Thanksgiving! The Food is Good! But the Company is the BEST! ~ #fffsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff4 years ago

IMG_6285.jpg

What is it that you look forward to the most at Thanksgiving? Most people would say the food! Turkey, mashed po-taters & gravy, cranberry sauce, stuffing, home made bread rolls, roasted veggies, wine, beer, whiskey, wait...those last three aren't technically food, but they go with the food too well to be left out. It's like having a roll without butter, ya just don't do it.

As much as I like a hearty and delicious Thanksgiving meal, I much more look forward seeing my family. My brothers, my sister and her boyfriend, my mom and her husband, my sister-in-law, my in-laws, and all the friends that we get to meet up with. It just doesn't happen all that often anymore. Back in the day, sans a wife and kids, I'd get to see anyone I wanted on a whims notice. Now it feels like it takes 3 months of planning just to get together for an hour or two. So as much as I enjoyed the food that nourished my belly, I tried to soak in as much laughter and smiles that came along with spending time with those that I love the most.

So with all of that gushy mumbo-jumbo out of the way, here is the feast de'resistance...

I was in charge of half the mashed potatoes....half you say??? Well we had one style that was vegan for that crowd, and one with real butter, milk, all that stuff that vegans don't eat. I used russet potatoes.

IMG_6278.jpg

I was also in charge of the gravy. I had never made it before, but no one else knew how so I did a quick search on YT and went for it. It was pretty good, not the best I've ever had, but for my first time I wasn't complaining.

IMG_6281.jpg

I didn't even get the obligatory Turkey picture, but I figured there would be enough of them this week to go around...

After I finished my meal..

IMG_6287.jpg

I got to enjoy some delectable pumpkin pecan pie....yum yum drool drool.

IMG_6283.jpg

But as I said, it was really about friends and family.

IMG_6320.jpg

79107252_10216710644819807_711658123688935424_n.jpg

78996578_10216710644539800_51568169084518400_n.jpg

It was a wonderful 2 nights with family. I hope you all were able to enjoy as much family time as I did...and eat til' your hearts content. Happy #fff y'all, Happy Thanksgiving!

Sort:  

Good day @intothewild. Loved the pictures of your family. Thanksgiving may center around food, a beautiful table setting, beer, wine and whiskey😜.
But it really is about family, friends and those we love.
So nice to have an extended visit, not just that one giant meal. That's the only way we do it now since we retired to our Upstate NY farm. It's a 2 or 3 hour drive for my kids and grandkids to visit, so every year my daughter and three sons take an extra day off, and camp out with us for a long weekend. It's great, lots of love and laughter and a chance to have real quality time together.
It's total mayhem, just the way I like it.😀🤦‍♀️💕

Gahhh!!! Just had a huge response and it disappeared!!! Busy has been a pain in butt lately!! Long story short, glad to hear you got to spend some quality time with your loved ones, @farm-mom.

Hello there @intothewild, I hate when that happens.
Right back at ya with "quality time with loved ones". Life seems to speed by, so never miss a chance to hug them and say "I love you". 😍

There is no better way to sit down for a meal, then with family and friends. You'll look so happy.

Replying now on steemit because busy is misbehaving! You're right @thebigsweed! Forget everything else, family and friends, enough said.

That sounds delicious. Pimp.

"but for my first time I wasn't complaining."

Happy thanksgiving @intothewild. You have a beautiful family! Enjoy the rest of your weekend, sir.

Ah, thanks man! Hope you had a good one too, and have a great week yourself!

Ah, thanks man! Hope you
Had a good one too, and have
A great week yourself!

                 - intothewild


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Family, good company and great food for the win.

@intothewild
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 71
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
08F6D3C4-2E31-4DE3-821B-8E24317A2F51.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER



Hey @intothewild, here is a little bit of BEER from @foodfightfriday for you. Enjoy it!

Join [Steem Power Up Day] (https://steampeak.com/spud/@beerlover/the-1st-beer-power-up-day) at the 1. of December and power up BEER

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79