You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rouga Tavern - My Favorite Restaurant So Far in Greece. This Contender is A Catch-22 #fff #70

in #fff5 years ago

Good morning, @lizelle! Thanks for checking this one out, I’m glad you liked it.

We’re going to miss this place, we’ve made a few lifetime friends and made enough memories we’re writing them down so we don’t forget. We’re off to spend a few days in Meteora this morning, I’m sure I’ll be telling you about it real soon too.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend, Lizelle.

Sort:  

Morning mr Dandays, I was curious about Pescetarianism, and only got to ask granny Google now, but you avoid dairy as well? I used to think you & Pura were vegan but saw the seafood now and then and was puzzled, but now I know. I could very easily follow that way of eating, but not exclude dairy;) as I'm not that big a red meat fan, will always lean towards seafood when eating out. I do hope Pura avoids becoming a diabetic and not have to use Insulin as it's quite a difficult condition to adjust to with the highs and lows. But there's so much research and new developments that it's much easier to manage nowadays.
We had a guest recently who is a new diabetic and he's taking trial meds which is keeping his glucose levels brilliantly even. My hubby has been a type 1 diabetic since the age of 7 so I think he's stuck with having to use insulin injections but he's managed very well and actually is much healthier than other people his age! He'll be 70 next year...sounds ancient I know but he doesn't look that old either;);)
Wishing Pura well with her health, but your eating habits are sure to be a boost in keeping both of you healthy!

Posted using Partiko Android

This sure was a nice response, @lizelle, thank you! Fun fact—my autocorrect had “feline” instead of “response.” 🤔

I appreciate you checking this article out, I’m glad you liked it. God bless your husband! You too, of course, you know what I mean. A really good friend of mine is type 1, I believe, whatever one it is that lives 24/7 with one of those pumps in his butt cheek. Man, the first couple of times he faded out on me were terrifying. Now I know what to look for.

Pura, yes, her blood sugars/glycemic levels do a lot of spiking, we’re still learning how to deal with it. We’re learning she just needs to form better habits such as not wait until she’s hungry to eat. It’s especially challenging for her because she’s a runner, she runs about 5k, 5-7 days a week so the exerted energy really combats her effort as I’m sure you’re aware is easy to do.

About Vegan, wanna know something funny? I’m gonna tell you anyway. 👍🏿 It’s been probably over 3 years since I’ve eaten any dairy and at least that long without any beef. In the last couple of years I cut out the pork, chicken, etc. But I never gave up fish, iheart ALL fish and seafood, always have! I won’t cook it with butter, obviously, but I’ve never considered giving it up. So, as ignorant as I was to the wOrd “vegan,” I would just consider myself something like “almost” but I eat fish. Ok, it wasn’t until January of this year Pura was
Somewhere else, I had dinner with a gentleman from Russia and a lady from Hungary, both really nice people, they grilled up some food for us after a boat tour. I explained... “pretty much vegan I don’t eat dairy or anything but I eat fish.” They both said “you’re pescatarian!”

I was shocked. My exact question was “you mean to tell me there’s a word for a guy who doesn’t eat dairy or any meat except for fish?!” They said yes! I looked it up, @lizelle, I had no idea it was a wOrd! There’s a label for everything, isn’t there?

Thanks a lot for keeping an eye on me, I really appreciated this response, can you tell? God bless you guys and SA, enjoy the rest of your weekend. We just pulled into Meteora for the next two days, Pura’s organizing some out and abouts, I’m responding to you. 😉

Ok I have to respond to this, what a nice way to discover there's a word for your way of eating!
Pleeeeze encourage Pura to keep active, keep on running or any other form of exercise as that is the only other thing besides insulin that converts glucose in the body to energy. My hubby was a football fanatic, even played when in his 40s & that's what kept him so well. Those hypos can be real scary, we have glucose sweets everywhere, in the car the most important. Those fancy gadgets that monitor them all the time costs way too much and medical aid refuses to pay for it, so it's manual self checks throughout the day.
Thank you sincerely for the good wishes and enjoy the new adventure!
Verbal diarrhea from @lizelle again, I'll stop now ;);)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43