Better Late Than Never - Bienvenidos a Food Fight FridaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff6 years ago (edited)

I guess what I’m trying to say is, it’s acceptable to submit a #foodfightfriday contender on Saturday, just try not to make a habit of it. :wink: Go ahead @farm-mom, let me have it—we both know I deserve it!

Hola. ¡Buenos días amigos! Por favor acepte a este último contendiente, intentaré que no vuelva a suceder. Pero, incluso si es un día tarde, no importa, ¡sigue siendo mi viernes favorito de la semana!

Welcome to Taco Bar—a build your own taco type of salad bar, nestled in the 70-80 degree hills with a view in sunny Santa Ana Costa Rica, pronounced, “Santana.” I bet you didn’t know you could get a falafel pita down here—neither did I.

BDC379C1-507D-4D38-BBE9-9859D7B78C9E.jpeg

Ingredients:

Pita bread.
Oven baked Falafel.
Grilled vegetables.
Peppers.
Rice and potatoes. I think!

@puravidaville went straight for the salmon, hey, she knows what she likes! I saw falafel on the menu and couldn’t help it—I had to try it. Through Pura Vida’s broken Spanish and a translation app on our newly acquired phone, I’m pretty sure I ordered ‘pita bread, oven baked falafel, grilled vegetables, peppers with rice and potatoes.’ 🤔 This time, next year, I’ll have this whole espanol thing down and shouldn’t need to rely on Google Translate so much—fingers crossed.

The falafel wasn’t even that bad! We’ll definitely be going back to taco bar, the atmosphere in the joint is one of a kind. The entire restaurant is enclosed by sliding glass doors that open as windows and the floor is in its natural state, dirt and vegetation, each table setting is part of nature—check it out!

986E9584-EDC6-4EA7-B3CA-F36920C49A03.jpeg

See the rope swing to the left in this next picture? Those are 5/8” hemp ropes hanging from the ceiling. They’re hanging in various spots throughout the restaurant as bar seating, instead of bar stools, they have rope swings. That bar with the tv above it is where you place your order and the second image is another rope swing bench.

DCB25D4B-4439-4BAD-8A97-7439021C3A68.jpeg

0DBB2680-5A57-415B-81A5-3532007443E6.jpeg

Is that not one of the biggest tree trunks you’ve ever seen?! Massive. Pura Vida and I couldn’t help it, we went for a swing, this is the view from rope swing chair. I know, I know... it’s a repeat image—at least now you know where it came from.

0A9331A3-AF60-46EE-A208-07EE4944B479.jpeg

Did you know Pura Vida literally translates to “Pure Life?” Yeah, that’s how stunning my bride is—I’m the luckiest guy I... you know the rest! After dinner, we did what seems to be customary around here. What I mean by that is, we allowed our #food to settle from an elevated view while gazing out toward the twinkling city lights, each of us focused, careful to not be distracted while simply taking it all in.

C0AA9C27-90BF-433C-B522-9ACD4D014D98.jpeg

77D7B894-914B-4FB1-AF86-0353DC421FF4.jpeg
502CFDAE-58EC-46DD-AAE8-D53667F0B5A9.gif

Original content sponsored by:


9D0A4D9D-CDDD-4BC9-841C-6C4E626D0612.jpeg

Click here for Thursday.
BC992344-95AB-4CEE-B3B8-E16F366FD134.jpeg

Sort:  

You should have waited for me because you are impossible to follow. This was a good post babe. Way to keep up your blog on the go. Hey, have I told you how amazing you are? Heartu all the time :)

Ahh c’mon. You got this, chef. Dang that was a God one! You stumped me.

I meant to type “good” and God typed instead, yeah uhm... I ain’t editing that one! 😉 I’m the luckiest guy I know.

iheartu all the time @puravidaville.

“You’re the best, around, no one is ever gonna tear you down. You’re the best, around, no one is ever gonna year you down…”.

Do you guys know about that?

Yes! This was the best 30 minutes of my adult life. Haha… the cheese is thick but who can resist karate kid. “It’s called dojo” haha… that had me rolling. This comment even got Dandays to watch.

The cheese is strong on this one, but watch the whole thing you won't regret it . I actually enjoyed their chemistry and the fact that the roles are reversed...

Oh dude, I not only watched the whole thing, I watched the following episode and attempted to watch the series but you can’t subscribe to paid YouTube in costa rica. Trip out, right. I figure I’m better off not zoning out on a new series anyway. Haha… thank you thoroughly for sending that clip over. It was a great time down memory lane. If only they could bring back Mr. Miyagi …

Oh man, thanks for attaching that one, awesome! Also, that’s 100%, undoubtedly the longest video I’ve ever watched on YouTube, I watched all 27 minutes.

