Festival by the lake: Part I

in #festival6 years ago



For the second time there was a festival happening in the middle of my nowhere by the lake. It is quite impressive how this area has turned into attraction for summer camps, professional athletes, nature enthusiasts and local merchants. At first I was skeptical about their whereabouts in my peaceful haven. I was worried that they would attract wrong crowds, that would simply trash the area and encourage more drinking. Luckily people seem to be respectful of the nature and appreciate its beauty while enjoying the festival activities at the same time.

So what was this festival about? It was about leisurely enjoying nature, crafts by local artists such as pottery and ceramics, food, art, paddle boarding, kayaking, boat rides, volleyball, sunbathing on the beach and swimming, beer and wine and music. Free entrance for all, big or small, or four legged. For me it embodies the slogan Latvian tourism uses Latvia - best enjoyed slowly.



It all started with local beer company who sells beer during summers by the lake, active tourism company who sells paddle board, kayak, boat rides and local ceramics center. It is perfect example of how people/companies working together can create cool things and events for everyone to appreciate and breathe in life in places.



It seems comfort definitely was one of the top priorities with hammocks hanging between birch tree trunks, huge pillows, chairs, tables and benches all over the area.



Merchants were selling local goods - natural honey, bread, candy, art, beer, wine, natural/handmade cosmetics, jewelry and much more.







Pottery and ceramic traditions in Latvia are strong (it is one of the oldest art forms in Latvia) and is quite famous around the world as well. To get the idea of how it looks when done by pottery masters in Latgale (it is where the traditions are the kept the strongest) you can have a look at this picture I took when I was on pottery tour I organized for myself when I was a student some time ago.

Masters from the local ceramics center and other nearby areas offered lessons for everyone all day long, using different tools even trying out banding wheel. So I was really happy to get my hands dirty and for a chance to create something out of clay myself. The coolest part - after a month everyone can go visit them at the center and pick up their creations.



When you work with clay outside, you have to work very fast, because it dries quite quickly. It certainly takes some mastery and practice to get it right. Even if you work without the banding wheel, it is important that all the edges are more or less even and there are no air pockets in the clay. That way there are less chances of it breaking apart in the oven or fire pit when the heat is applied.

Water or gemstones can be used to smooth and even everything out. It makes pots, bowls or mugs to truly shine. For ornaments one can use various professional tools or be more creative and grab whatever can be found in the nature to keep it fun and original. For example, tree branches can be used to press ornaments in the clay. That is how it was done back in the old days anyway.





Of course I did a little extra and made tiny, clay hedgehogs in honor of my cartoon Lily the curious hedgehog.







Pots, bowls and things from last year.



These are made by professional masters and are sold all over the Europe.



The Best local beer - Valmiermuižas alus. I chose the dark one. Mmm it was really good!



The lake backdrop for the stage. How cool is that? Several bands and musicians performed throughout the day.













Since this post is getting rather long, I will share the evening part and musical bits in part two. Thank you for stopping by and reading. Hope you enjoyed!

Song of the day: Franco Franco - By The Lake
Sort:  

Great images M. Looks like a day I would thoroughly enjoy as I love home made good and the vibe at these markets. Here we have farmers markets with lots of lovely preserves and home baked goods that make your mouth water.

Thank you @petesays! ^^ I think you would definitely find it interesting.

They were serving "taste of earth" food, prepared out of local products, supporting local farmers. It was pretty mouthwatering as well :)

Just my "cup of tea"M. I would have loved it.

That looks like a great day out. Every time I see a handmade clay bowl, it reminds me of an ashtray :D

It was indeed a great day out for me. I think sometimes it is good to unplug yourself and enjoy the moment, be peaceful.

As I mentioned, you are not the only one with that association, lol

Hi m31 Bit like an arts and craft fair. Looks like a bit of fun and the ceramic bowls look fairly decent. Not the ones people made there as I wouldn't buy one of those.

Hi @cryptoandcoffee. It was a lot of fun actually. Though I probably wouldn't eat out of the bowls people made, I do think they have a lot of character and personality. I would love to learn pottery myself and build the fire pit to burn it myself.

That would be a lot of fun to try that.

best enjoyed slowly

Lovely 😊 Even 'nowhere' can be brought to life with people, crafts, music and of course, some rather dark looking beer.

Cute hedgehogs, but what is next to them, a dinosaur? 😬

It was very lovely and fun :)

The beer is dark looking and it is also quite strong. It was this one - http://www.valmiermuiza.lv/en/our-flavours/dark-lager/

Thank you. Yes, that is a dinosaur a kid next to me made. Instruction pottery master gave was something along the lines just make sure it is made out of one piece and no air pockets, haha.

I do like darker ales, especially in winter! Here in Spain there is little option but for the lighter colours.

Air pockets are the worst for clay, I remember learning this lesson at school!

Great post! I just followed you and upvoted you! Follow me back @relsserd.

You must be super fast reader to read through this post under one minute and decide that it is 'Great post!' :)

that looks like a good time was had by all!!

You got a 33.04% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @m31!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60441.03
ETH 3344.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48