~FFF~ Splatts Thanksgiving Snack ~ Apple Brined Turkey & Blackberry Cobbler Test Recipe ~FoodFightFriday

in #fff4 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

That looks incredible.

OMG @jlsplatts, you are the real deal, your wife must really love you when you take over the kitchen. I have never done the turkey in a brine, but yours sounds so good I may have to give it a whirl. Love the fresh apple juice base. We juice everyday, have for years and all my kids do the same. Great way to get vitamins into our system.
Have a wonderful week.

I am like a tornado when I hit the kitchen.... get outta my way!!! HAHAHAHA. Seriously, if you want a juicy turkey always brine. Even with whole chickens. You will be amazed at the difference.

How about this... next time you all have a big get together, get 2 “smaller” turkeys. Brine one over night and don’t brine the other. Cook them the same and see which one is better.

Oh man, beer butt chicken!!! I need to make some of that action!!

I have been trying to get my parents on the juice train but dang!!! I just can’t get them to buy a dang ticket!!! One day I will get them aboard. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

@jlsplatts
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 71
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
08F6D3C4-2E31-4DE3-821B-8E24317A2F51.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

After 3 days - 22 hours - 13 minutes and 43 seconds, I'm happy it tasted better then you thought. The egg floating in the salt water, now that's is a nifty little trick.
For Christmas you may want Santa to bring you some elbow pads and some other protective gear if you plan on jumping on that scooter again.

LOL when I saw that last picture @jlsplatts

Ya no joke! To think my son wants me to get a "pro" scooter so I can join him... I have been know to do dumber things than that so I guess time will tell. LOL Maybe I will just get some used hockey goalie gear. That should keep me from getting hurt lol

Make sure to wear a helmet! 👌

Sooooo much food!! Yay to apples, what’s up to that cobbler and can I get a woohoo for those cookies. God dang, undo your belt buckles at the splatts abode. Happy T day splatts fam.

We did get an apple pie from the in-laws also. Apples everywhere!!! I must have fell asleep about 1 hour after eating. HAHAHAHA Daddy Splatts… out for the night. Leftovers... someone say leftovers!?!?!?!

I can’t wait to eat apple and pumpkin pies again. Sooooo delish!!

Dude. Ok, ima start by saying thank you for that vote of confidence in the beginning, I really appreciate that man—I’m glad you think so. You’ve always been cool to me @jlsplatts. THANK YOU <- bigger than that.

But I really suck at lying so I’m not gonna try to perfect those skills now—bro, I skimmed your contender, “guilty.” You see, there’s like 12 or 13 contenders again and our plane leaves to Israel tomorrow and, well, what I’m trying to say is, I don’t think I’d make the plane if I actually read this lengthy novel and made my rounds to each of the other contenders considering I also suck at leaving short responses.

Thanks for helping this food fight party run smoothly, I think it’s safe to say it’s a lot of people’s favorite post of the week. And nobody really cares about anyone who doesn’t think that anyway. I should do it again, huh? Should I? Yeah... just in case, hold up.

#satire <- there it is.

Then I saw the picture of your boy. On behalf of him, I’d like to tell you to move because it just looks way too cold and on behalf of your family—they’re lucky to have you, @jlsplatts. Happy Thanksgiving my brother.

Him and I were out this morning in the snow pulling parts off the parts truck to sell. He whined a little about fingers being cold but he worked through it. ;)

I am hopefully going to make my way through the food fight arena and check out everyone's contenders... We can only do our best right?



Hey @jlsplatts, here is a little bit of BEER from @foodfightfriday for you. Enjoy it!

Join [Steem Power Up Day] (https://steampeak.com/spud/@beerlover/the-1st-beer-power-up-day) at the 1. of December and power up BEER

Congratulations @jlsplatts! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 81000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 82000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I’ve always loved chicken but I think I’m gonna give them turkey a try this Christmas. That’s the big thanksgiving meal for almost all Jamaicans.

You can brine a chicken the same way. Brining is a great way to keep the meat from getting dry. Prepare your salt water like stated above and while it is warm add your favorite spices and herbs. All those flavors will be added into the meat you are brining. I really like to do it for a whole 24hrs but sometimes it doesn't work out. Make sure while bringing you keep it cold. So find someway to refridgerate, it is cold enough here where I can just set it out in my garage... I am such a cheater LOL

Thanks for the tips - I’ll let you know how it goes.

I’ve always loved chicken but I think I’m gonna give them turkey a try this Christmas. That’s the big thanksgiving meal for almost all Jamaicans.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92