It brings up some awesome memories. First, check this out! I took a screen shot of it, it’s called “look out point,” I tried zooming in on the image because I know it says Riverside County on there. I couldn’t clear it up. We used to go there as kids, back when CB radios was our communication, we could go up to lookout point and ‘squash’ everyone’s reception below us. The access road is closed now, I spent some time with the fellas out at the ranch, just before I took off, at one point we talked about lookout point while looking right at it.. good times! Now the county owns the road and chooses not to maintain it, instead they blocked it off and now the only access is either by ATV or foot and I’m limited in the foot department.

A1AA10A1-EE95-4787-AF90-5B908F709378.jpeg
lookout point

Karate Kid was such a huge movie to everyone between 30 and 59, that movie is the Ish! Fun fact, I’m a huge Poison supporter, I’m not exaggerating. When they played “nothing but a good time” during that clip, I couldn’t play it loud enough. But there ain’t a jukebox around that I haven’t played “every rose has its thorn” on <— Jam of our lifetime!

Iron Eagle though, whaaatt?! Oh my goodness, Ed, I haven’t thought about or heard about that movie for three decades, that one could very well be the movie of our lifetime! So many memories sparked in a short 27 minute clip.

Pura Vida is actually watching the second clip now.. great, a new series. I hate series!! Haha.

Thanks for attaching the clip, Ed, that was a great way to start this day. 👍🏿

Is it too early to make another request? I mentioned it before, now that you’re taking requests again, may I add another to your list? That Bieber track got a lot of attention, I’m curious to know what kind of traction you’ll catch by covering We Are Young by Fun.

Man thanks for sharing that story, It was pretty cool to read!
Of course I know CBs, we had one too in our days!

I am sure you gonna watch the whole damn series, no doubt!!

I am cool with "We Are Young" :) awesome track . I gotta bounce, peaaace!!

PS: Lemme check Iron Eagle again !

C’mon chef. The deal was we were both going to do a Taco Bar post, that’s why we took our own pictures, otherwise I would’ve done an article for both of us and attached your...

It’s kind of late now, don’t you think? I might throw it up next week or whenever 🤷🏼‍♀️

Looks like a crappy little taco place and a crappy view to match. DAH HA HA!!! I’m goin to go ahead and say that I am just a little jealous right now seeing this. The food, the dining area, and...that view!!! Wow!!! Breathtaking to say the least.
Keep livin’ that life you love my friend.
Cheers!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

One thing you’re not gonna read right now is something about something negative—nope! Ain’t gonna happen. Thanks brother Splatts, happy #ff.. fS? My bad, hence the title!

I think now is the time I need some explaining, got a minute? I no longer am spoiled with lightning connection. I see you posted in “Partiko?” Explain, please. Is there a possibility I could use a dapp somewhere and bypass the struggling internet speed? Steampeak is another, correct? Are they both apps I can find in the App Store? I’m on an iPhone. Remember, all of this technology stuff and I are about as familiar as English and Spanish. Talk... real... sslloooooooww... Thank you!

Thanks for stopping by @jlsplatts, happy Saturday!

Partiko is an iOS app. It should help I would think. Steempeak is just another website. Partiko is an actual app in the App Store.
They just haven’t made it where you can put pics in your replies or gifs yet, they just got them for Android so iOS will be around shortly. Posts only allow 1 pic so far, just waiting for updates.
Here is a little message from @kuku-splatts
271FEA41-9954-4B68-916F-F18B835501FC.jpeg

Too cool. God bless you guys. Hey, @kuku-splatts, have you clicked on my screen name lately and decoded my new location? Let me know what you think. 👍🏿

I’ll download partiko, thanks mang.

Congratulations @dandays! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 comments. Your next target is to reach 4500 comments.
You got more than 4500 replies. Your next target is to reach 4750 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you @steemitboard for keeping track of me.

That tree trunk !!!!

It looks super yummy, I don't even drink anymore and it makes me wanna have a mojito, do they have that?

Massive isn’t it?! I couldn’t get the long version, I had to turn my phone sideways and stand as far back as I could.

You know Pura Vida is one of those professionally trained, necktie wearing type of bartender, yeah? Shooooot... Mojitos are everywhere, all we’re missing is you guys.

Thanks for stopping by @edprivat!

