Traditional & Notta B, What I Mean By That is, #fff #58

in #fff5 years ago (edited)

This is one of those articles where I thought of the title first. What I mean by that is, throughout this contender, I’ll be attracted to the title and have a tough time veering away from it like a flying thing and an ultraviolet lamp—dZzZ!

Traditional. What I mean by that is, ingredients, some progress pictures, a recipe, actual measurements and maybe even a temperature setting, stuff like that.

Notta B. What I mean by that is, silverware placement. Don’t leave your glasses on your head for this one if you know what eye mean @thebigsweed @jlsplatts. Happy @foodfightfriday ya buncha fiddy percenters!

Brazilian Black Bean Stew, Cornpea Succotash, and Notta B., what I mean by that is, Notta B. Forcwit.

8779EAAD-A800-42C9-ACD1-408FDC07868C.jpeg

Brazilian Black Bean Stew:

• 1 can - Black beans.
• 1/2 - Yellow onion.
• 3 stocks - Green onion.
• 2 - Red bell peppers.
• 3 small - Sweet potatoes.
• 1/4 cup - Corn.
• 1 can - Chopped tomatoes.
• 3 cloves - Garlic.
• 1 whole - Mango.
• Spinach.

Rinse the canned beans real good in a strainer. Chop the onion, bell peppers, and garlic. Cut the mango and sweet potato into cubes. There’s a trick Pura does by cutting the inside of the mango into cubes, then she turns the skin inside out sorta and all of the cubes fall off... sorta.

C5DD2522-C46E-4BFC-94C4-B99E47E75FBA.jpeg

First, in a large pot over a medium flame, sauté the chopped yellow onion for about five minutes or until they’re clear. Add the chopped bell pepper for a few minutes until they soften. Add your garlic, stirring frequently so nothing burns, especially the garlic.

Add the remaining ingredients, minus the beans and mango, and let all of it simmer together for about 25 minutes, stirring occasionally.

C7CC8717-6779-4D97-AFA9-65FABAB4B0A6.jpeg

Add the rinsed beans, allow everything to cook for another five minutes. Add the chopped mango and continue cooking another 3-4 minutes—35 minutes total. Remove from heat, pour soup into serving bowl, add a layer of spinach across the top and cover the bowl an additional 2 minutes or until spinach is wilted.

Serve topped with chopped green onion and finely chopped cilantro with your choice of bread, tortilla, etc.

67184FAA-EE0B-4966-BCC0-0D77A31F8D31.jpeg

Cornpea Succotash:

• 2n1/2 cups - Corn.
• 1 cup - Green peas.
• 2 - Chopped tomatoes.
• 1/3 cup - Chopped Fresh Basil.
• 1/2 cup - Vegetable broth.
• 1/2 - Red onion.
• 3 - Chopped garlic cloves.

In a smaller pot, under a smaller flame, sauté your onions again first for about five minutes. Add your chopped garlic and cook everything a few more minutes. Add the 1/2 cup vegetable broth and remaining ingredients, mix and stir together while simmering for 20 minutes—30 minutes total. Ready to serve by itself, over 7-grain rice, or the leftover of your choice.

6B40DCCC-7FBF-463B-81FA-93FE9818F0F8.jpeg

Notta B.

9F219CCA-42B9-448E-92D7-69B739318496.jpeg

Same place next week, deal? How’bout a round of a :applause: to everyone on the #Steemit Team. :yell: :whistle: All of the devs, witnesses, the community, yourself, yeah, even you, a big round of :applause: to everyone involved with that smooth HF22 transition—well done, ya’all. Have a great weekend! Happy Labor Day weekend in the states, what I mean by that is, happy birthday to me.

0C4C0686-D0C3-4A3C-A2E4-3629FC288D2F.jpeg
4895E064-68ED-4F9E-894E-EFC864BB7A55.gif




WednesdayThursday

0F88F044-9D3A-4BB8-A885-16B2A3B64AAA.jpeg

Sort:  

the food looks delicious

Thank you @o4wx. I hope you’re enjoying your weekend.

What wonderful, healthy creations...I can almost smell the beautiful aromas filling the kitchen. Good job!

I haven’t actually listed ingredients and measurements like that in a long time, figured I’d switch it up a little bit. Thanks a lot for reading @farm-mom, it’s always a pleasure hearing from you.

@dandays
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 58
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
02E70413-1911-486E-9356-57B1D5B309F1.gif
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

Mango in a stew?? Where the heck have I been? That sounds delicious. I do salsa like that with mango and black beans, but mind blown over here with it in a cozy bowl of goodness right there.

And a big fat HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you! I will very much enjoy the long weekend in your honor. :) I'm sure Pura will take awesome care in making it a special one.

Oh man! I forgot to take a bunch of pictures already. I’m about to get down on a homemade carrot cake you could eat—it’s on! With a chocolate frosting though, I forgot to take any pictures of those progress pictures too.

Thank you. It’s every day but it’s even cooler when the rest of the country joins in.

edit Whoops, danget. Mango, oh heck yeah, she does that often. No way you’ve never added mango to stew.

Have a great weekend @plantstoplanks.

@dandays, happy birthday! 🎉👯‍♀️🎂🥂

You’re too cool @scorer, thank you! And thank you for the Resteem too. Your support is amazing.

You had a birthday sir dandays? Congratulations for making it another year. All that food looks great, I've never had any of it but would like to try it out.

That Brazilian stew is really good, you’d like it I’m sure. I asked why it’s called “Brazilian,” I don’t think I got an answer and I don’t remember looking it up myself. 🤔

Really nice to hear from you again, @janton. And thanks for the belated, God is great!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Happy birthday!!

You’re too kind, thank you—44. In the US, everyone has a three day weekend for my birthday, how cool is that?!

Thank you for being so supportive since day 1 of the things I’m doing around here, I really appreciate it. And I hope your health isn’t keeping you awake. God bless you and @synrg.

Have a nice weekend @faeryboots.

Happy food fight friday! Nice color of them.

Well hello @anggreklestari, happy foodfightfriday! Haven’t seen you around lately, let’s make a mess together again soon, chef. Have a nice weekend.

I'm still active create post. But not use fff a couple weeks ago.

Now, I came back for fff. You can read my latest recipe about Stir Fried Tofu.

Did you say a big round of apple sauce? Was that just me? I love you birthday head. Muah

It was applause but I know what’s on your mind. A sugary, binding, sugar free sweetener for my fair free carrot cake—lets do this!

iheartu all the time beautifulest.

🥰

Not too shabby, your food looks so delicious @dandays! I can just imagine the aromas in your kitchen. Did you and Pura mention a birthday? Wishing you a very happy one, hope you get spoilt rotten:)

Ahh yes, you can smell it as soon as you get to the entrance door of the building we’re staying in. If someone around us making a curry, between that and Pura’s kitchen, oh man! You can’t help but be hungry.

Yup, 44, me. Today is my day but this weekend is a 3 day holiday in the states, Labor Day Weekend. So, for 44 years now, I’ve always said the entire US celebrates Dan’s birthday this weekend too.
😉

Have a great weekend @lizelle.

LOL, big celebrations for you and the rest of the country!
I also hit double digits this year and my mother will be exactly double your age on Wednesday;) No guessing my age being the eldest of 5! An easy mathematical riddle;)
Have a fabulous weekend:)

You don’t look a day over 25. That’s a 2-5.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50