Lillys Cottage tonight! Cheers my friend

Ah you're so kind my friend, but us old kitchen hands know how to throw together a speedy meal not so! Hope you had a great Thanksgiving:)

Happy holidays @lizelle. Can we get a few of those peanut butter cookies over here please? And maybe a slice of that veggie pie? Everything looks so good. Enjoy your family and all of that food!!

I think you'd love those crunchy cookies, would love to send some your way;)
Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments!

Posted using Partiko Android

Cookie anything and I’m in. Haha… I’m sure they were extra good with mamas keen eye on the creation process😉

Hi @lizelle, or should I say 'Dizzy Lizzy"😉
What a beautiful piece of heaven you have there, the cottage is so warm and inviting. Love those pesky monkeys, we don't see that kind of animal activity here in USA, I would love to sit a just watch them.
You can sure whip up a yummy meal quickly, nice job.
Love your mom, she may be tiny, but I bet she was great cook.
88 y/o God bless her.

Oh she was, could weave magic and make a feast fit for a king with next to nothing! Those monkeys are such fun to watch, we never tire of looking at their antics, but they certainly are naughty!
I've heard from a certain someone that @farm-mom also whips up magical meals in a flash;);)
Thank you so very much for your lovely comments, you and hubby are such amazing and genuine people, very blessed to have each other!



Hey @lizelle, here is a little bit of BEER from @foodfightfriday for you. Enjoy it!

Join [Steem Power Up Day] (https://steampeak.com/spud/@beerlover/the-1st-beer-power-up-day) at the 1. of December and power up BEER

Thank you:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90