You know Pura Vida is one of those professionally trained, necktie wearing type of bartender, yeah

I could have guessed that! I am sure she learnt how to make proper drinks with the Hells Angels!!!

Even a virgin mojito is still decent :) Yeah man next year we're coming brother!

Looks Amazing and like a great atmosphere.

You better be careful or you might turn into a falafel (chuckles). Very nice pictures sir and happy sa, i mean #FFF

Thanks champ! It’s tough to take a bad picture, I’m not gonna lie.

Happy Sa.. #fff right back atcha! Yeah, I’ve been the guy lately running my thumbs to people about posting on Friday, not Saturday. ‘Way to lead by example dandays!’

Thanks for stopping by @weirdheadaches.

😅 It happens and awesome on your tough pics 😉.

Hello @dandays, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

It’s always a pleasure hearing from you @creativecrypto, thanks a lot for stopping by.

Took a look at the link Santa Ana and this is the description they gave of the place.
Santa Ana has been recently experiencing real estate and commercial development unprecedented in the entire Central Valley. It has become the place of choice with upscale grocery stores, gourmet restaurants, banks, gas stations, medical and dental clinics, beauty salons, coffee houses, hotels, private schools, and small commercial centers springing up everywhere.

Well, the area just added a couple of upscale people.
The setting of this place is neat.
I wonder if the tree is the picture is a Banyan tree.
I have seen Baynan Trees in Florida, and they look very similar.
As far as posting this entry on Saturday, it's fine with me, not that you need my OK. I just like the idea that @dandays is still posting at all with everything you have going on.
Heck, I believe my entry for this past weeks competition was the first time I posted on the correct day. Before this week, my entries have been posted on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday, and Sunday. It took me a while to get it down, but I have a very good excuse, age. You know what happens to the mind as you get older.😁😁😁

Yes! My favorite New Yorker, good morning! Have I told you lately I’m glad we met? I know I’m not he only one.. we all have our followers, the people we’re following, etc. but we all also have ‘those’ groups. Well... what I’m trying to say is, I hope I’m as important to your group as you are to mine. 👍🏿

We’ll go with the Florida looking tree, I don’t know and I didn’t think to ask. The top of it was actually chopped down, it was just that massive stump, in all, it stood about 20 feet tall and it had to of been at least half of that in diameter—probably pushing 50 feet in circumference. “Massive.”

I sure do appreciate you taking the time to read the links, Sweed, but I’m not gonna lie, I like the part about what you said about those people who recently added themselves to the area—thank you!

Nice use of the ‘@‘ symbol—nailed it! 😉

Thanks a lot for stopping by @thebigsweed, it’s always a pleasure hearing from you.

And thanks for noticing my efforts to keep a blog going while jumping through hoops! It’s that group I was talking about earlier that keeps me motivated.

To be very
besides a handful of fellow Steemians, @dandays, @puravidaville, and the other chefs @fff are where I like to invest my time, when time allows.
The efforts given by this handful of people is what keeps me inspired. The extension of a friendly hand, is always heart warming. The laughs are nonstop. Learning something new occurs almost daily. The sharing of knowledge, in things I had no prior interest in, now intrigue me.
Both you and the ever so gracious @puravidaville, love the meaning, Pure Life, are as we would say up her in the mountains, Farm Board Material.

If in fact that tree is a Banyan Tree, they are remarkable specimens of Mother Nature's wonder.

We will be on the road, headed south on the 26th of this month. Planning on getting home around the 23rd of February, which is when we tap the Sugar Maple Trees for Maple syrup.

I'm working on some way to keep active while on vacation, because I don't think that my advanced mobile phone system
is capable on doing the job.

Thrilled to have met the both of you, and looking forward to our continued friendship.

"Exercise caution in your business affairs, for the world is full of trickery."
A line from Max Ehrmann's Desiderata. With your guys situation of being new to an area, I thought this line might come in handy.

be SAFE!!

LIVE, LOVE, LAUGH!

My favorite pair of New Yorkers! The pleasure is all mine, sir, thank you for those kind words. All I can say is Danget! I should’ve said it first!!

Thank you for the enlightening words by Max Ehrmann, I love it when people who are my senior share their wisdom with me.

haha! howdy sir dandays! wow that is a GIANT tree trunk! I love that restaurant, I've never seen a restaurant with a dirt floor before. How do they keep it "clean"? Can't sweep it! lol. What an unusual place, yeah I want to go there too but I'd have to point at the menu items. this is a great post, totally cool!

