Grandpa Gotta Cook—Mexican Casserole

in #fff5 years ago

Have you ever had deja vu all over again?

On this week's edition of Grandpa Gotta Cook, we'll explore that strange feeling you get that you've done something before, but for the life of you, you can't figure out when.

[Cue theme music].

IMG_2251.JPG

You cook long enough, things start to blend together, and it's possible to think you've already cooked something and potentially written about it for Food Fight Friday. Or, at least that's what's happening to me as I write this post. I think I know why. I'll share that little mystery tidbit in a moment.

Lately, I haven't been cooking on Saturdays, but this past Sunday it actually fell upon me to get a meal prepared, so I went back to the handy dandy crockpot to come up with the meal. The main objective was to use the ingredients that were already available at home, since I would only have a short window of opportunity to get it prepared because my wife and I would be gone for a few hours while it was cooking.

After looking through different recipes, I decided on one that met the ingredient requirements that I hoped everyone would like. The name of the dish? Mexican Casserole.

As you can see, the ingredients list called for onion, bell pepper, chili powder, diced tomato, tomato sauce, kidney beans, taco seasoning, and not pictured: ground beef, rice and grated cheddar cheese.

I'll just note here that calling this Mexican Casserole isn't quite what I would have called it. In 32 years of being around or married into the culture, I've not once seen anything resembling this. Ground beef is not a regular staple, and while it does have rice and beans, bell peppers are regional, tomato sauce isn't really used, and taco seasoning would be a salsa.

Just sayin'.

IMG_2252.JPG

As with the other crockpot ground beef meals, the meat gets browned up first in a pan, then everything except for the rice and cheese goes in. The recipe was for cooking on low for 4-6 hours. For us, it would be the four hours. At the end of that, instant rice was supposed to go in and cook for 30 minutes. We didn't have instant rice, so my son graciously accepted the duty of cooking the regular rice in a rice cooker (since that's what he knows and does best). The rice would be added to the rest of the ingredients, stirred in, and voila, Mexican Casserole.

Only, without the Mexican.

Back To The Deja Vu

I made a Chicken Burrito Casserole a while back that also had rice, so that's what I was remembering when I made this. The flavor of the rice came out more or the less the same this time as then. I think I commented that it tasted more like Spanish rice from my school lunch days than it did Mexican rice my wife makes. Same held true this time around, even though the taco seasoning has a different flavor.

Taste Test

It was very good. Everyone liked it, including my wife, who told me I needed to make it again. When she says that, it means it's a winner, and then I have to convince her that making it two nights in a row isn't a good thing. Thankfully, there was plenty of leftovers for her to take for her lunch and get her fill.

I think if I would change anything, it would be the proportions. Rice seemed to dominate, while the meat and beans kind of disappeared. I'd probably double them or halve the rice. Something like that, so that there's a more even distribution of meat, beans and rice.

Overall, though, a very tasty meal, and one I will keep for another round.

And somehow avoid deja vu. And maybe call it Southwest Casserole. Or something.

Images courtesy of Glen Anthony Albrethsen

This Grandpa Gotta Cook post is published in conjunction with Food Fight Friday, a weekly contest for food lovers on STEEM. If you would like to participate, all you gotta do is write about food, post it on Friday (your time), use the #fff tag, and then go and read other entries. You'll probably want to vote on your favorite later, since participants choose the winner. SBI shares is the weekly prize.

Sort:  

Looking good there Grandpa, I've said it before and I'll say it again, love using the crockpot. It seems you can toss it all in, then set it and forget it. Allows you to do other things while the pot is a brewin'. Nice to see you in the kitchen flingin' the beans and rice around.

Hey, @farm-mom.

It's been intermittent, but it is nice to do the tossing and the flinging once in a while. :)

Thanks for the kind words. Yes, the crockpot is fast becoming my favorite way to cook. I really should have picked it up sooner. :)

@glenalbrethsen
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 54
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
03F862FB-864B-4085-BC57-4297B65CA946.gif
Good Luck

Being a California native, there’s two things that can’t be beat anywhere in the world when in comes to California—Mexican food and weed.

I agree, the steamed rice and tomato sauce make it seem a little more like a Spanish dish and a little less Mexican.

Nice to see you again @glenalbrethsen.

Hey, @dandays.

Nice to be seen. :)

I'll take you're word for it with the marijuana. I do know about the Mexican Food in California though, and I agree. While it's not quite what you get if you had relatives to visit in Mexico, it comes much closer to it than what we can get up here in Oregon, even with the rising Hispanic population. I guess if I lived in a larger urban area, that might change a little, but I don't want to live in a larger urban area. Otherwise, we might still be in California. :)

And living prices too—also tough to beat. Property taxes, vehicle registration, luxury tax, grocery items, sales tax—California is cream of the crop!

Well, that's a prime reason why we don't live there anymore. Unfortunately, Oregon's state government so desperately wants to follow California in every possible. So far we've managed to stave off the sales tax for decades, but eventually, they'll have that too. They can get a straw ban passed, and basically take the plastic bag ban state wide, it's only a matter of time they get the rest of what they want.

Yup! That looks like a winner you have got there. 👍 😊

Yeah. Pretty simple to make, ingredients that most were willing to eat if not enjoy, and a pretty short cooking time, which I guess could have been even shorter by putting things on high. So, maybe even two hours instead of four.

They will appreciate it more if you tell them it took four hours to cook. 😊

Oooh, that looks good! If I hadn't just filled up on Thai food, I'd be seriously planning a drive to your place. :D

Hey, @themanwithnoname.

Well, you're welcome to make the drive anytime, except this particular meal is long gone, along with about six days worth of other meals. :) I'm usually a week behind as far as when I actually cooked to when I post about it.

I'm sure your imagination could be put to work and you could just make the drive and then savor how it tasted and how great the company was. :)

The company still sounds good. That's a ways to go tonight though. Maybe one of these days. In the meantime, enjoy being full with whatever you made tonight. Next week we'll find out what it was!

Probably not, so I'll just tell you. My wife made baked potatoes with the choices of sour cream, bacon bits, cheese, onions and cilantro. :)

Tomorrow I'm grilling some pre-seasoned pre-packaged ribs, which I think I've already written about. I'll have to check. If not, that might make it for next week. :)

Both of those sound good! I guess that's what happens when it's been more than 30 minutes from dinner. Ha ha. Thanks for the inside scoop (of sour cream) on the dinner happenings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82