You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rouga Tavern - My Favorite Restaurant So Far in Greece. This Contender is A Catch-22 #fff #70

in #fff4 years ago

I have always wanted to go to Greece. I’ve been to Cyprus which is a part of Greece , but never to Greece itself. It’s ok the bucketlist ... lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

How cool you mention Cypress! We just rode the train to Meteora yesterday and were sat next to a couple from Cypress. Both haven’t been there since she was 10 years old and him, 18. What an enlightening revelation. They explained about 1974 when Turkey invaded the island and conquered the northern portion of the island and claimed it. The couple, their families, they all had to run for their life and leave everything they had behind. It’s just Turkish territory now, the rest is history. I guess they murdered more than 2,000 Cypress soldiers that were prisoners of war, raped and pillaged, the whole 9! Where I come from, they don’t teach us those things.

Now the south is still claimed by Greece, the North is Turkish but just recently, they said oil was discovered in the south. So as of right now, Exxon, Mobil, etc. is drilling in the ocean for oil so Crypress has the opportunity to flourish again. However, now that oil is discovered, Turkey wanted to steal the entire island but they can’t now because of the oil. They’re safe now because the US has something to gain with the oil, therefor Cypress is protected from the Turkish military. Fascinating stuff, right?!

I never figured out your business. It isn’t advertising or marketing but you’re professional enough to pay into unemployment ins and one employee works from home.

Is it an insurance company? I assume you don’t manage portfolios judging by the casual attire. Is it some type of financial advising?

Thank you for keeping an eye on me @anonymity5.

That’s the Greek version of what happened ..... there are many versions to that story ..... they actually shared the island and lived together on that island from the times of the Ottoman Empire .... then in the 70s , these people that lived there for years where being massacred and forced out of their homes ( the Turkish people) by their own neighbors . There is a lot of controversy over who really owned the land....and the Turkish were willing to live in harmony with them , the way they did for years , but the Greek government did not agree with this . Many many Turkish soldiers and civilians died that year . Many even fled the country in any way they could. The Greek side is the only one really recognized by other governments and gets all funding . The Turkish side is the poorer and underfunded side . Their only support is from Turkey. It’s interesting how many people have different versions of the same story . Very similar to the story of the people of Kosovo and other wars that took place in and around that area.

Loading...

Nope ... wrong again . Lol

What a change of pace from Middle-Eastern phenomenon to your line of business. I just wrote you a huge, long, winded response to that political jargon and, I’m not gonna lie, I like this response a lot better already! 👍🏿

Before I continue, God bless you, @anonymity5, thank you for always being nice to me.

Man!! I didn’t mention construction because I’m probably just assuming a woman wouldn’t run a construction firm. Please excuse my unintentional sexism—I promise I’m not like that. Is it a construction firm? Kudos to you if it is. Sales? I think sales counts the same as marketing, that’s why I haven’t said it. But dang!! What haven’t I guessed yet?

I know a a whole bunch of what it’s not, though!!

Decorating? Like an interior design type business? Do you make clothing or run a clothing company, either sales or maybe cleaning? Professional cleaners?

Man! What haven’t I guessed?! I haven’t even been “warm” one time yet? <— really?

Causal, legitimate, half-dozen employees that is not investing, sales, insurance, advertizing, wow.

I’ll probably delete this comment later once I know you saw it ...lol

That took a long time. I apologize for categorizing construction as a man’s business—I know better than that.

Congratulations on all of your achievements and success, @anonymity5! I wouldn’t worry about being so secretive, personally, I get the line you want to draw and avoid crossing but things like that I don’t think are too bad. Then again, this is the one and only social media type thing I’ve ever been involved with, ever, so what do i know?

I can only go on what I see and hear around me and, well, according to our previous conversation maybe I should just keep what I learn to myself. Nah.... I’ll still run my opinions about all of those other crap social sites and brag and boast how I’ve never even wasted one moment of my life on any of them. 😉

Not one. (but I spend several hours on Steemit each day) 🤔 <— oxymoron emoji.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61231.91
ETH 2966.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47