Oh awesome, janton, I’m glad you found it! I know you’re all booked up with engagement so the times you find time to stop by, know that I appreciate it!

Oh, don’t you worry, sir, I do a lot of pointing too! Pointing and translating with the app on our phone. We’re getting better though, ‘this time next year,’ I believe I’ll be pretty fluent.

But for now, I’ve memorized my top three key phrases. The very first one and, in my opinion the most valuable, I learned and it works everywhere!
“Dios Te Bendigas.”
“MI disculpes.” (I’m taller than everyone and white and tattooed so whenever I bump into someone or something, this is what I say)
“Como Se Dice” and then point to whatever I’m trying to say.

But I still point, too. 😉 Ok, I gotta say it janton, I’m counting on you to translate those three phrases and let me know what you think. 👍🏿

Thanks a lot for stopping by @janton! Dios te bendigas!

haha! howdy sir dandays! Ok, but I've heard that the google translator makes alot of mistakes. The first thing I'd memorize is "where's your bathroom?" lol.

Did you get the Nissan? That's a great vehicle! I'd take one in a heartbeat. Just don't hit none of those Agouti's!
I know you're busy too, with actual important life stuff, I'm just playing around, so thanks for getting back to me sir dandays!

I’ll write something about it eventually, the whole thing was an experience. Yes’ir. A Nissan. It checked all of the boxes, janton. Comfortable, Big (we’re collecting a lot of things. Pura Vida loaded up on kitchen equipment today, actually), SUV, diesel and 4 wheel drive.

You know?? While this platform is still running, I consider this whole Steemit experience a big part of my life. I really enjoy this place.

3E60E514-8193-4F5A-9361-A71919E4D9EC.jpeg

Howdy sir dandays!!! oh my gosh...if I was a jealous type I would be jealous right now brother!! dang,. , that's beautiful. It's big, tough looking. Beastly ...like you...kinda animal like...probably need to be muzzled..you, not the Nissan. lol.

Yes steemit is fun but is it a good investment of time and money from a business standpoint? No one knows. which brings it's longterm viability into question does it not?

Thank you. It took about 4 days of hustle and bustle looking for ‘that’ vehicle but prayers paid off (surprise, surprise). I do believe we got the best deal. It was nicer on the inside than any other vehicle we looked at, it’s still in real good shape. The added bonus is Toyota: just about the only dealers you’ll find out here is Toyota, they’re huge. I guess this Nissan was a trade-in over there, they don’t sell nissans so they contracted it out to a used dealer. But, before they did, Toyota did their ‘X-point’ inspection before they turned it loose. An added bonus I didn’t count on.

...probably need to be muzzled

Ha! It typically sounds like this: “With all due respect, I’m going to hand the phone to my wife now because she’s a lot more patient than I am when the person I’m on the phone with, the one in control of my wealth, isn’t being cooperative!” Good Lord! The spoiled rotten American brat that I’ve been programmed to be has debit/credit cards, brokerage accounts, etc and when I say ‘I want it’ I get it. Shame on me for believing those same financial institutions wouldn’t be such a burden and hiccup in a time of need. 7 days, janton! It took those rotten, centralized agencies and their Swift technology 7 days to put MY money in MY hands. Ridiculous! That was 7 extra days at $100/day for a rental car that I didn’t anticipate.

Anyway... even at 5:30 in the am they fire me up. I’ve been up about 30 minutes my friend and this is why...

07AB16D8-AB86-466D-9003-EAE8F56DE6C0.jpeg
yes, I just snapped that. Specifically for you, sir

I don’t want to miss a son rise... and I don’t want to miss a sunrise either! <—not sure the last time I did miss one. Really, the rest of the day could be tiring, boring, repetitive in nature even, but if I don’t start with a sunrise, it may as well be non-existent.

About Steemit. I’m beginning to get discouraged. If you haven’t noticed my recent posts, you can see my discouragement in them. I did one on Thursday for @socalsteemit and I’m not exaggerating, Janton, I bet I have 20+ hours in that post. I’m not crying about it, it’s just what I do sometimes. BUT, ‘sometimes’ I anticipate appreciation and more often than not, recently, I’m unnoticed. That goes for @puravidaville, too, the platform can disregard all of my time and passion and I’ll keep doing what I do but when Pura Vida spends 1 hour at the market... 3 hours prep time... 1 hour documenting her images... feeds us, more images and then articulates an entire article toward it, investing another couple of hours, all to essentially go unrecognized F’ing pisses me off! Disregard me and and what I’m doing around here, I have thick skin. But to completely ignore all of her hard work and effort has me us looking elsewhere.

