Busy day 🙄

in #festival6 years ago

Yesterday was a super busy day. It was our very own elephant God's birthday and we had a lot to do. I woke up at 4 Am and went right away after having a shower to prepare everything that Our loving God loves, with my cousins. While the men in the family took over the decorations, women's were assigned the job to look after Lord Ganesha's bhog (Prasad). The lunch included a lot of dishes that we have been cooking for ages.
IMG-20180913-WA0017.jpg
I was inquisitive to know about the history of our Ganesha so I asked the eldest member of our family. My grandfather's cousin brother, strong at 92 told me that he had been celebrating this festival at his house for 79 years now after my grandfather requested him to do so owning to his failing health. He said that his great grand father had been celebrating this festival sine 1856 which counts to 162 years and he doesn't know the age of our Ganesha before that.

It is believed that we always have to prepare the same dishes using the same quantity of ingridients that our ancestors have been using. Thought we can add an extra dish, we should never delete any. Presently we are supposed to cook 7 curries, 7 types of flitters, rice, dal, rasam, masala buttermilk, kheer and of course Lord Ganesha's favourite modak along with some more sweets. It took 12 people in the kitchen around 7 hours to cook everything and place before the Lord to taste it before others do.

I and my other two cousins were considered to be young and active and had to do a lot. It was 5:30 PM when we sat down to have lunch and I must say we were so tired that we wanted some sleep over food. We reached home at 11pm after bidding adieu to Lord Ganesha in the temple pond after tge visarjan pooja and telling him to come sooner next year. I went straight to bed and didn't have any energy left to post.

Sort:  

Is it your dear Ganesh,s birthday sister

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73