Speaking of which, are you on any other sites already? I’ve heard of two now, where are you? What I’m saying is, I’ve made some real good acquaintances on here and I’d like to think we can remain in contact. I count on people like @jlsplatts to hold my hand as we cross the street to the next platform. Are you on discord? If so, shoot me a line: dandays#6299.

Which brings its long-term viability into question does it not?

I, personally, don’t believe it brings its long term viability into question. Yes, I’m really enjoying myself here and this platform has opened a world of opportunity I never realized I had. But as far as questioning its long term, I don’t believe it’s in question anymore, I believe it’s a sinking ship.

Ima snap another shot for you now, janton. This is the same location, I’ve watched it while writing this post, I don’t want to keep it all to myself. Happy Sunday, janton, God bless you, me, and anyone who will or will not read this. <—that should cover it. 😉

EC945FCC-8F6C-4157-BF33-1E8F0F0D1602.jpeg

Howdy again sir dandays! wow what an honor, two comments from the highly esteemed, venerable dandays in the same morning and now I get to see what the sunrise was like! man, that is too cool. Hey that place is another airb&b? It looks like you're out in the middle of the jungle! What's the temperatures like there?

I know what you're saying about success and getting traction on steemit. Man, is it tough, for most of us it's a great deal of sacrifice in time and thought. Unless you are extremely unusual or have large followings from other platforms and even then you have to put in tons of time. I still crawl at a snails pace in rep count and following, after 9 months of working long hours 7 days a week I still have no big supporters and only make about $1.50 per post unless I buy votes.

I question whether it's worth it, I do that everyday. If prices went up it would be different. Did you ever read these guys who were in the big growth explosion talk about how much money they were making? lol. It was insane. Every post made hundreds of dollars, they were making THOUSANDS every week. Amazing. They all say it will come back to that but I'm not convinced.

All I know is that for the short term I'm supposed to be here but how long I don't know. And it may be that God directed me here for other than immediate financial reasons, perhaps for some of the contacts I've developed. Perhaps it was to meet sir dandays and his better half partner! lol. It's kind of a mystery to me at the moment.

I think the platform will survive even if it has to morph into another form or name but I'm more concerned about Steem lasting, is it strong enough to make it in the world's market place? The unlimited number of Steem doesn't sound good and I still don't know if it has a great enough real world use or solve a big enough problem for the big investors of the world but we shall see.

Mrs. J wants me earning real money. lol. And she is sharpening her axe as I write this!

I have an internet marketer friend who is selling books on Amazon and is making some money and growing that business and wants me to join him.

By the way, his story is a fascinating one. He was the inventor of the first personal computer. When he took it too Tandy to see if they would market it for him they stole it and wouldn't give it back. Finally after weeks they gave him his pc back and it was a pile of parts. Right after that they came out with the exact model and are credited with being the first ones to sell a personal computer! lol. Bill Gates was in on that swindle too but I forget how, he might have stole it too.
Anyway, the guy is brilliant so I'm considering what he's telling me. He says I need to break my addiction to steemit and join the real world.

Oh yes I'm on discord. Yeah you can't get away from me at this point no matter what happens. Costa Rica isn't that big. I could find you! lol.

I feel your pain though. It takes a killer dedication for MONTHS to get traction here and like we've been talking about, unless the price shoots up, it probably ain't worth it. I haven't joined any of the other platforms like weku but people have been pressuring me to do that. Heck, I don't have time to do everything I want on here let alone going somewhere else. So I don't know if I'll join any or not. what all have you joined?

I’m only registered here at Steemit. But Splatts just sent me a link this am to narrative.org, the one quill mentioned in a recent post.

What I know about Steem, which isn’t much farther than I can get a visual on is, it’s fast and safe! That’s plenty to stick around.

I’ve seen the documentaries and heard what people have said about Bill gates and to my understanding, he was just a little quicker at stealing than everyone, literally everyone else, your buddy included. Awesome story! Heck yeah, if that dude has an idea, I’d be two ears and one mouth.

Yes’ir, another air b&b, it backs right up to a wildlife reserve actually. Jungle, but untraveled and protected. Lots of birds, I haven’t seen anything else yet, this morning, however, I heard ‘something.’ Something that sounded like a real loud donkey. I don’t what the heck it was.

See, and you have countless hours in your posts too!

Had Mrs J had any cool stories lately? Does she ever make it home with an exciting story with a smile on her face or is that rare?

Why are you playing hookie today.. you’ve been so faithful the past 6. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55